We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent For Single Business Traveler”
Review of Hotel Rous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rous
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent For Single Business Traveler”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed one night for business in Plzen. The hotel was easy to find. The receptionist was very helpful and escorted me up to my room. Note the single rooms are on the top floor, one flight of stairs higher than the elevator . . .not a problem but be prepared. The room was large for a single with beautiful woodwork. Breakfast in the cafe was excellent.

Room Tip: Single rooms on the top floor have excellent skylights rather than windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    37
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
45
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here one night and overall very pleased with the hotel. The location is ideal - steps away from the main square and a 10 min. walk to Pilsner brewery. The receptionist was very helpful; showed us to the room personally and gave us some good restaurant and pub recommendations. The room was large and well-decorated and the bed comfortable. The bathroom did not have a shower (bath with a low shower head so you could not stand up). This was ok for one night but would get on my nerves if I was staying there for any length of time. Our room faced the street and with the trams it is loud, but we are heavy sleepers and this didn't bother us. The one thing that was a bit odd was that the hotel seems to be locked all the time. I understand why this is, and once we had a key it was fine, but we came by twice to check in and the place was locked. This gives off a rather cool impression and was inconvenient for us. Breakfast the next day was fine - nothing special but satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just spent a night in Hotel Rous, but hopefully I can share some valuable information with you. Finding Hotel Rous is very easy. Arriving by car, you can find some notices and driving down the street, it's very visible. So no problem.
I was lucky, the receptionist was still present when arriving, but she was on her way home already. It was close to 7.30 p.m. In such a small hotel it's understandable, but as rising, the hotel should re-consider this approach.
My room was OK. Although I've booked a single, I stayed in twin, so enough space, very spacious. The equipment is OK, everything is well combined. Except the TV, which should have been better and I was unfortunate to miss football match broadcasting, as the TV reception was not good enough. And faster internet connection would do no harm as well.
Breakfast is very good and all members of personnel are very friendly.
Overall, staying at Hotel Rous is very nice and you should face no problems. And if the hotel uses better the potential, it would be even better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I arrived in the evening at 7:30 pm and the reception was closed. I had to go to a cafe next door and wait at least 15 minutes standing that the (only) waiter took a few minutes to do the check in. The room is very small but looks ok and the building look also ok. The Internet was not working so I had to go again to the cafe to get some connection. The price is very reasonable, but it's not an hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da-microscope-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in a comfortable but small, double room at the back of the hotel - our choice because the larger suites were on a busy street and were too noisy. The hotel is located close to the main square, easily reached by tram from the main train station. (You could actually walk).
Breakfast in Caffe Emily each morning was great - plenty of bread for toast, buns, pastries, juice and an assortment of jams and yoghurts. A freshly brewed cup of coffee was a bonus. Caffee Emily is a smoking cafe, but during the mornings, only hotel guests were present and luckily no-one was smoking.
The free wireless internet was very slow or non-functioning, although the cafe's free connection was fine. Cafe staff were particularly obliging and helpful.
A kettle in the room for the occasional cup of tea or coffee, and a decent internet connection would have made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gragra_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Clean and comfortable, with pleasant staff. Very close to the main square. excellent all round
I can see some people may object to the noise of the trams which pass out the front (I am used to the noise as I have some outside my house) you could always request a room which is to the back?? Was not a major issue though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r8nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Rous for two nights and we were very pleased with the stay. We contaced the hotel directly regarding the booking and got a quick response and good information. When we arrived the good first-impression was confirmed. Everyone was very helpful; we felt it as they really wanted us to have a great stay. The rooms are quite large and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and was included in the room rate (along with wireless internet access). Caffe Emily is also well worth a visit; good food and drinks and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Easy Angelo Pilsen
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pilsen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rango
Hotel Rango
#7 of 31 in Pilsen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roudna
Hotel Roudna
#9 of 31 in Pilsen
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Zvonu
Hotel U Zvonu
#4 of 31 in Pilsen
79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Plzen
Ibis Plzen
#3 of 31 in Pilsen
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rous

Property: Hotel Rous
Address: Zbrojnicka 113/7, Pilsen 301 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pilsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rous 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rous is family, luxurious, 4 stars hotel situated in the historical center of the city of Plzeo. It offers 18 guest rooms, of it 15 double-bedded and 3 single-bedded rooms, including 3 hotel suites and one room for persons with disabilities, and meeting room for up 18 persons. Breakfast is served in nice Caffe Emily or in the outside terrace situated within the historical fortification walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rous Hotel Plzen
Hotel Rous Pilsen, Plzen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing