We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible room”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely personal, good meal - brekfeast and diner, but the room was terrible. I think that 3 stars hotels have better rooms then this one. No cleanes, old furniture. this furniture is out of oder - seen my photos.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa_Marianske_Lazne, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Danubius Health Spa Resort Nové Lázně.
We are very sorry you had some bad experiences at our hotel.
We would like to inform you, that the last rooms with elder furniture in the hotel will be changed by the end of this year to the really nice 5* quality that we represent in the whole building. If you will contact us, we would appriciate to offer you a room of higher quality for normal price.

Wa appriciate you were satisfied with the quality of the F&B services.
We hope you will choose the company MArienbad Kur & Spa hotels in the future as well.

Best regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    40
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
45
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

If you are looking for a cozy hotel this is not it. However as a spacious grand hotel with a truly impressive spa built in Marienbad's golden age of the Belle Epoche this is worth the stay. Our room was attractive, quiet, comfortable and clean. The service is good but slightly lacking in warmth although reasonably good English is spoken by the reception staff. The restaurant is rather so-so and not really five star hotel standard. The place is so big you might need to take the sat-nav with you to find your room. The concerts in the Hotel's Casino with the Bohemian Symphony Orchestra, which I understand are a regular event, should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris503903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa_Marianske_Lazne, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Danubius Health Spa Resort Nové Lázně.
We are very happy about your response according to the services of our hotel.
Thank you for the positive feedback according to our spa, to the regular concerts and others. We are permanently work on the standards of the restaurant, so we hope, at your next visit you will be more satisfied with the 5* quality.

Thanks again for your reviwe and we hope you will choose Nové Lazně or any pther hotel of the company MArienbad Kur & Spa Hotels the next time you come to us.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This review is only about this hotel's spa facilities. I stayed in a different hotel for a week and used this spa daily. For those who are familiar with Caracalla Therme in Baden-Baden, the spa facilities in this hotel is just as good, just as modern, just as clean, and at about the same price. The reception will give you a big towel and a full-size bed sheet (to wrap yourself up when resting) before you go into the changing room. There are small lockers and you can take the key with you. There are several water fountains (with cups) in the spa area. You should bring your flip flops. Spa users are predominantly Russian. Germans are the second largest group. Even though the sauna and steam room area have "no bathing suit" signs clearly posted, only the Germans follow the rules. This hotel offers a long list of medical and beauty treatments -- can be part of the hotel accommodation package or a la carte. I had a so-so 45-min full-body massage but it was on a weekend, hence probably when the regular crew was off duty. Since I stayed at a hotel with agreement for its guests to use this spa, I cannot comment on the rooms and meals at this hotel. Marianske Lazne is a beautiful town full of pastel-colored Belle Epoque buildings, grand hotels, great walking trails, lots of cheap day-trips by mini van to nearby German/Czech towns, easy to get to on the train from Prague, and a tasteful German/Russian/Czech crowd. The only difficulty for English speaker is that everything is in German, Czech, and Russian.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleySFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa_Marianske_Lazne, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and visit at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Nové Lázně and the Roman Bath.
We are glad, you enjoyed your visit and will be happy to see you again in the hotel.

Best regards,
Management of Hotel Nové Lázně
Marienbad Kur & Spa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We didnt stay at the hotel, we only went to the SPA. The prices are very reasonable and you can take a card from 1 hour to entire day. The pools are really beautiful! There are several sauna's and a hummum.. fruit tea is offered free of charge, there are enough chaises longues, there are even 4 of them under red heating lamps (really cool). The place is very clean.. we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina_Z2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa_Marianske_Lazne, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Spa in the Danubius Health Spa Resort Nové Lázně.
We hope, you will visit this 5* property in the future as well.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

5* ??!! O.K. - only for average peoples!

Staff: terrible - in restaurant- students and egoist chief. Lazy porter. Poisoned receptionist.
Spa: poor, like scouts rules, "... do you know... What time is it?" Uh!
Room (Junior suite): average.
Breakfast: No drinks, cheap espresso cafe, cheap vegetables.

Uh! Help!!!!!

Room Tip: I dont know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GodsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Most has already been said about Hotel Nové Lázně in Mariánske Lázně in the 17 Tripadvisor reviews this far.

I won't call Nové Lázně a spa hotel, as, in my view, the only spa is Spa in Belgium, where I live. It is for English and other languages to find own words for balneotherapy resorts. Czech already has one ''lázně''.

A substantial discussion is whether the hotel deserves its five stars.

Our experience is based on the day of 2012.09.05 and the 05/06 night in superior plus rooms 106 and 110 in full pension regime.

In brief, the hotel absolutely deserves five stars due to its historical and architectonic values and the many therapeutic and wellness services it offers. Several Anglo-saxon Tripadvisor reviewers and a Russian argue that it is too old-fashioned and worn out to deserve it. In my old-fashioned European opinion, those characteristics don't substract but add to the status of the place. I acknowledge, though, that the rooms don't reach 5-star level.

With respect to meals, I recommend future hotel guests pension rather than the more expensive à la carte: lunch can be had both ways but they are both based on a limited menu choice; diner is buffet. The quality is fair but not 5-star. On that evening typical Czech specialities were served, which was a plus.

Some German and US reviewers complain about limited linguistic skills on the part of the staff, as exemplified by the German reviewer's remark: ˶Danke und Bitte sind im Tschechischen wohl Fremdworte.ʺ(Thanks and please are completely foreign words in Czech). Of course they are. How would a German react if a Czech said that ''děkuju.'' and ''prosím'' are completely foreign words in German. Before this trip I learnt Czech for a week in order to be able to communicate with the Czechs in their language and the Nové Lázně staff appreciated my efforts to talk to them, even in a rudimentary Czech, and many ''děkuji'' and ''prosím'' were exchanged.

The Nové Lázně bill was, without drinks, 7,775 Kč. For exactly the same services, Hotel Imperial at Karlovy Vary, the other Czech hydrothermal resort we stayed in, took 14,099 Kč. Imperial is arguably somewhat better than Nové Lázně but the later offers a much better quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PabloAyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

By no stretch of the imagination is this a 'hip' hotel nor does it quite merit being labelled five star. Instead it feels like stepping back a hundred or so years to visit a grand hotel while taking the waters. Yet it's a friendly place with charming staff (although their English is rather limited and is almost non existent in the spa) and reasonable prices; the town itself is delightful. The hotel's food is acceptable despite not being 'healthy' by modern standards. We found it preferable to use our 'half board' option for lunch and to eat out in the evening as the dining room is more functional than characterful. The hotel's old fashioned quality is, however, its charm and we enjoyed the range of treatments and feeling that we had been transported back to a more genteel era.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.2 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezda and Imperial
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezd...
#13 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centralni Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centr...
#8 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grandhotel Pacifik
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grand...
#4 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#5 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#3 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
#15 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne
Address: Reitenbergerova 53/2, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Nove Lazne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nove Lazne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing