We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* hotel”
Review of Hotel Goethe

Hotel Goethe
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Goethe
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent weekend at hotel Goethe - 2 families with 1 kid/each.
The hotel furnishing is nice, it has been refurbished in last years.
Hotel is clean.

BUT: the staff is really not friendly and they do not make you too comfortable. The man, who is on reception and OBSERVES/CONTROLS you during the meals, is horrible!!! He really makes you feel uncomfortable.

The only plus for the staff is that they have arranged separate table for us. But maybe it was just because they did not want our 2 kids running around ;)

FOOD: very poor breakfast. The worst I had in last few years in hotel in Czech Republic. Almost no choice of anything. Dinner the same. So so quality and honestly, the portions were like for kids.

FACILITIES: although we had some relaxation package (gift), they still have the necessity to charge you 50 CZK for using their pool. Pool is really mini-sized and water absolutely cold, so usage is very limited - you cant stand it for too long.
Our friend ordered sauna one night and had to cancel it because it was not hot enough.
Procedures are quite funny, but typical for Marianske Lazne, so I would use it against this hotel. The ladies there were mostly nice and friendly.

KIDS FACILITIES:
Ok, for SHORTER stays, smaller kids can play with some toys in the small kids corner on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana_von_Hijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is new, clean, definettly not the four stars, rude personal. Don´t eat there, the food was Basic School Comunist stile. Location is also not the best, only possibility how to reach Town is car. Small pool, problems with massage or other procedures order.
Hotel je nový, čistý, ale personál velmi neochotný. Nejezte zde prosím, leda že by jste si chtěli připomenout osmdesátá léta ústavního stravování. Poloha špatná, jediné spojení s centrem vlastní. Zmatky při objednávání procedůr, malý bazén.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTASvarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband in March 2014. The hotel seems to be quite nice, the room was the best part of this hotel I would say. BUT the fridge in the room didn´t work, the electricity didn´t work either..Then the hotel staff especially 1 receptionist (big, fat, old man) who was also a waiter in the restaurant was rude and i wouldn´t go back in that hotel especially because of him! The worst part was the food. It was horrible and I wouldn´t serve it even in the school canteen. It was cold, without any taste and VERY small portions. After dinner we had to go to the restaurant because we were starving! Mariánské lázně are very nice and I would come back but certainly not into this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel Goethe - situated in nice enviroment of Závišín - nice village near to Marianske Lazne, only a few steps from Golf club Marianske Lazne and ca 5 km to town center - was one of my worst experience what I ever had. Hotel is presented as 4*, but is hardly on 2* level or even worse.

I bought voucher for 3 day stay in one czech discount server. And the first problem was with booking of my stay. We called to hotel phone number repeatly byt we were not succesful - or we cought only chef or security guy by phone. Answer was still the same - "the receptionist left a few minutes ago". And again, and again - strange. When we have booked our stay we looked forward to our spa and wellness stay there.

To find the hotel was no problem for me because I know that place (we sometimes visit Hotel Morris which is nearby and overall we like Marianske Lazne). When we came there the hotel parking lot was nearly empty what was for us surprise. Hotel is relatively large. The receptionist was not much kind and polite.

We got by elevator to our room. Common spaces have average design. Surprise was that nearly no staff was present in the hotel. Our room was large but design not much nice. From 4* hotel you expect more. In addition to it you everywhere - in room, restaurant, common spaces and also swimming pool - feel that hotel is technicaly in bad statement of unrepaired. Question mark is also cleanliness - you don't feel here well and everything smell strange. The room was average equiped - I don't like old CRT TV's. But overall the room is probably the best part of hotel. The bed is able provide average comfort and if you open the window you will breath good air from wonderfull enviroment around.

Shock came with the dinner. When we went to restaurant nobody was in reception desk. But the biggest bad- surprise was in the restaurant. No choice. Only one dish was available - horrible bad dish. No possibility to order anything else! Because the chef has pre-cooked the dinners and then left the hotel (next day we got during the breakfast chance to choice from menu for dinner one of two dishes!). Like the jail! The waitress was at that time only one staff presented in hotel! We didn't want to eat fat typical czech dish (in addition to this with taste below average) and we went to another restaurant in Zavišín. When we came back to hotel, only one staff in hotel was security guy in reception desk - you must use door bell by the entrance and wait until he unlock - again as a jail.

Hotel has relatively nice swimming pool - made from stainless steel. It could be big adventage. But everything here smelled horribly and I had serious doubts about cleanliness. I saw also mold on the walls. Even worse than swimming pool is service of spa center. We wanted change the time of our massage - impossible. My wife was waiting for massager nearly one hour long because she was late! No excuses and rude behaviour! So I decided to don't go to massage.

The hotel provides bad services. If I can recommend - choose another one hotel in Zavišín. There are a few much more better around. And the price was also not fair for that miserable services.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wedding reception hosted here and we and other family members pretty much commandeered the whole hotel!

Fantastic service and reception from start to finish. The hotel was very new and contemporary in design so not to my taste, but functionally it was perfect for the event. The food they put on was amazing, from the formal dinner, to the evening buffet and the massive morning after breakfast!

The rooms were clean comfortable, ours a little on the small size, but I got a peek inside the honeymoon suite and that was huge, if again all very new and contemporary, lots of pine and a light open and airy feel to the place.

The staff were all amazing and there was great service throughout our stay, again you need to know a little bit of czech or german to get you by as you't rely on english alone out in that part of the Czech Republic.

The location did seem to be a little bit in the middle of nowhere, so I can't imagine why you'd want to stop there, other than an event like a wedding or if you were passing through or touring the area, if you want to stay there you have to have a car or you will be stuck! Everything was paid for by the parents so I have no idea of value, but I understand they got a pretty good deal!

All in all, we had a fantastic time in this place, more for the event, but the hotel functionally did its job and ensured we always had drink or food and allowed us to party well into the night!

While I have no complaints about the hotel, I don't think I'd find a reason to ever stay there again, with location being the main factor for me, I personally would go for someplace central in Marianske Lazne itself. But if you are holding a family event in the area, they can certainly put on a show for you!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

hotel is new, with nice and clean accomodation.staff is very disposal and kind.it is about 6 kms from the centre but well connected by buses.peaceful place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swami76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank katrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
19 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#4 of 68 in Marianske Lazne
216 reviews
18.4 mi away
Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort
Esplanade Spa & Golf Resort
#2 of 68 in Marianske Lazne
346 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gloria
Hotel Villa Gloria
#2 of 44 in Marianske Lazne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hostel Foster
Hostel Foster
#3 of 17 in Marianske Lazne
14 reviews
18.7 mi away
Villa Meteor
Villa Meteor
#43 of 68 in Marianske Lazne
6 reviews
19.1 mi away
Depandance Romantic Suites
Depandance Romantic Suites
#4 of 17 in Marianske Lazne
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goethe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goethe

Address: Zavishin 3, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Price Range: £74 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goethe 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goethe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing