We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...I really liked it!”

Restaurant Bellavista
Ranked #2,894 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Well...I really liked it!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved the view, absolutely loved the traditional duck dish - it was way too big a portion for me but delicious. The waiting staff were neither rude or friendly - just did their job without any fuss.I would go back again - no reason not to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    151
    106
    71
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Seduced by the view”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

There are several restaurants around the site of the Strahov monastery which is situated on a hill above Prague. Bellavista attracted us because of the great view below to the city.
Bellavista is a large restaurant with most tables situated along a narrow terrace, but others are inside the main building. The welcome was rather haphazard and lacking either in warmth or efficiency. A decent table secured we ordered drinks, one of which, 10 minutes later, turned out to be unavailable. The replacement was then forgotten for a further 10 minutes. This sort of casual, unfocused and slightly arrogant service continued throughout the meal. Food was ordered but only arrived after a 45 minute wait. Service generally in Prague is slow but this was the worst.
When it arrived the food was quite good. Duck with sour cabbage and dumplings was tasty and well cooked. Belly of pork was very generous in quantity and of good quality although the accompanying haricot beans were undercooked and bullet like. All rather disappointing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were on a private tour, and our guide had suggested Bellavista for the view. We didn't order anything fancy in the way of food (excellent American-style hamburgers and pommes frites), but the view of Prague was simply incomparable at lunch. I can only imagine what it would be with the city lit up at night.

As others have written, the staff is friendly, multi-lingual, and very eager to serve. We'd definitely return on our next trip to Prague.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for the view, stay for the Duck”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved the local duck dishes and cold beer. Good Service (thanks Jiri) and a great place to stop for a rest before heading back down the main hill past the Castle.(it worth the extra climb to the Monastry here). The view is worth just stopping for a cake and coffee if you dont have time to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DRandFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed an excellent meal overlooking Prague city as the sun was setting. It is a beautiful spot with a great range of food. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was reasonably priced. I would highly recommend it to those who were visiting Prague.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EllenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Bellavista also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing