We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hostel with good facilities”
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly hostel with good facilities”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here with a friend whilst visiting Prague for a few days. The hostel is in a great location only a couple of minutes walk from the nearest metro station and about 5 mins walk from the old town square.

We had booked a private twin room but got given a room for 4 just for the two of us as the hostel was very quiet. We didn't need the extra space, but it was nice to have. The bathroom was really big and had a heated towel rail (very unexpected in a hostel). We found the room to be really clean also.

The staff on the reception desk were all very friendly and each evening the hostel runs an activity organised by Kristian, who deserves a lot of praise and is a great ambassador for both the hostel and for the city of Prague. The night time tour he did was a great highlight for me, as it was nice to see Prague in the dark and when the streets were not full of (other) tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    238
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
111
352
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. the room was clean and the showers were spotless . The location was perfect and the staff were very help full. it is also very close to the metro station I will be back again when i staying in Prague..

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire,UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Great location for sight seeing and to the underground. Room was basic but clean and comfy. The staff were helpful and the hostel had everything you might need including free Internet. Would definitely stay here again. Brilliant for anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hostel has a very nice vibe of what you would expect an eastern-european hostel to be. It's very close to the metro station Narodni Trida (like 2 min walking). I stayed in a 5 people bedroom with friends and had a very pleasant stay. It will take you like 15 min to walk to the main plaza in the center of the city and the same to get to the main bridge.

HUGE bonus: Right next to the hostel there is a pizza shop that is actually quite cheap and an amazing option to get breakfast.

Highly recommended, very safe and with a lobby that provides a nice get-to-know atmosphere with backpackers.

Great staff

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights in the female only dorm. Being my first solo travel hostel i was a bit apprehensive but this hostel turned out to be fantastic. Staff were great, the other travellers were great, it was nice and quiet at night so you could sleep. The kitchen facilities are awesome and is always kept clean, laundry is cheap and beds are comfortable. The only downside was when i took the stairs at night to the third level (the elevator was in construction), halfway up the lights would turn off and i'd be walking in practically pitch black. The bathroom also doesn't have a bench to out your things but thats ok. There is not a power point to each bed so it's a first come first serve. There were 3 power points to 8 beds.

Location was excellent and really close to everything including a mini mart just downstairs and a tesco right down the road

I really felt at home towards the end and was really sad to leave. What i loved most was that they organise activities every night so if you're a solo traveller it really helps!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie555k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My 2 adult kids and I stayed in a 5 bed room with private bathroom on the 4th floor. We were aware of the lift being out of order at the time of booking but when we arrived we were then informed that the kitchen area was also under construction and there was no means of self catering, adding unexpected costs to our stay.
In addition to the hostels construction, there is also works going on over the road that started between 6.30 - 7.30 every morning.
Overall I was a bit disappointed (but I'm sure it will be good when everything is finished)

However the hostel is in a good central location, easy to get to bars, shops, attractions etc. Everything is walkable from here. Free wifi, clean and basic rooms. They will store your luggage for you, before and/or after you check in/out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My friends and I stayed in a 3 bdroom w/private bathroom for 3 nights.

Pros: Good central location, easy to get to bars, shops, attractions, right off the main road. Everything is walkable from here. Helpful staff, free daily guided tours. You get to know the other hostel travellers quickly. Very strong (free) wifi connection. Clean and basic rooms. They will store your luggage for you, even after you check out.

Cons: Construction was going on the week we stayed-- VERY noisy, especially during the early mornings and throughout the day. Elevators were out of service, kitchen and common room were closed. Shower water varied between tepid to warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,973 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,672 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 650 in Prague
731 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#7 of 650 in Prague
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing