We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nofrills hotel with an old building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Slovan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Slovan
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nofrills hotel with an old building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

rooms are big and the selling point of this hotel is that the hotel is in a very old building, if you just want to have B&B service it is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balance_so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
23
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

The outside of the hotel looked fabulously luxurious as did the Gone with the Wind type lobby. Unfortunately the rooms were something out of a horror movie. The entire living area reeked of cigarette smoke even though we requested a non-smoking room from the outset.

Furniture was dated, though this wasn't a real issue with us. What was really horrible was the concrete floor co-ed bathroom to be shared by guests of the entire floor. Ok, I'm pretty open minded but the shower stalls had no door on them. Really, this place was more like a bad hostel in need of TLC than a grand hotel, as its name suggests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shared co-ed bathroom with no doors on shower stalls
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chateaubordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pilsen hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Hotel is quite average I would say.

Staff is helpful, but for me hotel was generally quite depressing - don't really know why. Altought they allowed to park bike on private parking free, but room doesn't have toilet/shower (though I was aware of it).

Haven't used any other facilities, not sure if they're available, but general impression was not the best. Though it is cheap.

  • Liked — Location, parking
  • Disliked — Rooms, general atmosphere.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2005

Location of this hotel is good - it's immediately outside Plzen's old town. The hotel is dark and old-looking but our room was large and comfortable. The staff speaks only a little English but was generally helpful and pleasant. The breakfast, however, was the worst that we encountered in 2 weeks in Germany and Czech Republic. The hotel has a large and easy-to-access parking lot but a piece of plaster from the crumbling building fell on our car and damaged it slightly. I would add that Plzen is a really fun place. It's less expensive than Praha to eat and stay but has all the Czech experience you could ask for.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank mizuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2003

I went to stay at the hotel slovan on the advice of a friend. The hotel is beautiful inside with large rooms and beautiful decoration, thought it does not look like it has been redecorated since the 70's. we paid 2400 kc a night which is around £50 for a twin room with its own bathroom. and breakfast was included in the price. the staff were very helpful and gave us directions around pilen, and sold us bus tickets etc. i would to go back to the hotel sloven if i was ever in pilsen again

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#20 of 31 in Pilsen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plzen
Hotel Plzen
#9 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rous
Hotel Rous
#10 of 31 in Pilsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayer
Hotel Bayer
#28 of 31 in Pilsen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irida Hotel
Irida Hotel
#16 of 31 in Pilsen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slovan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slovan

Property: Hotel Slovan
Address: Smetanovy sady 1, Pilsen, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slovan 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Slovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slovan Hotel Plzen
Hotel Slovan Pilsen, Plzen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing