We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location.”

U Maltezskych Rytiru
Ranked #1,079 of 5,543 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Description: U Maltézských Rytířů (At Knights of Malta)U Maltézských Rytířů restaurant located on Prokopská Street in Malá Strana District is one of the most attractive restaurants in Prague with well-preserved medieval atmosphere. The restaurant is located in an ancient house, a real architectural monument, first references to which are dated 14th century.Inside one will find stone walls, arches and, what is most important, medieval spirit. It is impossible to imagine how many events these walls have seen, that is why a dinner there is an opportunity to get in touch with the centuries-old history of Prague.Besides, U Maltézských Rytířů restaurant with its numerous saloons occupying two floors and traditional Czech dishes in the menu, will meet all your expectations.
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and location.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was the only restaurant in Prague we really wanted to return to and we actually did! Both times the food was very tasty (we tried goulash, duck and trout), I especially enjoyed hot bread the waitress served at the beginning and she also helped me to put out bones from the fish with a special knife, which was very nice. We also tried Czech dark beer there, it was tasty. The owner of this place is a very friendly man from Ukraine, we talked with him while waiting for our food to be cooked, he even showed us a picture of his wife, it was sweet.:) The prices in this place are average. This restaurant is located near the Charles Bridge and is a great choice if you found yourself hungry in Mala Strana.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisafromSiberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    66
    24
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good, but not specially impressive.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Main eating halls of the restaurant are downstairs, in the cellar. That is why it was rather cold there - the temperature was not comfortable at all to have a long, nice, relaxing dinner. The decor is very minimalistic. The food was good, just good. Nothing was for free - we were given bread at the beginning of our dinner. After we finished I found its price in the bill! Ridiculous! The starters were tasty, but not generous. The main dishes - fried carp and baked half a duck were decent, but I had an impression all the way that every piece and every gram of that food was counted and we got exactly that amount that was mentioned in the menu. Definitely not more, probably a little bit less.
The owners are Russian/Ukrainian. They care about the level of service and are very friendly and nice, but even more they seem to care about the profit. So the portions are not at all generous. The beer seemed to be diluted. The coffee was TERRIBLE! Do not order coffee in this restaurant - it is a waste of money. The prices were OK. 9 USD for the salad, 9,5 USD for my carp with potatoes, 12,5 USD for the duck. Together with alcohol and coffee we paid c. 60 USD.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobkowiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Traditional Czech cuisine. Had a very nice duck in berries sauce and pancakes for desert. They deliver what they promise, in Prague, generally be advised of the heavy czech food. In this restaurant, I experienced very, very nice service. Try this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Dinner”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

italian music of 60, but good food. Duck very good. Carp also good. Good goulash
Acceptable salmon. Very tasty dark beer....
..........

Helpful?
Thank cla11111
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just off Karmelitska in Mala Strana was this cute little restaurant that we just happened to find! It was not on my well researched restaurant list but it SHOULD have been there!! We sat at a table on the street level but enjoyed going downstairs to see the atmospheric cellar where there were other tables. We were only there for lunch but judging by the quality of the food we would definitely recommend trying them for dinner in the evening also!!
I had fresh mushroom soup and my friend had the garlic soup. The bread and soup + a lovely vegetable salad were delicious and freshly made!
We drank a lovely crisp white wine to round off the meal.
The staff was pleasant and helpful!
it is nice to see folks trying hard to please their customers and succeeding so well! we hope more folks find this little treasure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Maltezskych Rytiru also viewed

 

Been to U Maltezskych Rytiru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing