We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great value”

Plzensky restaurant Andel
Ranked #575 of 5,370 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Bar, European, Gastropub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Praha 5
Description: estaurant Anděl is a modern facility located in Prague's Smíchov quarter on Nádražní Street, near Anděl station. The interior of the restaurant covers three floors, all completely non-smoking since March 2014. The ground floor offers 20 tables that can accommodate more than 100 guests. Lovers of our Pilsner Urquell tank beer, which is renowned for its quality not only in Prague, can also take advantage of bar tables located around the main bar. There are 2 bowling alleys and seating for 50 other guests on the first basement floor. A cozy wine cellar that can seat other 40 guests is located on the lowest floor. The two underground floors are a very popular venue for social and corporate events. Up to 80 people can sit also in a modern winter garden in the ground floor. In nice weather guests can spend a high quality time in our inner courtyard for almost 200 people.
Österreich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

this restaurant is right opposite the matro, with a charming terrace. i saw mostly locals there and the food was traditional czech dishes. the menu was availible in english and the waiters very helpful. the food was tasty and delicious!i was lucky somebody recommended this place to me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    142
    45
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Czech dishes on a cool yard terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Andel serves traditional meals with a good service and a smile. Some a rarely on menus. The dill soup is not a visual delight but tastes good. The beer cheese starter is strong and surprising. Main dishes are rich.

Helpful?
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“worth a visit,if only to compare local standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

through a kinda gate,large hostellry ,opp andel metro,serving what the czechs are best at.food and beer in convivial atmosphere.prices good,food better,atmosphere czech

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

To be honest we never had a bad meal in Prague but this restaurant was very near our hotel and opposite the Andel metro so we thought we would give it a try. Whilst the menu is not plentiful the choices are sufficient and the food was delicious. The place was very busy with lots of locals but we did not feel rushed and enjoyed the busy atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eton Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rehearsal Dinner Czech Style / predsvatebni vecere po cesku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We got married in Prague on Sat 31/05. The night before we have organized a rehearsal dinner for about 50 people in Plzensky Restaurant Andel, in their newly opened winter garden. We wanted to give our foreign guests a taste of a "czech culture" :-) And it was fantastic. I can't fault anything. Working with the restaurant manager Mr. Niznik, prior and at the event, was a pleasant experience, he was helpful, knowledgable and very fair in his approach.
On the day, we had a fantastic time, with a great food (grilled meats, specially plates), FABULOUS beer and even better service. Service with a smile, which can be sometimes hard to find in Prague. Loved it and can't wait to come back for bit more Pilsner.

V sobotu 31/05 jsme meli v Praze svabu. 30/05 jsme usporadali predsvatebni veceri v teto restauraci pro asi 50 lidi. Vse bylo perfektni od zacatku do konce. Spoluprace s panem Niznikem, manazerem restaurace byla velice prijemna. Byl napomocny, uprimny, poradil a hlavne byl fer. V dany vecer jsme se meli moc hezky, jidlo z grilu a ruzne misy byli vynikajici, panove z obsluhy se o nas moc krasne starali. A hlavne kolem nas behali s usmevem, coz bohuzel (jak nasi hoste z ciziny zjistili samotni) neni vzdy pravidlem.
Moc dekujeme a uz se tesime az prijedeme znovu a dame si vasi vybornou plzen a nejakou tu dobrotu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucieH154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plzensky restaurant Andel also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Plzensky restaurant Andel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing