We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel River

Hostel River
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel River
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice little place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed 5 nights in Hostel River last month when I needed to attend a conference in Pilsen. The room was spacious and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. It has a terrace where you can chill out in summer. The only minus point is the bathroom: there is only a small shower per floor, ie. in my case, for a dorm of 8 and a second room of 4 people.
Other than that, the hostel is very close to the train station and a big supermarket, as well as a 10-15min walk from the historical city centre.
It also had a very good wifi connection which resulted extremely helpful for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
640 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

here is a few minutes walk from the train station & Supermarket. guest room is clean.Guests can spend time freely.But,after the check-in time, there is no staff in the reception.and staff does not know neatly Bookings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meiryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Hostel River was a basic room with bathroom and comfortble beds. Nice price for 500 Czk. Close to the city and train station. Staff were friendly and the English barrier was not a problem.
Super close to a awesome rock bar called Jammit.

After a long and drunken train ride I made it to Plzen, but made it to my original Hostel:
http://www.ubytovnaplzen.cz/
It was the cheapest I found in Plzen and was the worst. The halways were dark, everything stunk of cigarettes and people actually live in these shoe box apartments. I guess that it what it can be like in Eastern Europe. It was what it was. I moved out the next day to Hostel River.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zxyane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

This hostel has a good location on a quiet street close to the train station and about ten minutes from the centre. The guy that runs it is super relaxed and most of the time I was there it was empty so it was like having my own private flat in the city. The only gripe would be that the internet didn't work, but there were plenty of places in Plzen offering wi-fi so it wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerTimTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rango
Hotel Rango
#7 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#17 of 31 in Pilsen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hazuka
Hotel Hazuka
#24 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Pilsen
Courtyard Pilsen
#2 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plzen
Hotel Plzen
#9 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel U Zvonu
Hotel U Zvonu
#5 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel River

Property: Hostel River
Address: Cernicka 12, Pilsen, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Pilsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel River Pilsen, Plzen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing