We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkada Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arkada Hotel Praha
Ranked #280 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Zurich, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed in Hotel Arkada for 5 nights. Room was clean ,beds comfortable. Hotel appeard to have been recently renovated and was in excellent condition. Some staff were fluent in English, others spoke limited English. All were willing to help and offer useful tips on costs for taxis, which can be a real scam in Prague. Breakfast offered several options which was mainly Czech fare. Hotel located in New Town on small quiet street- Balbinova, but a five minute walk to Wenceslaus Square. Nice location away from busy square.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimZurich_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    77
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
57
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

When I searched for an appropriate hotel to stay for my weekend trip to Prague, I explored all kinds of accommodation with the following criteria - a safe ,clean hotel close to the main railway station. Especially as wished to walk back and across from the train station, and not waste time/money on taxis -which I'm warned are unreliable in Prague.

Let me tell you that I found 3-star hotel options available on the internet for 20-30 euros ,inclusive of breakfast !! I was tempted , but gleaning through traveler experiences specifically for those hotels didn't appear very convincing - some had bed-bugs, and some were in not-so-clean...I finally settled for a Hotel Arkada ( a 4-star property about 0.7kms from the train station) for 45 euros (inclusive of breakfast) on the HRS website. Interestingly, on the day I booked , the website of the hotel had the same room available for 90 euros (double the price!!). I wish I could explain that , and so I quickly went ahead and booked the room.

The walk from the rail station upto the National Museum ( you can also take the metro in case if you have heavy luggage - its the first station ) is about 500 metres and the Arkada is tucked away in a quiet lane(Balbinova) behind the Museum and behind the Oracle building. Of course, you run the risk of getting distracted once you reach the Museum where the huge expanse of Wescenlas Square beckons- I struggled for some time getting the direction right.

Once I reached the hotel, it was just what I expected. A very clean ,small hotel with free wireless,TV and clean sheets and bathroom. Even the toiletries were quite adequate and nice. And, once you freshen up- it takes just 4 minutes to reach the Wescenlas Square and about 15 minutes of sauntering to the majestic Old Town Square. Its so near to where the action is in Prague, and yet its far from the noise in a nondescript quiet lane...

The breakfast was adequate with scrambled eggs, sausages, different kinds of bread, tea/coffee/milk, cornflakes, yoghurt, fruit etc.

Go for the Arkada- its just 10 minutes away from the Praha n.l.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anecdotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Near to the square, friendly staff, small hotel (about 30 rooms). Breakfast as expected, rolls, ham, cheese, small selection of cut fruit, eggs, bacon (cut up), sausage (cut into pieces), yoghurt and hot and cold drinks. One guy at breakfast appeared to be doing everything, so sometimes you had to wait for items to be replenished. Toiletries provided in the room. It was rather warm so we slept with the window open, but the street was noisy (for a quiet street) during the night and early in the morning, some of this was due to building work further down the street. Free Wifi, if you sat by the room door. Didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast. Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandNewtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

We have had a horrible experience with the Hotel Arkada. When we arrived on Thursday night 01st May they had no record of our reservation and had no double room available. After much searching for an alternative hotel, we had to sleep in a single room, I on a mattress on the floor. The following day the manager promised that he would have a double room for the remainder of our two nights.
However on returning to the hotel at 18:00 we were informed that in fact the manager had made a reservation for us in the Hotel Oya some 3 to 4 kilometres away. While the hotel did not charge for the first night and paid for the taxi to the new hotel we fell we have been poorly treated and misled by the manager. I believe that we were not the only people to be moved like this as the taxi driver indicated he had called to the hotel several times that day to transfer people to other hotels and it seems a policy of the hotel to overbook. I give the Hotel Arkada a very poor rating for handling reservations and customer service.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and modern
  • Disliked — Reservation lost, management overbooking
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NotDoneRoaming-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#164 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Praha 2
Ambiance Hotel
Ambiance Hotel
#163 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#192 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#105 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#125 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Praha 2
Deminka Palace
Deminka Palace
#179 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkada Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkada Hotel Praha

Property: Arkada Hotel Praha
Address: Balbinova 496/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arkada Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location approx 250 metres from Wenceslas Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Arkada Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing