We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel on the planet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel on the planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved it! Had a GIANT private room with its own bathroom. Upon arriving late in the day, hot tired, confused, we were ushered into a giant meal (Czech cooking demonstration!) with a big group of travelers. After a splendid meal, the group moved to a jazz club, a short walk from the hostel.
The staff are enthusiastic and treated us with Love! Downtown Hostel was one of the highlights of our trip, would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Private room with a private bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    231
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
107
336
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staying in Downtown was the best decision to make. Its in the heart of the city. No need to look for taxi or tram to visit the historical places. Nice restaurants pubs within walikng distance. Walking tour with Gil Conti was the best part. Got every single deatail about the history and culture of Prague from him. Excellent trip so far.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there!

You can go everywhere by foot, the staff is very thoughtful!

The hostel has activities all days, not only the mainstream tourist places.

We enjoyed the pub crawl suggested by them too...

Room Tip: There are ensuites that has the bathroom outside the room, but they are private and only can be acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I love this hostel its really fun to be there with all the staff very helpful.They do very nice activities very clean and tidy . nearby wherever you what go it was my 2nd time and I will stay there again when I go back thanks for Brent Davey ,Bára Tvrzová and all the staff there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatem2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with bathroom- very clean and spacious. Staff friendly & helpful. Had to pay a deposit for the towel (around 10 euros) but got that back at the end & was no problem. Breakfast was cheap & plentiful. Great location about 10 minutes walk from the Old Town Square. Lift was a bit slow & we stayed on the 6th floor but apart from that would definitely recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sophb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hostel Downtown in Prague was the first hostel that set the precedent for what we wanted to experience in a hostel throughout Europe. Every staff member was welcoming, inclusive, and went out of their way to help you with any of your travel needs. The organized daily activities were an excellent addition. Czech lessons with Pavlina were not only helpful, but they were fun and a great way to meet others - she did an amazing job at providing a comfortable atmosphere to try and learn a new language. Barbara is the beautiful receptionist who will help you plan your daily travels throughout Prague, and will greet you with a warm smile and a big hello every time you return to the Hostel (and she might even go out for a beer with you, if you are lucky). Brent, a long term guest, and quasi-employee(?), organizes some mighty fine dinners, where everyone helps cook and has a great time. Brent is also not afraid to take you out and show you an excellent night on the town, and is genuinely one of the nicest dudes I've ever met. Sarah is also another sweetheart behind the desk who will help you plan your travels! While these are the only people I can remember by name, the ENTIRE staff were amazing from the moment we got there , until the moment we left - and we ended up extending our stay 2 extra nights, largely because we were having such a good time at the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathonBarraball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Hostel is fantastic – great central location, very clean, large rooms, modern decoration, large and well equipped kitchen for guests.

But, there is also something very special about Hostel Downtown that is difficult to pinpoint. The friendly atmosphere created by the staff breeds a great spirit of community that makes it unique out of the dozens of hostels I have stayed in throughout Europe on my trip.

The organised events run by Miric are especially memorable for me. His incredibly warm and generous character rubs off on everyone in his company. Miric’s cooking sessions were a chance to meet other people staying at the hostel. On our first night at the hostel my friend and I had got in late from a long day of exploring and made our way down to the kitchen to prepare our tea. But, instead, we were given a seat at the dining table and invited to share their meal. We ate, after a quick tootle on the trumpet from Miric, and shared stories with the fascinating characters staying with us.

Later that evening we accompanied Miric to a Jazz bar down the road and had a brilliant night that we will never forget. Then, the next morning, we went on one of Miric’s tours up to the castle. We discovered far more about Prague than you could from any travel book, and felt like real locals as we were welcomed by Miric’s friends and even given a special tune from a busker on Charles Bridge.

Prague is beautiful, but my visit was enhanced ten-fold by staying at Hostel Downtown. A true home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#98 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing