We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent price/performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amarilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarilis
Ranked #120 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent price/performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Overall, I recommend the hotel. Comfortable, and the web offers bargain prices for very good quality. Great location in the centre, perfect for those travelling with train.

Positive:
** Good price/performance – the price (on the web) was excellent for a four-star hotel;
** Cleanliness and spaciousness of the room – comfortable for a standard double room, with extra armchairs and a full mini bar;
** Heating worked fine / just right – this was important in winter time (we stayed during Christmas period);
** Location: five-minute walk from Venceslas' Square; quiet enough still, yet with several bars/restaurants nearby;
** Vicinity of the train station: only 15 minutes (by foot) to the main train station – we arrived late in the evening, and had an early-morning train to catch, so this was important;
** Friendly yet invisible staff.

Neutral:
** Breakfast was the same every morning, but good and sufficiently various – we were OK for five mornings without breakfast becoming boring; nevertheless, a wider assortment of fresh fruits would be welcome;
** The hotel is fully non-smoking – smokers need to enjoy the fresh air out in the street.

Negative:
** Two light bulbs were dead – we did not complain anyway;
** There is no bar in the hotel (apart from the one in the restaurant);
** The hotel restaurant is not open regularly – during our stay, opening hours seemed erratic (morning one day, evening another); maybe this was due to holiday period.

Room Tip: Smokers? Try to get one of the three rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tomo,

thank you very much for your suggestion and review. We really appreciate it and you should tell us about light bulbs .. We would fix it immediately. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon ;)

Best regards
Hotel Amarilis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    167
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
50
176
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is extremely well located. We were warmly welcomed, ( including our dog) Our room on the 7th floor was superb with a huge rook terrace overlooking the city
The only disappointment was the poor quality of the breakfast they served

Room Tip: Request room 701
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Lucca,

thank you very much for your opinion and suggestion ;).

Kindest regards
Hotel Amarilis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Let me start by first complimenting the wonderful staff of this hotel. I just returned home after a 3 night stay in Amarilis with my 4 year old son, every person on the staff was friendly and helpful my entire stay. I initially arrived 5 hours prior to check-in, I only hoped to store my bags. The girl behind the desk, took my bags, and told me to return in an hour, the room would be ready. I did not expect them to do this, but when I returned a little more than an hour later, the girl remembered me and had my key waiting for me. My son looked forwarded to going downstairs everyday, because the staff members always took time to say hi and interact with him. I would satay here again due to the staff alone.
The rest of the hotel is good in itself though, the breakfast was good, always plenty of selections. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. Water pressure and temperature we're good in the bathroom.
The hotel is located close within a 5 minutes walk of all 3 metro lines, making it very convenient for sightseeing. Tram stops are just as close as well, not to mention numerous restaurants and bars.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Regluke,


thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear you felt good and satisfied with our services.

Thank you again and we hope to see you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Good location, staff was speaking decent English, we were feeling comfortable enough. The hotel is not luxurious or decorated, floors for example were quite old. It was simple but all they offered us was satisfying.

Room Tip: Otis not on a busy street so I guess all rooms are quite quiet. Our apartment was on 6th floor, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detelina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Detelina,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your opinion. We hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our room was never cleaned, even though we saw the presance of chamber maids. We had to clean bathroom with our own shampoo. We were told to ask at reception for toilet roll. Tea facilities were supplied only on arrival and not topped up. Our carpet was filthy and the tried to charge us for cleaning it .would recomend check room and report any imprefections to reception. They may try to blame you and try to charge for it. The cot was falling apart wooden spindles were missing and others falling out. Was really dangerous. I found staff rude and unfriendly. I fell and receptionist did not help or even ask if i was ok. My daughter 2 years old got caught in the exit sliding doors and no help from staff
Left hotel after this incident and booked into best western across road. Was a fantastic place better everything and Cheeper. Would recomend avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We would like to clarify this.

1. You were given Suite without an extra payment
2. Staff reported you had taken food from the breakfast room regardless rules and conditions and later on it could be found all over the room and obviously we have evidence of it!
3. We tried to respect your noisy behavior regardless complains from other guests
4. You were told after 5 days you would be charged for an extra cleaning as you made room extremely dirty!
5. You left hotel after that without paying extras and damages on the room!
6. You can not leave 2 years old baby in between electric doors. Unfortunately the sensor can not register such small person. You should take care about such small kid

We are terribly sorry but your review is not objective
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prostějov
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

excelent position in the historical center of the Prague, many seesides around there, easy to get fast everywhere, nearly to subway, perfect service, great night bar in the hotel, excellent kitchen, delicious breakfast, comfort room, nice stuff, maximally satisfied, I can really fully recomande to spend time there........

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much ;) We are glad you were satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fréjus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

There are so many 4* hotels in Prag that it was hard to chose. Our choice was made thanks to reviews. And we do not regret. The hotel seems to be simple from outside, but is very modern inside. Nice people at the desk, always ready to give some information. Possibility to book a taxi from and for the airport (fixed price : 590 CZK). Well located: 2 mn walk from the Wenceslasplace and from the subway. Supermarket and Exchange (one of the most interesting in Prag) in the same street. Large and clean room, with free Wifi, fridge, satellite TV, curtains (seldom in Prag) and a large bathroom. Very confortable beds. Breakfast is OK but is the same every day. There is a private spa with jacuzzi, hammam and sauna. Price was also good (300 € for 4 days including free access to spa). I would recommand that hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gil083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at Amarilis, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you and hope to see you again ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#107 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#80 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#137 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#106 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#54 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarilis

Property: Amarilis
Address: Shtepanska 613/18, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Prague
#104 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#118 Family Hotel in Prague
#214 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarilis 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel houses 67 spacious guest rooms individually designed in Feng Shui Style, painted with fresh bright colors and all of them equipped with modern amenities that provide comfort and convenience. Accommodation in the Amarilis Jerome Hotel is provided in rooms of different categories such as Standard, Superior and Suite with Jacuzzi and smoking in the hotel is non allowed. The hotel's restaurant Amaryla located on the groundfloor is an important part of the hotel's Feng Shui concept and serves contemporary International cuisine. The food, being always fresh and delicious, is specially prepared with respect to healthy life style as well as gluten free and diary free food. Wellness Energia, located in the basement, features steam and infra sauna, heated benches, massage shower and jazzuci, is ideal spot for relaxation and regeneration. The restaurant and wellness center make hotel's Feng Shui concept complete.Flexible conference rooms can host up to 150 people and feature technical equipment, sound equipment, over-head projectors and wifi access. Of course, catering is available as well.The Amarilis Jerome Hotel is located in the very center of Prague within a walking distance from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, National Museum, National Theater, Jewish Quater, Ungelt, Municiapal House, Old Town Hall, New Town Hall, Astronomical clock (Orloj) and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarilis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing