We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in Prague”
Review of U Patrona

U Patrona
Ranked #1,185 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$8 - US$45
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Level Contributor
168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First night in Prague”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

after arriving in Prague just after 8.00pm we found this excellent restaurant just 5 mins walk from the hotel.Both food and service where excellent , we both had beef broth for starter followed by pork with dumplings ,spinach and washed down with a couple of excellent beers . We shared a crepe with fruit and cream just being greedy !!well done U patrona a wonderful first night experience in Prague

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    101
    51
    32
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
217 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Czech Meal near Charles Bridge”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After along day of sightseeing, we chose to eat on our way back to our hotel. Servers were freindly and helpful. It was fairly late and there was only one other table dining outside.

We sat outside by a large heater and had traditional Czech cuisine. We enjoyed local drinks! A beer and Hot Wine!

For starters we shared a green salad with tomatoes, cucumbers and a pesto dressing. The main course we shared the Czech Platter. The platter was duck, a sausage, pork fillet, red cabbage, sauerkraut and dumpling. everything was very good.

Perk: They also had English Menus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaronning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, Great ambiance and Great service!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is real nice little quaint restaurant just of the Charles Bridge. The waiter was very friendly and professional. The food is very tasty and the atmosphere is very relaxed. We were sitting downstairs. There is also an upstairs but I don't know how it is there. Good, quiet place with great food

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic place to eat, relax and dine in style”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Thank you for hosting us in such a wonderful environment. Tremendous fare, great casual sophistication and warm reception. All well worth the money spent and would return anytime I am in Prague.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kearyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were attracted to this restaurant by several things, it was close to our hotel on the night we arrived, the welcome by the staff was warm and friendly and the contrast between this and other places around. The restaurant is tucked away in a side street just off the lesser town end of the Charles Bridge (go down the slope opposite the little shop with the prague ladies, pass the plastic sheeted drinks area on the left and the restaurant is behind this, also on the left painted green). The menu is typical of most Czech restaurants, between us we sampled goulash, schnitzel, beef and one of our group had 2 starter dishes of cheese and sausage. All were lovely and accompanied by beer and wine of good quality. The service was attentive but unobtrusive. We were a group of 5 and an empty small restaurant was fine for us, another group came in before we left and the atmosphere was good. If we had only been 2, it may have been a little quiet. This definitely deserves to be higher up the rankings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seymour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Patrona also viewed

 

Been to U Patrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing