We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, no other words to describe!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Marabou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Marabou
Ranked #346 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible, no other words to describe!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Thank god this was just the last night of our trip.
The hostel looks really nice on the website and on the photos... In reality it is not.
The idea itself is really nice but there needs to be done more than a lot to make it happen.
The lounge room in the basement is terrible.
It is so humid that it stinks extremely badly.
All the computers were broken.
Free wifi was the slowest wifi I have had since years.
Staff seemed uninterested, distant and cold.
You do not get an official receipt of your payment, just a small paper with a stamp with some different company name.
Our room was dirty and was not cleaned before our stay.
The bed was full with different hairs and the floor was really dirty.
We have booked a room with garden view but actually there is no garden.
It is just the view of the park beside the hostel.
Both of us have woken up often in the night due to loud guests and loud staff.
Not recommended for light sleepers!
So what was nice? Free coffee and the kitchen.
When we asked staff what the breakfast did include he could not give a clear answer besides "uuuuh cornflakes uuuuh uuuuuh" and looked stoned.
The toilet was dirty and next morning it was not cleaned either.
We checked out as early as possible.
This hostel is a joke.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bicycleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
1
17
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

After arriving at the hostel we were welcomed by a friendly greeting and gave us some great ideas of where to go and how to get DT.
We stayted there for 4 nights mainly becuse the price was unbeatable! I regret staying in a bedroom with 16 people though becuase one guy literally snored alll night every night so i slept with headphones in my ears which wasnt allll that comfortable.
They also told us there is this big giant gold horse behind the hostel so we went to check it out. they failed to mention that you are pretty much on the top of the city and can see the whole city up there. Truly an amazing view and made Prague our favorite city we visited.
Love the cheap beer the hostel offers.. not the best but you cant complain when its like 27 czech ( 1.10? canadian) amazing!

The only downside ( which i never expereinced) was their basement its SO muggy and they allow people to smoke down there which is just gross and disappointing. All the games are down there but they need to buy a dehumidfiyer

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

During our Interrail tour, we booked a double room in this hostel. On arrival, we got upgraded to an ensuite room. Didn't have a free beer though. The room was clean, even though the toilet paper in the bathroom had some traces of dubtful colour. Apart from that, the room is very quiet and big. The hostel has a pub, the beer was cheap, but had a very big head. Breakfast is free. The basement consist in the social area of the hostel. We met lively people from all over the world, which provided us with good fun.
The staff was helpful, when we asked for a place to eat in the area.
On the minus side, the hostel is quite far away from the city centre (a good 40-minute walk). Apart from that, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbanBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Me and a friend stayed for four nights at hostel marabou and had very few complaints. Not a place for families (bunk beds are the order of the day) but very friendly and chilled. All the rooms were clean, there were plenty of bathrooms/showers and the reception staff were very helpful (I think the guy was called Erwin?). Also, the reception sells REALLY CHEAP beer. Smoking area downstairs is a bit of a dungeon but, in my opinion, a hostel with a smoking area, kitchen, and a bar can't be all that bad.
A bit of a walk from the centre of the town but there are regular buses or take a taxi if you are willing to haggle. The location also meant that it was really quiet.
We stayed in one of the dorms and the price was pretty good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hostel is not really in the centre, it took about 20-25 minutes to walk to the centre. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel though. It had a really nice atmosphere, was clean and the staff were friendly. It was pretty expensive for what it was too. This is a lively hostel and full of party people, we stayed in a 16 bed dorm where we hardly got any sleep, so this is not a great place is you want a good nights sleep! Also there is no air-con and the rooms were so ridiculously hot, but it was really hot in Prague while we were there so that can't really be helped.The rooms were nicely decorated and the showers and toilets were all clean. There is a kitchen where you can cook your own food, and breakfast is also included in the price - Cereal, bread, yoghurt and tea and coffee. There is wi-fi but it was so slow and didn't work in the rooms!

Lovely hostel just a bit far out and pretty noisey!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel! It was clean, provided breakfast and had a games room. The facilities provided were excellent, so we could watch our budget and just eat in, and there are plenty of convenience stores nearby!
It's a bit of a walk from all the tourist attractions, but once we found some shortcuts, it was much easier to access! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want somewhere comfy and are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

After one night stay, we found a condom next to our bed with hair and dust everywhere. The place smells of dust, you can't play pool properly as the table is too close to two walls. After confronting the staff about the condom and hair, they proceeded to say we placed the condom there. We are two straight girls, so how does that happen???
It is in a boring location surrounded by people who cannot understand nor speak the slightest of English. I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Hostel Seven
Hostel Seven
#271 of 662 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#50 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Praha 3
Brix Hostel
Brix Hostel
#24 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#8 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel One Home
Hostel One Home
#11 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marabou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marabou

Property: Hostel Marabou
Address: Konevova 55, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Marabou 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Marabou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing