We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt go there again”

Potrefena Husa Na Verandach
Ranked #120 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Praha 5
Description: Restaurant Potrefena husa Na Verandach is located right on the grounds of the Staropramen brewery in Prague. Enjoy the fantastic Czech cuisine and a range of 10 well-cared draught beers (tapped from tanks or barrels) and other bottled beer specialties in the modern surroundings of the restaurant.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wouldnt go there again”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went in a big group in the evening, and there was another big group already. For a restaurant that size, you would think that they are accustomed to big crowd. They were prompt in taking drinks order, but most of us were quite hungry at 8 ish, they did take a long time to take our food order. Long story short, they didnt keep count of how many appetizers to serve, they forgot one of the guys' main dish, that was well after 9pm.
Food wasnt good either, I had roasted salmon which was dry and very salty. While another guy ordered the same dish, also dry but no salt.
Wouldnt recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devillavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Na Verandach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Honestly last month we have changed some of the staff, and their are still in the training. Thank a lot for you experince will be very heplful to make our staff to be more accurated. I hope you will check yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    170
    55
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly local while in Prague”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We dropped in here for a beer just to get out the rain on our way back to the hotel one evening and had a great time. Staff were friendly and service was quick. The beer was nice and we tried out some cocktails which were very nice too. This was just a nice, friendly local pub which was always busy in the evening and had a great atmosphere - no doubt due to the warm welcome from the staff. We made it a regular stop off on our return most evenings and would definitely recommend it. Prices were great too - beers just over £1 and cocktails around £3.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Na Verandach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your visit and comment, we hope that you will visit our restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I visited this place because I got a free beer as part of the Staropramen brewery tour. It was pretty good, and priced ok. Not a bad place to stop for a meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Na Verandach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bad start well saved.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Last time I visited Prague I ate here and the experience was very good. This time it wasn't that good. The food still was very good, but the service wasn't. First I thought, I need a reservation for friday evening. So I made a reservation through e-mail. They replied and confirmed my reservation immediately.

When we got to the restaurant we had a male waiter. He was very inpatient and when our group wanted to know more about the beers, he didn't want to share any information. He didn't even know the alcohol % of the beers. When we didn't immediately know what we wanted to drink, just went away. Luckily the Wi-Fi worked well and we got to see all the information on their web pages.

When we got our drinks and food, they were very good on their taste. Also our waiter changed to a waitress, who treated our really good.

The level of service seems to be impaired generally in Prague, so this might be the reason of the change in Na Verandah too. And by the way there was quite a lot of space avaliable, so it may be so that other people have noticed this impaired service also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B737-800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Na Verandach, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank a lot for the comment, honestly at this time we are changing some of the staff, and they are still in the trainnig, we hope that the next visit we will be able to offer much more well train staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Traditional food and quick service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited Na Verandach on a Friday evening, without a prior reservation. We sat on the bar drinking our beers max 5 mins, and then got a table.

The food was what we expected, traditional and heavy :)
I really liked the slowly cooked lamb.

The service was quick and friendly, the waiter even spoke a few phrases in our mother tongue, Finnish.

By the way, there seems to be another review thread regarding this restaurant, "Staropramen brewery restaurant".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Na Verandach, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank a lot for the comment, we hope that you will have time, to visit our restaurant again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potrefena Husa Na Verandach also viewed

 

Been to Potrefena Husa Na Verandach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing