We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hostel Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Emma
Ranked #399 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights at Emma. Walking distance to major attractions, walking distance home after going out. Rooms were nice, the beds were a bit squeaky. The bath rooms were perfectly okay. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 883AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Other than having to climb four (4) high European floors without a lift to reach my room the hotel may be in the best location in Prague. The entire staff that worked the front desk spoke English, were friendly and very helpful from providing directions to nearby dining recommendations. It is a first rate front desk staff.

I had a private room with shared bath in a suite with other rooms. The suite was very clean, well maintained daily and had all the conveniences of home… refrigerator, microwave oven, ample and clean showers and plenty of hot water. The only thing missing, but not unexpected in a hostel was towels. Otherwise the Hostel Emma was a bargain and value.

Room Tip: I would inquire of your room assignment when booking unless you like climbing stairs for your daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a double room, clean although limited furniture... Wardrobe but no hangers, no bin and only one plug socket (the other was broken with an exposed wire!). Cracked window as well, which wasn't great.

Kitchen was okay, plenty of toilets however the showers were not great. All 3 had issues, in one the shower head had broken, meaning you had to hold it to shower! The others the water came out like a huge tap! 2 of the showers were also just separated by a curtain which wasn't brilliant as I was the only girl and there were loads of males around!

There's a 10 o clock rule in place where it's supposed to be 'quiet time' however no one paid attention to this, so it kind of seemed pointless having signs everywhere!

Overall an average hostel, a bit ran down but okay for the price I suppose!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chague93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Price is fantastical, location is superb. Rooms are poorly equiped, but for 5€/night we can't it is bad. Restroom is OK, nothing special. I was 2 in Emma and both times everything was ok. I had no bugs in my rooms, sheets were clean and fresh.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms in dislocated unit of the hostel:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matevž V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The only interesting things about this hostel were price and location. 15 minutes away from the centre and close to a tram station.

We were a group of twenty persons and we stayed for 6 nights. Fortunately, we didn’t spend much time in there. The kitchen/common room was not welcoming at all. Located in the basement with no window, it seemed really creepy.

The rooms were dirty. Add that to the fact that we were 8 in the same room and there was no bin in it, you'll understand how hard it is to keep the place fresh. We travelled in winter so we had many pairs of shoes that we had to keep in the room without being able to open the window properly, so it smelled like hell after only one day. The atmosphere was awful! It felt like the air was sticky and warm at the same time. However we were cold during the night because the blankets were SO SMALL! There was no room to put our stuffs; the bags didn’t fit under the bed so we had to put them on our beds if we wanted to be able to walk through the room. If you’re in a room with bunk beds make sure you don’t choose the lower bed because it felt like the upper bed could dismantle and crush you anytime. Moreover the mattresses were so thin it was not comfortable at all. Above all there were no bed lights and only one power socket for the entire room.

I’m not done yet. If you want to take a shower expect people to enter the room while you’re half naked! Indeed there isn’t any room to get dressed because the only two showers are located in front of the sinks, next to the toilets. Yes there is a little curtain that separates the toilet area from the shower area but it doesn’t change anything because people need to wash their hands in the shower area! Anyway, if you don’t know the person showering next to you, you’ll choose to get dressed right in the shower. But things are not that simple! Indeed there is no place to hang your towel or clothes nearby the shower so hire an assistant to bring you your stuffs or walk around naked looking for your underwear…

Finally, the staff wasn’t really nice. You have to ring the front door bell to enter the hostel and you feel like you’re disturbing them at the highest level. They’ll answer your questions showing the slightest interest and don’t expect a smile. I agree that was cheap but all those little things can make your stay complicated.

In summary, if you still choose this hostel despite all I said, make sure you bring a pillow, a sleeping bag, a power strip, a flashlight, some washing up liquid and don’t forget your patience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Extremely cheap, couldn't really expect more at that price. Upsides: Perfectly comfortable beds. Shower had good pressure although took a while to warm up. Most things seemed clean enough. Free WiFi in rooms. Brilliant location.

Downsides: Only one power socket in our five bed room, which was really inconvenient and meant my phone died on the train home. Also no bin in the room. Really thin walls, could hear people in the common room clearly. Kitchen had a few little flies floating around. In the bathroom the only place to hang your towel was away from the shower which was a bit awkward.

Overall, I'd say the downsides were very minor, especially considering how cheap it is. Perfectly serviceable accommodation if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Cheap accomadation for people who are not looking to spend time in their room whilst awake. Need to get bins in rooms. People on reception are okay but not really interested. But for the price you really cant complain.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Sokolska Youth Hostel
Sokolska Youth Hostel
#340 of 679 in Prague
107 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#38 of 679 in Prague
310 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Centre Prague
Hostel Centre Prague
#436 of 679 in Prague
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Hostel Fontana
Hostel Fontana
#440 of 679 in Prague
42 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 679 in Prague
401 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Funci Dancing 6 Apartment
Funci Dancing 6 Apartment
#150 of 363 in Prague
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Emma

Address: Na Zderaze 267/10, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £8 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Emma 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing