We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Amarilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amarilis
Ranked #134 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A clean hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at Amarilis Hotel for one night. Upon arrival we were unpleasantly surprised with lack of parking places around the hotel; the hotel offered parking for 25 euros/night which was a bit expensive. They did offer us a small bed for our baby, which was prepared and given to us a few hours later. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel offers wireless internet connection in the lobby but we could connect (admittedly with a very low quality signal) from our room at the 3rd floor. We spent the rest of our day on sightseeing. The hotel is ideally located in the close vicinity of all tourist attractions. Our room was not very spacious but OK and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is just fine but the place where it is served cannot accommodate all the guests in the peak hours and you may have to wait a bit before you get a table.
All in all, it was a neat and clean hotel in a perfect location. It might be relatively expensive by the Czech standards but I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eindhovenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    172
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
182
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Spent just one night here with friends in late December 2008. Despite it being only 2 nights before New Years Eve, unbelievably a double room without reservation was only €110 at this 4-star hotel. But once the Czech Republic switches from the koruna to the euro, these rates will go up for sure.

The room we stayed in was located on the top floor. It gave us access to an expansive deck that allowed us to venture out as far as one corner of the roof. The view from the deck of the national museum and free radio tower is fantastic. The room itself is also quite spacious with ample room for luggage and several persons to move around comfortably. It consists of a minibar, electronic safe, cable tv, and phone. Hot buffet breakfast and wifi internet access (from lobby only) are complementary.

There have been other reviews here that cited various problems and discourteous treatment from the staff. We never experienced such things. Despite their regular parking area being full, management was very kind to let us park in a blocked space by displaying a notice on the windshield indicating we were guests of the hotel.

  • Liked — Simple yet clean, spacious, and functional.
  • Disliked — Rooms could use additional seating. Plenty of room for armchairs.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The hotel is excellently located. Very close to the main square.

Staff is nice but do not speak English very well.
The hotel is not one year old but you can see that maintenance is not a +
I had problems with the room temperature but it could not be fixed meaning that I was cold during my stay.
Housekeepig has defenetly BIG problems.
Carpet had stains.
Cleanliness in the room was terrible. Hair in the carpet. And the cleaning of the room was not you would expect from a 4*
I stayed during the week and during the week end. One of the days I came to the hotel during lunch time and my room was not cleaned yet. I left at 2.30 and no one knocked at the door to clean it. When I came back in the evening it was cleaned.
Saturday morning I wanted to rest and the mades were shouting to each other in the corridor and I had to go out twice to explain them that I wanted to sleep. I left the room at 12.30 and came back at 9pm and my room was not cleaned.
The following day the receptionist told me that it was not cleaned because I had the do not disturb sign which was true until 12.30 but as my room was cleaned after 2.30 pm during the week this should never be an excuse.
Check out time was 10.am which is totally crazy in a hotel.
The night before I checked out, I booked a taxi for 2.30 and said to the receptionist that I would keep the room until that time. The following day when I was complaining about my room not being cleaned the day before, the receptionist instead of being apologetic, she made fun of me and said that I was already lucky to have the room until 2.30 and that I should shut up (her words…)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richeyint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Décor
Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of August, would definitely stay again when visiting Prague. Great colour scheme in our room, a lot more appealing than the average budget box in beige. Ultra clean rooms with large double bed, bath etc. Staff were bi-lingual and gave great service.

Price
We paid around 50 euros a night for a double room, including an impressive hot and cold breakfast. It worked out cheaper than staying in a hostel which is pretty impressive.

Location
Just behind the National Museum on Wenceslas Square, great location as it’s a five minute walk into the centre, but also in its own district so not to hectic with the tourist throngs.

Extras
Mini bar, TV/radio etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Although this is a clean hotel, watch your personal goods. I went out for 10 minutes to the convenience store across the street and had my passport, all my cash and other valuables stolen by the bell hop who had master key access. Management did nothing about the situation. I stayed here for 7 nights. Unfortunately I had to file police reports, spend a whole day at the embassy to get a new passport and hours on the phone which is not the way I wanted to spend my time in Prague.

Craig P
Texas USA

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#106 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#102 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#136 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#107 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#52 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarilis

Property: Amarilis
Address: Shtepanska 613/18, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Prague
#117 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#118 Family Hotel in Prague
#214 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarilis 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel houses 67 spacious guest rooms individually designed in Feng Shui Style, painted with fresh bright colors and all of them equipped with modern amenities that provide comfort and convenience. Accommodation in the Amarilis Jerome Hotel is provided in rooms of different categories such as Standard, Superior and Suite with Jacuzzi and smoking in the hotel is non allowed. The hotel's restaurant Amaryla located on the groundfloor is an important part of the hotel's Feng Shui concept and serves contemporary International cuisine. The food, being always fresh and delicious, is specially prepared with respect to healthy life style as well as gluten free and diary free food. Wellness Energia, located in the basement, features steam and infra sauna, heated benches, massage shower and jazzuci, is ideal spot for relaxation and regeneration. The restaurant and wellness center make hotel's Feng Shui concept complete.Flexible conference rooms can host up to 150 people and feature technical equipment, sound equipment, over-head projectors and wifi access. Of course, catering is available as well.The Amarilis Jerome Hotel is located in the very center of Prague within a walking distance from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, National Museum, National Theater, Jewish Quater, Ungelt, Municiapal House, Old Town Hall, New Town Hall, Astronomical clock (Orloj) and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarilis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing