We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Amarilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarilis
Ranked #126 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is very close to tourist attractions and restaurants. The both rooms and beds were very clean. It was also very spacious. Only down sides were no wifi in the room, and parking garage is not designed for Amwrican vehicles. This is very common across Europe. So if you have an SUV, or large car understand parking is VERY limited. My car was a mustang and it couldn't fit. They were very accommodating and found another hotel to store it in. However parking is 20 € a night.

Room Tip: Many hotels aren't shown on travel search engines. Use google maps to find good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are sorry for WiFi. New router will be instaled in October. As far as parking car in the city center is uneasy in the historical part but still we have garage or some other places where you can park. Should you need assistance please feel free to email us prior your arrival. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    174
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
186
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great location, average amenities, decent price. Overall, decent experience, but not great.

Few minutes walk from the Square, and well located. But small things are missing - no wifi in the rooms, poor construction in the bathroom (leaks in multiple places), etc.

Worth it if you're getting a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashantV491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed in there for a week, the service is excelent and the receptionicts are helpful

Rooms are clean, and well eqipped
Great expereince

We run trough them by chance and had great time

Edan, Israel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edvash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much ... We are glad you were satisfied ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for New Year. The hotel was clean and comfortable and served a decent buffet breakfast. They had a wide selection of teas, coffee and juice and a decent 'European' offering - toast, bread, hot and cold meat, eggs, yoghurt, cereal etc. If you want a British fry up you'll be disappointed.

The hotel is a very shirt walk to Wenceslas Square so ideally situated. There is a shop across the road if you want drink, snacks etc for the room or a day out.

The two improvements i'd make is wifi in the rooms - you only get free wifi in the lobby. Also, in my room there wasn't a plug socket near the bed. Minor gripes really - had a great stay otherwise.

Helpful?
2 Thank katygail
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you. Nice to hear you were happy here. WiFi issue will be fixed in October ;). Next time you will get strong WiFi reception everywhere :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adare, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

There is nothing special here, but the pricing is good for a hotel near the centre. Everything is a short walk away.

I stayed in an upgraded room that was sparse with fairly cheap decor. The bed was very comfortable (a bit small though) and there was no outside nose so I slept very well here. The bathroom was bright and had a good shower.

Room Tip: Note: If you order a taxi from the hotel it can take up to 20 minutes to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

During a stay in Prague during the last week of September, I decided to extend my visit by an extra day. When the property I was staying in had no availability, I booked a last minute room at the Amarilis (nearly directly across the street).

In retrospect, I wish I had stayed at this property for my entire trip. I arrived at 12 noon (two hours before normal check-in), hoping to drop my bags, but instead was told that my room was ready and I was welcome to check in. I had requested a quiet room (if possible) and was not disappointed. My room overlooked the courtyard - and had DOUBLE GLAZED windows. The room was good sized, and although simply decorated, was tasteful and spotlessly clean. The mattress/bed was very comfortable, good pillows too.

There are properties a bit closer to Old Town than this one, but I didn't mind the walk (15-20 minutes) and I felt that the price I was paying/quality of the property was worth the trade off. I would certainly recommend and/or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for a week, during a very hot week, price is reasonable and it is very clean and up to date with a helpful staff. It has air conditioning, limited cable TV and in room internet but the only wireless is in the lobby. Make sure you bring a dongle ( ethernet/USB cable) if you have a MacBook Air or other laptop without ethernet ports. Up to date bathroom but tubs are very deep and one has to be agile to get in and out. Location is perfect since it is 2 blocks from Vaclavskoe Namesti and a street car station is a block away. There are 2 "non-stops" (24/7 minimarts) directly across the street with a reasonable selection of wine, beer and snacks if you want to stay in your room. There are many good restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The breakfast buffet included a variety of foods and could last one for the day. Only down side is that it is totally charmless and the decor is post communist modern.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the street have balconies and the street is not that noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#106 of 649 in Prague
877 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#99 of 649 in Prague
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#109 of 649 in Prague
589 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#49 of 649 in Prague
1,293 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarilis

Property: Amarilis
Address: Shtepanska 613/18, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Prague
#109 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#118 Family Hotel in Prague
#214 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarilis 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel houses 67 spacious guest rooms individually designed in Feng Shui Style, painted with fresh bright colors and all of them equipped with modern amenities that provide comfort and convenience. Accommodation in the Amarilis Jerome Hotel is provided in rooms of different categories such as Standard, Superior and Suite with Jacuzzi and smoking in the hotel is non allowed. The hotel's restaurant Amaryla located on the groundfloor is an important part of the hotel's Feng Shui concept and serves contemporary International cuisine. The food, being always fresh and delicious, is specially prepared with respect to healthy life style as well as gluten free and diary free food. Wellness Energia, located in the basement, features steam and infra sauna, heated benches, massage shower and jazzuci, is ideal spot for relaxation and regeneration. The restaurant and wellness center make hotel's Feng Shui concept complete.Flexible conference rooms can host up to 150 people and feature technical equipment, sound equipment, over-head projectors and wifi access. Of course, catering is available as well.The Amarilis Jerome Hotel is located in the very center of Prague within a walking distance from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, National Museum, National Theater, Jewish Quater, Ungelt, Municiapal House, Old Town Hall, New Town Hall, Astronomical clock (Orloj) and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amarilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarilis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing