We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd return!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Reviewed 4 August 2007

The hotel's staff were extremely caring! The food was excellent. Location is very convenient. My friends and I stayed here for 3 weeks while we attended a summer program and we would definitely come back. The staff even asked us how our final exam went which was really sweet. I was very concerned after reading some of the reviews previously noted. We had no problems with the facility at all. The lady at the front desk is self conscious about her English so that could be why she appears cold. We had laptops with us. We did lock them, though.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2007

This hotel has been owned by the same family for three generations. Though parts of the hotel are old and somewhat plain, the rooms have been remodeled and the grounds and the setting are excellent.

Most everything is within walking distance. The hotel is located only about a block from the river and the lush lawn and flowers in front of the hotel reportedly grow in a filled in moat or river channel. Restaurants with outdoor patios are within two blocks or less, as is the town square and cathedral (296 steps to the top of the bell tower as I counted them). The Pilsen brewery is just over the river, a short walk over a nearby bridge or one short streetcar stop (I took the streetcar and when I realized how close it was I walked back). The train station is about the same distance away over a different bridge perhaps three or four blocks distant.

This is a partly restored classic old hotel, but it would be boring for young people. No disco or anything like that. It has an old smoke filled bar and a plain dining room that had good food.

What I enjoyed were the people I met there, the well restored room and being close to everything. Very competent staff.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank SteveH59718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

5 rooms of our group were robbed in little less than 2 hours. Incredible, no forced entry whatsoever, the thieves had time to search all of our luggage. The security camera had no tape, looked like a master key work to us. No response from their insurance company, either. Terrible experience!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Doemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This hotel was very pleasant and obviously was a top class hotel back in its hey day. We got a very spacious room with nice views outside. The bathroom and bedroom are very clean with lovely old style furniture. The elevators were very old and small, which added to the atmosphere - loved all the high roofs. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, as well as the cheap rate obtained through booking.com (65 euros).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This hotel seems as though it would be an appealing place to stay given its central location and the charm of the architecture, however DO NOT BE FOOLED. The staff of the hotel will ROB YOU BLIND. While out to dinner five members of my party had their rooms broken into and their laptops stolen. The little lady at the front desk is a great actor and covered very well for her coworkers. Do not ever stay at this miserable hotel. The breakfast isn't even that good.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank pilzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2006

whilst waiting for my house to be built(to live with my wive and baby from plzen) .i have stayed in this hotel at least 40 nights, the staff are fantastic and all speak english. the rooms are basic , cheap and clean. the bar downstairs friendly with limited food menu and good cheap beer.
i reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilot2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
13
Reviewed 22 April 2005

Nice old building. Great little bar - quiet, with nice sized tables and comfortable seats. Rooms charming in a Soviet type way. Building has seen better days but for €40 what more could you ask for. Watch out for the old lady at the front desk, she is is one tough lady with no hospitality skills. But then that adds to the regemented charm. An interesting experience all round.

  • Stayed: October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Easy Angelo Pilsen
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pilsen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rous
Hotel Rous
#11 of 31 in Pilsen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rango
Hotel Rango
#6 of 31 in Pilsen
125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Plzen
Ibis Plzen
#3 of 31 in Pilsen
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plzen
Hotel Plzen
#12 of 31 in Pilsen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Zbrojnicka 8, Pilsen, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Plzen
Hotel Continental Pilsen, Plzen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing