We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine czech food and drink” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plzensky restaurant Andel

Plzensky restaurant Andel
Ranked #553 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Bar, European, Gastropub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Praha 5
Description: estaurant Anděl is a modern facility located in Prague's Smíchov quarter on Nádražní Street, near Anděl station. The interior of the restaurant covers three floors, all completely non-smoking since March 2014. The ground floor offers 20 tables that can accommodate more than 100 guests. Lovers of our Pilsner Urquell tank beer, which is renowned for its quality not only in Prague, can also take advantage of bar tables located around the main bar. There are 2 bowling alleys and seating for 50 other guests on the first basement floor. A cozy wine cellar that can seat other 40 guests is located on the lowest floor. The two underground floors are a very popular venue for social and corporate events. Up to 80 people can sit also in a modern winter garden in the ground floor. In nice weather guests can spend a high quality time in our inner courtyard for almost 200 people.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Genuine czech food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

had a very good meal our first evening the place was very busy, we got the last free table. the service was good, as was the food and drink. it was very reasonable and good size portions.
we went back a couple of times for drinks during our stay and would definately recommend it. It's real local bar.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank turkeytraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    140
    44
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pilsner Urquell, great food. Service not so much.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a nice summer spot with a garden, the food is always very good. The service is the only hit-or-miss, but worth putting up with due to the quality of food and beer.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bubba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't ask the waiter for a recommendation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The beer is superb, lately even the 'full measure' in your glass got better; this used to be an issue in the past. Too bad the waiters are not always professional. From one being so drunk to spill my beer to one responding to my question about his recommendation by first correcting my culinary terminology, then going on about how we never dined together so he could not possibly know my taste and blah, blah, blah... Too bad he told me nothing that I didn't know yet! The beer is surely great though, and so is the food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

One of my favourite restaurants in Prague, close to the city center (Andel Metro station). The menu went through a lot of changes recently and everything we have tried ever since was simply delicious! Kind and attentive service. And nice tank beer as well. The only thing I would not recommed to have there is pasta - otherwise I love the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anicka34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Czech Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Good Outdoor seating with wide variety of food options. Some of our favourites were Grilled Lamb, Chicken Goulash and Spinach Soup.

Con: Slow Service but definately worth waiting for.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexmeccti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plzensky restaurant Andel also viewed

 

Been to Plzensky restaurant Andel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing