We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost on the Charles Bridge”
Review of U Patrona

U Patrona
Ranked #1,500 of 5,542 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$8 - US$47
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bierges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost on the Charles Bridge”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is most probably the best cuisine so close to the Charles bridge. Good food, no surprise and honest price based on the location!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VAR-205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    105
    57
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Messina, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“VIAGGIO A PRAGA”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The best duck ever eaten in Praga.Cooked really well without a nasty typical taste of the fried foods from usual restaurants !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giusi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Attractive Outdoor Dining”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

your definitely paying for the scenery when dining outside here. The tables were nicely decorated. I think this place is better suited for dining as a couple. It was raining and cold on the night I dined here but the outdoor area is covered and has heaters (I was not fortunate enough to get a seat near the heater) The waitress was nice but service is a minimum, but I found that all restaurants in Prague, the staff was not very attentive and you have to wait forever for the check. I decided to try a traditional Czech dish and ordered the Svickova na smetane s karlovarskym knedlikem ("Traditional filet of beef, in creamy sauce with fine dumplings") 286 krowns (about $13+ USD. The dish had a nice presentation but the amount of beef that came with the dish was very disappointing. It had a very small, thin slice of overcooked beef.The "dumplings" are just 4 large slices of very doughy bread. The menu lists the price of the items with and without the service charge, this makes no sense because you can't choose not to have the service charge added. I believe that with the service charge included, this reduces the quality of service you get from the wait staff. I might have had a better meal if I had gone for something more familiar, such as a pasta dish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammybeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great Meal excellent service”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This family owned restaurant is close to the Charles Bridge so it's easy to find. It's tucked into a little street and is quiet. Offering beautifully presented meals and a menu of tempting treats we were so glad to find it. The son of the owner was wiling to offer suggestions, he was not pushy but helpful. Thee were four people dining, we all loved our meals and I especially enjoyed the apple strudel. The selection of music playing in the background is lovely. The restaurant was well patronised which is a good sign.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“U Patrona”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pleasant place. Very good service, good food, good price. We liked! It was cold, but they had a fire to warm us up, and blankets. The waiter noticed I was shivering, and he brought me a blanket even though I haven't asked. The pasta was great, and they stayed open after almost all the other were already closed. Undoubtedly a good thing for later costumers like us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Patrona also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Patrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing