We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, but very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rango
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel and rooms are very basic, but are bright and clean, and are a decent value for the money. What they lack is the character or charm that I would expect from a small, relatively upscale hotel in Europe. There were no issues with them as the room was comfortable and decent-sized, and the staff was friendly, but a bit more charm and character would have been a huge improvement.

The breakfast buffet was okay, but not more - it was rather limited in its size and the scope of the offerings, but the food that was there was good, and the breakfast was a convenient way to start the day.

The location is good, and the hotel has on-site parking - which can be a godsend in Plzen! The major sights and attractions in the city are all in easy walking distance, as are a number of restaurants and cafes.

The restaurant in the hotel (also called Rango) was a nice, intimate little Italian place, and is a good place to eat if you want a break from heavy Czech food. The food was good, and the prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    26
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
45
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Hotel Rango is in a great location; across from a tram stop, 1/2 a block to the main square, and 2 blocks to the beer museum and underground tour. Walking distance to the Pilsner Urquell brewery tour. Staff were incredibly helpful and had great English. Breakfast was a very good buffet. Didn't try the Italian restaurant within the hotel; not when one of the oldest Czech restaurants in town was right next door! Rooms were clean and comfortable, but small (especially the shower stall!). We'd stay here again due to good location, good service, and good value, but there must be some places in Pilsen with a bit more charm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street may have some tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viaducttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is a nice, basic hotel in old town Plzen - very handy for the Brewery Museum/Plzen Underground tour and next to the oldest beer tavern in Plzen. Rooms are pretty basic but clean. Front desk service is very friendly and helpful. About 15-20 min walk to the train station and similar to the Pilsner Urquell brewery

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockStrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel is located above a restaurant (which we didn't try).
We stopped over on a motorcycle journey and the place was centrally located with secure parking (locked after 11pm). This was a must for prospective bikers travelling through the Czech republic.
The rooms were clean but nothing fantastic. We had no view at all from our twin room; which was basically a converted loft.
The only sound at night is from the electrical tram located outside the hotel.
The location of the hotel is virtually on one of the main town squares and within walking distance to most pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wentzelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

i can only say good things about the hotel: excellent location (at the main square), big and clean rooms, good prices, friendly and helpful stuff, excellent breakfast, good italian restaurant, parking not far away, etc.
could recommend for friends, families (huge rooms availabel if you git with children), and couples.
The only thing is that if possible, avoid the rooms facing the streets as they could be a bit noisy due to the tram and the celebrating people around...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaalnorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Been eating at Rango for years, it is definitely within the top 3 restaurants in the city though I have never stayed at the hotel. Food has never failed to impress, the two chefs handle the work very well indeed and will meet the customers alternative order without batting an eyelid.
Recommended: spaggetti al aglio with a grilled pork fillet or even together with the grilled calamari! Home baked bread with carpaccio(do ask for the extra virgin olive oil....yummy).
All in all great place to eat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

This is a fantastic resturant, you don't think italian in the Czech Republic, but this will make you change your mind. Warm atmosphere, food is excellent, service is excellent ... I highly recommend this resturant to everybody coming to Plzen and tired of Czech food .... I am so over the dumplings and cabbage.

Rooms are small but comfortable, since I had lots of luggage, this made it seem smaller, I stayed for 4 months. The people are also very very nice ...

  • Liked — All around great, location, resturant, etc.
  • Disliked — nothing, rooms can be small, but since I had lots of luggage that was a problem.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ztempestivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Pilsen
Courtyard Pilsen
#2 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angelo by Vienna House Pilsen
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Zvonu
Hotel U Zvonu
#5 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rous
Hotel Rous
#10 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plzen
Hotel Plzen
#9 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Plzen
Ibis Plzen
#3 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rango

Property: Hotel Rango
Address: Prazhska 89/10, Pilsen 301 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rango 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Rango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rango Pilsen, Plzen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing