We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #4 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hostel has a great location just a short walk from the nightlife, the tourist attractions and the shops. It is immaculately clean with exceptionally friendly staff. Our room was big with an ensuite shower. By far enough facilities for people which meant never having to queue for a shower. They are really great advising you on what to do and how to get there. Only criticism is that we had 11 beds in our room but not enough lockers for people so that meant I couldn't lock up my possessions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 655AliceB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    238
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
111
352
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

first of all, very well situated - 5 mins walk from the Charles Bridge and the old town square.

facilities were clean - even though we shared bathroom they were always very well kept. wifi was excellent (I streamed a whole game of football without any problems) and the staff were both friendly and informative.

we were asked to change rooms an the new room was considerably worse and only compensation was a breakfast voucher.

good value for what you get though and seemed very safe.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great time at this hostel, friendly staff, no short-comings in regards of what one expects from a hostel.

The hostel has many nice activities, and together with the reception area, it's a good opportunity to meet other travellers and locals. Mirek's ghost (it was about old legends in prague) tour was very interesting and competent, and it ended in a real czech pub with a very nice atmosphere and live music :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is very good, you are very near the main station and from the center. Also talking about the facilities of the hostel, the kitchen is big and they serve an abundant breakfast for 3 euro. Is a good place to meat new people it has a very nice comon place. Finally something to highlight is they perform free tours and events. We did some, and the stuff is very nice, they know very good the city and they are very interactive with the people. If you go i recomend Mirek and his dog, since he gave us the tours and we hace a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrado S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very accommodating and clean! The wifi is excellent in my experience. Every evening they have a very cheap activity to do with the guests. The first night we cooked an authentic Czech meal with one of the tour guides. It was very good and there was plenty to eat! Who doesn't love a delicious and free meal! The next night we were taken to go ice skating which was very cheap and fun. We made some new friends at dinner who were also staying at hostel downtown. There was also a free tour to see the city. The tour guide was very helpful. They will tell you ANYTHING you want to know. Don't be afraid to ask! The hostel itself was very nice-- they put a lot of love into this place. Very hipster looking in the lounge area. You can get a towel with a deposit of 1 euro. My only complaint is that the elevator is the slowest. A small complaint. Also location! A VERY short walk from Charles bridge and only 20 minute walk from the castle! A wonderful place to stay! Don't stay anywhere else!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hostel was in great condition and the staff were really helpful. The kitchen seemed brand new and there was enough room for many people to cook at the same time. They also had lots of free events. We had great cooking sessions with Pavlína and Gil held great puppet show and walking tour around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The staff were helpful and courteous. Gil was very entertaining. Maybe due to the weather, some problems cropped up. One was that the weather was crazy hot and you would have to open the windows because there was no fans or aircon. Insects kept coming in (probably due to weather) so you'd wake up with little things on you. Second was that you'd hear everything that anything did outside, such as bickering couples or echoes of feet moving up and down the stairs

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aihcharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,969 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 650 in Prague
730 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#7 of 650 in Prague
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing