We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Divinis

Divinis
Ranked #64 of 5,367 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$64 - US$214
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Since 2008 the restaurant Divinis has been seeking to exceed the expectations of even the most demanding customers and understand that a truly memorable dining experience combines superb food, efficient service and comfortable, ambient surroundings made by Italian architect Luciano Belcapo/Evodecor. Our Chef Jan Kratochvil keeps the best tradition of Italian food with top ingredients and simple preparations. Daily specials are always on the peak of their freshness and are basically the freshest buys from morning market. The wine selection is primarily Italian with many very well known labels in wine industry. Open late each night, the restaurant is also perfect for post theatre dinner. The Estate theatre, State Opera, National theatre as well as other theatres are a short walk away.
Roydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We happened upon Divinis as we mooched around the Old Town Square district of Prague today. We were drawn in by the Specials advertised outside - Pea soup, and Penne with octopus. The food was truly delicious - beautifully presented and served. The desserts were first rate too. One of the best lunches I can ever remember having.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    109
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Average or even below”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

So many friends recommended me this restaurant so I could not resist trying it. The interior is very cozy and the restaurant seems to have a good atmosphere. But this is the best I can say about this restaurant. The food pretends to be Italian but the owner is a very famous Czech cook (Pohlreich) who cannot - or his team - cook authentic Italian food. If I compare the quality of food with my favourite La Finestra restaurant, this is average. Maybe a little below average. The food is edible but this is it, there is nothing special, no refined ingrediences and tastes which would explain the prices. The prices are extremly high for what there is to offer. Both me and my boyfriend decided not to come here anymore. Besides that - the services was absolutely below average and we had to wait for the food way too long. Sorry guys, this is not my cup of cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently enjoyed three days in Prague with another couple. We enjoy fine dining and turned to TripAdvisor for assistance in picking an Italian restaurant. We choose Divinis and were glad we did. The food was outstanding, cooked to perfection. The wine list has many excellent offerings. We choose two wonderful Italian wines. The ambiance was just what we were looking for. We were seated in an enclave with a table for four. This made for an intimate experience. The only thing better than the food, wines and ambiance was the service. The waitstaff anticipated our needs and maintained a leisurely yet timely pace. We hope to return to Divinis on future visits.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Great Italian...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice italian food, great service and atmosphere. A nice selection of Itaian wines, very risonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolllsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Italian food in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I had read about Divini's in Food and Wine magazine just prior to our arrival in Prague. It was straight on the money with a recommendation to visit. We stopped in for lunch and both had the bolognese gnocchi and a glass of wine. The atmosphere was relaxing and the service excellent from both our server and manager. I agree with the previous reviewer that you do indeed get what you pay for! Definitely worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Divinis also viewed

 

Been to Divinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing