We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel, make's you wana come back”
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hostel, make's you wana come back”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is very good, you are very near the main station and from the center. Also talking about the facilities of the hostel, the kitchen is big and they serve an abundant breakfast for 3 euro. Is a good place to meat new people it has a very nice comon place. Finally something to highlight is they perform free tours and events. We did some, and the stuff is very nice, they know very good the city and they are very interactive with the people. If you go i recomend Mirek and his dog, since he gave us the tours and we hace a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrado S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    237
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
111
346
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very accommodating and clean! The wifi is excellent in my experience. Every evening they have a very cheap activity to do with the guests. The first night we cooked an authentic Czech meal with one of the tour guides. It was very good and there was plenty to eat! Who doesn't love a delicious and free meal! The next night we were taken to go ice skating which was very cheap and fun. We made some new friends at dinner who were also staying at hostel downtown. There was also a free tour to see the city. The tour guide was very helpful. They will tell you ANYTHING you want to know. Don't be afraid to ask! The hostel itself was very nice-- they put a lot of love into this place. Very hipster looking in the lounge area. You can get a towel with a deposit of 1 euro. My only complaint is that the elevator is the slowest. A small complaint. Also location! A VERY short walk from Charles bridge and only 20 minute walk from the castle! A wonderful place to stay! Don't stay anywhere else!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hostel was in great condition and the staff were really helpful. The kitchen seemed brand new and there was enough room for many people to cook at the same time. They also had lots of free events. We had great cooking sessions with Pavlína and Gil held great puppet show and walking tour around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The staff were helpful and courteous. Gil was very entertaining. Maybe due to the weather, some problems cropped up. One was that the weather was crazy hot and you would have to open the windows because there was no fans or aircon. Insects kept coming in (probably due to weather) so you'd wake up with little things on you. Second was that you'd hear everything that anything did outside, such as bickering couples or echoes of feet moving up and down the stairs

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aihcharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hostel was good. Clean bathrooms, lockers, big kitchen. The staff were friendly and the people that stayed there were nice. Highlights were the walking tour with Gil ( very informative and entertaining) and his marionette show was funny. Veery creative and a good cultural experience. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerogrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very friendly, very clean, affordable hostel in a great location, right in the city centre so it was easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Free walking tours are arranged which are an absolute must for sightseeing. All the staff were so welcoming and helpful, and free activities are arranged in the common room area like a cooking lesson. Lots of other travellers, met some great people there. Overall one of the best hostels we stayed in!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hostel Downtown is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. When I stayed in Prague I stayed at the Hostel Downtown. I chose it based on the very high rating it has on Hostel World and TripAdvisor. A rating it certainly deserves.

-The Basics:
Hostel Downtown is successful on all the usual points. It is clean and well maintained. Kitchen facilities are modern, although perhaps too modern. It was quite entertaining watching people trying (and failing) to figure out the touch activated stoves. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were bright and airy. There was a nice lounge with a piano.

The Breakfast:
Wow. I've done more than my fair share of hosteling since I got to Europe. I think about 4 months of the last 18 were in Hostels. Hostel breakfast is always the same. Coffee, tea, bread, cold cuts, cheese, sliced veggies, maybe some yogourt and cereal or muesli (granola) if you are lucky. Not at Hostel Downtown. Sure they have the usual stuff. But they also have pancakes, fried eggs, and sausages. Wonderful. I only missed breakfast once, and probably put on a few pounds from all the eggs and sausages I ate.

The Staff:
My first impression of the staff was during check in. Friday night, about 8:30pm. It was busy, and had likely been busy for awhile. Both Karel and Marki were still going strong and very friendly and welcoming. This impression never changed in the two weeks I was there. The front desk staff were always eager to help with anything. On the night I had to check out because the hostel was full, they were still very accommodating. They let me leave some things in a locker downstairs and said that if I got rained out they might be able to find a cot for me. I was highly impressed that nobody seemed to have a bad day and all the staff seemed to work well together. It seemed like the type of place I would like to work.

The Events:
The events were what really made the hostel. Guided tours, beer tastings, Czech lessons, cooking nights. There were events almost every day, sometimes more than one event. All of them were really fun and a great way to meet people.
- Lindsey:
Lindsey lead the Saturday night beer tasting at the hostel. A great social event with a selection of beers, bread and cheeses to snack on. Lindsey was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. More importantly she has good taste because we have the same favourite beer, Kozel Cerne.
- Pavlina:
Pavlina is energetic if nothing else. She lead several cooking nights, and a Czech lesson for guests. Always with tonnes of enthusiasm. Her Czech lesson was lots of fun, made even better by letting us choose some of the words and phrases we wanted to learn. Her cooking nights were always a hive of activity. I admit that the first few I might have shown up after all the work was done so I could eat and socialize without the effort. Sorry Pavlina. But later when I joined in the cooking, Pavlina was excellent divvying up jobs so everybody had something to do.
- Mirek:
There are two ways to describe how cool Mirek is. First, I hate guided tours and had to be peer pressured to go on this castle walk the hostel was offering. But after that I peer pressured others to go on Mirek's tours because he is great. Second, he is almost as good of a guide as Cody, one of the best in the Business. Mirek seems to know everything there is to know about Prague, including the coolest historical facts, and the best places to hang out. More importantly he knows how to share this information in a fun way. And I still remember the story of St. John of Nepomuk.

The Atmosphere:
Hostel Downtown has a great and friendly atmosphere. It is welcoming and meeting people is easy. I found fun people to spend time with constantly just by hanging around.

Thanks Hostel Downtown for a great time. Jakub, Karel, Marki, Sara, Adam, Bara, Lindsey, Pavlina, Mirek and anybody who's name I forgot, you guys are great, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricGMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#89 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing