We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly, but noisy!”
Review of Hostel Marabou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostel Marabou
Ranked #350 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, but noisy!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hostel is not really in the centre, it took about 20-25 minutes to walk to the centre. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel though. It had a really nice atmosphere, was clean and the staff were friendly. It was pretty expensive for what it was too. This is a lively hostel and full of party people, we stayed in a 16 bed dorm where we hardly got any sleep, so this is not a great place is you want a good nights sleep! Also there is no air-con and the rooms were so ridiculously hot, but it was really hot in Prague while we were there so that can't really be helped.The rooms were nicely decorated and the showers and toilets were all clean. There is a kitchen where you can cook your own food, and breakfast is also included in the price - Cereal, bread, yoghurt and tea and coffee. There is wi-fi but it was so slow and didn't work in the rooms!

Lovely hostel just a bit far out and pretty noisey!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    36
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
18
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel! It was clean, provided breakfast and had a games room. The facilities provided were excellent, so we could watch our budget and just eat in, and there are plenty of convenience stores nearby!
It's a bit of a walk from all the tourist attractions, but once we found some shortcuts, it was much easier to access! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want somewhere comfy and are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

After one night stay, we found a condom next to our bed with hair and dust everywhere. The place smells of dust, you can't play pool properly as the table is too close to two walls. After confronting the staff about the condom and hair, they proceeded to say we placed the condom there. We are two straight girls, so how does that happen???
It is in a boring location surrounded by people who cannot understand nor speak the slightest of English. I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed in the Marabou Hostel for 2 Nights at the end of april with 3 Friends.
We got a very nice private 4-bed room for a very cheap price. the Staff was very nice and helped us with everything - Parking, recommendations, Money change etc.
The Atmosphere is great in the Hoste. It was very calm and comfortable. Breakfast is included and also very nice, and the prices for beer and drinks are good.
The location is a 20 Minutes walk from the old city but for us it was better that way. We saw a lot of local Places and not only the touristic places in the Old city. also there is a Tram that is going to the old city very close to the hostel.
I can't really say anything bad about this place. It was really perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Double room=two single beds pulled together and so hard I had bruises at the end of the week (no mattress).
In EVERY flyer inside the hostel and on the website it says "Stay 7 nights, get one for free", NOT TRUE.
Staff was unorganized and unaware of almost anything we asked for (i.e. "Free beer at arrival" NOT TRUE).
We were on the first floor and there was ONLY ONE SHOWER FOR EVERYONE and just two toilets.
I'm glad at least wifi and breakfast were included in the price.
I travel a lot and this is so far one of the most disappointing hostel I've ever been to. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaBeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very good place to stay, nicely decorated, clean rooms, comfortable beds, very good prices. Close to the city center, by walking it took me 15 minutes and there is also a bus stop 10 meters from the hostel. They also have very good czech beer. Breakfast was perfect, fresh bread, nutella, cereals with yoghurt, etc. I also appreciate fast internet for free (wi-fi). Staff was realy friendly and helpful. The only negative thing i can think of is the music was sometimes too loud. But i just asked the staff to turn down the volume a bit every time and they had no problem with that.
It's a great place to stay, i can recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvEvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Good:
- design
- comfy beds
- good breakfast
- friendly hosts
Location - depends on what your preferences are; it takes around 30 minutes and a bus trip to get to the tourist attractions.
Bad:
- all the room doors have security locks with key kards. As for me, they don't make sence, especially when it's 14 persons dorm, you still put all valuables in the locker with a separate padlock but you have to remember stupid card when you pop out into the bathroom in the middle of the night. But the second problem is bigger. The locks are LOUD. They make electronic sound when the card engages, and then loudly the handle is turned and then the door shuts with a BANG. Even if the person tries to hold the door it doesn't help much but most people son't even try. I was sleeping close to the door, and I heard not only our lock and door but every other door in the hallway beeping and banging every minute because there are 10 to 14 people in each who go out and around the hostel all time. Result: didn't get an hour of sleep.
- the hosts don't hush people during the supposed 'quite hours'. They let them chat aloud and yell and have loud music in the lounge. If you want to get a night sleep you won't.
- also, no local lights over the beds so you always need to switch on the top lights, and no reading in the bed unless you do it from your pad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#55 of 650 in Prague
78 reviews
Praha 3
Brix Hostel
Brix Hostel
#25 of 650 in Prague
67 reviews
Praha 3
Clown and Bard
Clown and Bard
#87 of 650 in Prague
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#29 of 650 in Prague
172 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Rosemary Hostel
Rosemary Hostel
#72 of 650 in Prague
203 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
ARTHARMONY Pension & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marabou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marabou

Property: Hostel Marabou
Address: Konevova 55, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Marabou 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Marabou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing