We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most unfriendly staff ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metamorphis Excellent
Ranked #318 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The most unfriendly staff ever !”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in this 5 star hotel in March 2012 for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and had a beautiful painted ceiling. We had requested to be on the side overlooking the square and the bed was very comfortable. On the first night we asked reception if they could look at the airconditioning as it wasn't working, the guy at reception had no clue as what to do, that same night we had no hot water. The next morning there was no water at all, and after asking reception about this we were told quite bluntly that they didn.t know when it would be fixed. We asked for some bottles of water to at least brush our teeth and were told we should go out and buy them,. Breakfast was served over the road in the hotel part and when we were going to sit down we were told very abrupt by one of the waitresses that we couldn't sit there and had to move. We ventured into town and prague is a beautiful city and we did meet many friendly people. On return to our room we had once again water and it was hot, also the airconditoning was turned on. Our room 812 was overlooking the square which also has an Irish pub and you can not leave your window open because of the noise. The next two days all was fine and the room was cleaned every day,until the third day when reception decided to turn off the air-conditioning again and were then told that they don't turn it on this time of year. and we had to do without for the remainder of our stay. I would advice to buy your own coffee as what is provided you either spay for or the free coffee in your room is just awful, also the tea is not everyday replaced and you only one sachet.
The breakfast served is sufficient, but the same everyday and even though it is till 10.30 in the morning not everything is replaced once it has run out.
This is definately not a 5 star hotel, it left us feeling very unwanted and would certainly not recommend it or return there, as there are so many lovely hotels in Prague.
The staff should be more approachable and a smile so now and then would not go a miss.
All in all Prague is a wonderfull city , certainly to visit again,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    40
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Excellent hospitality, great room and the hotel too has done a good job of preserving the original architecture as much as possible by building around it. The location of the hotel is bang in the middle of all important tourist spots (walking distance to all places), and is surrounded by very good restaurants so it is very ideal for tourists particularly.

Room Tip: If you need anything specific in the room, like a table, make sure to ask for it upfront since the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santosh654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at Metamorphis Excellent Sept 2011. We stayed in the corner suite on the third floor and it was great! First off the shower and bathroom are large and amazing. The main sleeping area had a couch and chair plus two beds. The entry room has one additional bed as well. It is located close to the Central plaza. The free breakfast is tasty and you have a large window to eat it in. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The third floor corner suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qsxhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

situated in Tyn square this hotel was just amazing. The bedrooms were spacious, with huge comfortable beds, The bathroom, again was spacious with an amazing flat head shower with real water pressure - sheer delight! The rooms were very well equipped and clean. Tea, coffee, TV, iron and ironing board even bathroom scales were provided! The breakfasts were held in the restaurant opposite and again we couldn't fault them. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only slight downside was there is no lift so suitcases do have to be carted up the stairs - good reason to travel light!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveHelenFagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weezieyat
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

First the good...We enjoyed our stay at the Metamorphis Hotel Excellent for 4 nights at the end of July. The rooms were huge and nicely decorated. We had 6 rooms total for 12 people.
Breakfast was ample, but down a long, 28 steps, winding staircase in a separate restaurant across the alley. The carpets could use some replacing in room 841 as I found they were stained and dingy looking. Definitely not a 5 Star hotel, but a decent 3 at best. Excellent location to just about everywhere and great views.
**Word of warning if you cannot do stairs. I had my parents (82 yrs old) travelling with our group. I had made sure that elevators were available in all of our hotels, including Metamorphis. I was sent an email saying the elevator went up to the 2nd floor and that it was only a 4 steps walk up to the 3rd floor. Low and behold, when we arrived, we were all given rooms in the building that had only stairs....4 flights. The best they could do was give my parents a room on the 2nd floor, so they only had to make it up two sets of stairs to the 2nd floor! The rest of us got used to hoofing it up several flights. Not very accommodating.
Also, on hot evenings, which thankfully was not many, the AC's didn't work well in some rooms. My sister and husband had their room changed and the other room worked better. The hotel told them that no one else complained about it. Like it was their fault! LOL

Room Tip: If you need elevator, be sure you're in the right building. Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weezieyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Hotel is small but clean and efficient. Must be book early. It is only a short walk to the old town square. All types of tours readily available. Staff only too happy to book anything you want.

Room Tip: Needs to be booked early hotel only has about 11 rooms - no elevator only 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The location was supurb. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Linda!
The rooms were spacious and of a high standard. Could have done with some block out curtains.
It would be helpful to warn travellers of the peril of getting ripped off by rogue taxi drivers!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#181 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Merchant's Yard Residence
Merchant's Yard Residence
#332 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#214 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#280 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Apartments Templova
Hotel Apartments Templova
#591 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis Excellent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis Excellent

Property: Metamorphis Excellent
Address: Tyn 10/644 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#198 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#223 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metamorphis Excellent 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metamorphis Excellent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Excellent Prague
Metamorphis Excellent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing