We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good place to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of U Cisaru

U Cisaru
Ranked #3,724 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good place to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I would not recommend eating here, even although it is recommended on some official Prague sites.
We walked some distance to get to it and the walk was lovely as this part of Prague is well worth a visit. But don't go in here.
Three reasons:
1 The waiting staff are very miserable and give the impression that they'd rather you hadn't entered.
2 The food is quite expensive. We ate in the Cafe Imperial at a slightly greater price but with infinitly better food.
3 The food. It is advertised as traditional local fare and while the menu looks ok the food is very basic and badly cooked, maybe turned sour by the attitude of the waiting staff. Some of the meat is so saltyl it is almost un edible and generally poor. Also the wine is terrible.
You have been warned!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    25
    15
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic venison!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stopped here for lunch while touring the Loreta - Castle area, but discovered their inside (dinner) menu included venison, and couldn't resist: the venison pâté was fine, but the saddle of venison in a wine sauce was spectacular - I'm a fan of venison and this may have been the best I ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bergwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We ended up here as it was close to our hotel. I had the goulash which had plenty of flavor. My hubs had the risotto which was cooked to perfection. The desserts are divine! Service was quick enough. The restaurant itself is very pretty....very Czech and quite cozy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceMoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't get in!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We had a lovley walk in the castle area and it has just started raining so we have decided to get in this place to have a beer and maybe some snack as well. The waiters were really unfriendly, we didn't see the menu (they asked if we would like some beer in the moment we entered). 2 small beers costed 120 czk witch i think is equal to robbery.
All in all: in my opinion the place looks nice from the outside, but its a huge mistake to get inside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveL0vrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner overlooking Prague Castle on a balmy spring evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great service, lovely food, good wine and great value considering it is a stone's throw from the castle gates. Highly recommended escpecially if the weather is nice enough to sit out on the terrace!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Cisaru also viewed

 

Been to U Cisaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing