We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good value”
Review of Govinda

Govinda
Ranked #1,690 of 5,535 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and good value”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We ate here after a trip to Prague castle - we asked for the menu and then sat down. Our drinks came and just as we thought they had forgotten our menu - a plate of food arrived!!! I think there was a communication problem with the languages!!!
The food was basic but edible and was very good value - it was good for lunch but I wouldn't have liked it as an evening meal. The food was served on a metal tray so it went cold quite quickly.
The buffet was unlimited so if you were hungry (as we were) it was a good feed.
Good value - friend;y staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weemistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

In prague there are few krshna veg rest. I am sure, that this one are the worst. staff unfriendly, food prepared without real interest (extremelly big pieces of vegetables-awfull) For example-govinda in Nerudova or in Palmovka are perfect and always tasty-but Soukenická........

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent vegetarian Indian food served at this Hare Krishna restaurant. They shut at 6pm, get there at 5.30pm and get a 25% discount on your meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johny_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Veggie Food”
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

I don't think any vegetarian who is traveling can complain about Govindas, it's great wholesome tasty food at a great price. It is so nice to get a veggie meal that is not pizza or pasta - not much else I can say really :-)

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian alternative”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

It's in the centre, cheap, tasty and vegetarian. I sometimes have problem with some dishes, which I find too oily or too sweat. You have to choose wisely (and/or be lucky:)
I don't like the metal dishes and cups (I can smell the metal from it everytime I drink. Normal ceramic dishes would be ecologic as well, better looking and better "tasting").

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank articok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Govinda also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Govinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing