We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended if you do not want luxury”
Review of Vlkova Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vlkova Palace
Ranked #39 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We arrived late on Friday at Prague Airport and were picked up by a taxi driver as prearranged with the reception. After a quick ride (read rollercoaster ride) we reached the apartment and were greeted by a clean space, well equipped kitchen and beds for five in two rooms. Some light snacks and coffee for the espresso machine were sitting on the table together with some info materials about Prague. The reception is not staffed on weekends but everything was arranged with the cab driver.
The apartment was reasonably clean including bedrooms and bathrooms. It appeared recently renovated (maybe a year or two ago) and wear and tear was not yet showing much. It is five minutes to the tram (buy day tickets at the airport - the machines only take coins!) und about half an hour to the city center. The area appears run-down but we felt very safe there (group of five girls). People in the neighborhood were friendly.
Overall, I rate this as a budget accomodation, perfect for a group intent on having fun in Prague. It is not the perfect accomodation for a romantic get-away.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank _AndreaXB_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Found from previous tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed.
Well cared for apartments, clean and light with good ammenities (including a very welcome coffee machine).
It is a 10min walk from the bus station (mostly uphill), an easy 20mins walk to town, and also easily accessible by tram.
We were 3 girls traveling together and found the area seemed safe and full of locals; there was also a number of handy food stores surrounding vlkova.

Also! If you are staying here I'd recommend 'cafe palvac' a few streets away. Just lovely, and attached to an art space with delicious well presented food. The area is actually quite nice to walk around -a couple antique shops and retro clothing stores etc

I'd recommend this place as a good base which is slightly out of the centre. Oh one downside, it's up a bit of a hill from the main road.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teapartytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We arrived late in Prague and were met at the airport by a taxi driver, as arranged by the Vlkova, with a board with our name on as soon as we got out of the arrivals hall. It was worth every penny as we were whisked to the appartments in no time at all. The appartment we stayed in was clean, well equipped (even washing up liquid, a cloth and tea towel) with plenty of space. There is a small supermarket opposite selling everything that you need. It was a 30 min walk into the centre, with the option of taking the tram. The staff, Klara and Simone, were very helpful. We thought that this appartment was great value for money and would recommend it to others travelling to Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Excellent. Well placed, half an hour's walk or a 10 minute tram ride from the Old Town. Lovely apartment which was very clean and bright and well equipped. It was very laid back and everyone was very helpful. When our free coffee ran out, they cheerfully gave us more free coffee. Where else could you get this for thirty Euros a night for two (or three - there was an extra bed) people. The only criticism is that it wasn't clear from the website that the reception is closed after 7.00 pm and you must book their taxi from the airport if you're going to arrive after this time so the taxi driver can give you keys etc. However since the taxi was only 25 Euros (cheaper than grabbing one outside) and its nice to be met off the plane by someone waving a plaque with your name on it, we thought this was a bonus when we understood what was happening. Next time I'm in Prague I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed in one of the apartments at Vikova Residence. The price was very reasonable and the apartment was much bigger than we expected. Everything was clean, with plenty of towels and some toiletries, sugar, coffee, etc. The apartment had a kitchen with all the crockery and cutlery we could need and the shower was very good.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us maps and information about local transport, etc. It took us about 10 minutes to walk into the main train station and about 5 more to get to the old town where most of the tourist sights are located so we never needed to use the tram, bus or metro, but they were close by as an easy way to get to the airport (or into town if you unable to walk). The street was nice and quiet with food shops, restaurants and bars on the street and nearby. We had quite a good view from our window at the rear of the building and there is a nice park right next to the hotel if you want a break from the city. The walk back to the hotel does include a steep climb (the hotel is on a hill) but it only took us 2 minutes of struggling to get to the top - good exercise!
Overall a great place to stay - we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 2 at the back of the hotel and had a great view - pretty quiet considering it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We didn't even get to stay at this hotel! Vlova palace. together with booking.com messed up our reservation and charged us for a stay that never happened. We were actually staying at a different apartment duing our stay in Prague. The worst part of it was the communication trying to sort it our with them when I received an email stating that I had been charged for a 4 day stay because I did not show up on the first day of the bookign which, according to them and booking.com, had not been cancelled. What would I want two apartments in Prague over the same dates? Reception at Vlokova palace were pretty rude and refused to help, stating the they were fully booked and that they could not help me in any way and prompted me to contact booking.com. By the way, I checked their website on that day and they had rooms available...they weren't fully booked. Based on our experience, do not stay at this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Quijanotango,

We thanks for your review even if you didn t stay in our building.

We would like to explain to all our readers. You reserved an apartment in our residence 5 months ago. We sent 2 emails before your arrival reminding about date of arrival and to ask if you need our shuttle service. You never responded us.

The day of check-in we waited your arrival until the 1am (in the night), without success.
You confirmed reservation with special offer non-refundable, prepaid (discounted by 40%) through an intermediary Web site. After few days you contacted us saying that the reservation had been canceled several months ago, we immediately contacted the agency to verify and there appeared nothing of this.

Arrogantly insisted you want a refund for a prepaid reservation charged 5 months before and although you are never arrived at our hotel.

After explaining that we could not do much we informed that we kept free your room and we could extend the stay for free (not accepted) so we told you to contact the agency where you booked because they have a 24-hour callcentre in every language.

Obviously you have never canceled your booking and agency didn´t help as we did (with our alternative proposals).

Regarding the fully booked days, our Residence was fully booked in the first two days (weekend), you verified our availability 3 days later when some rooms was already free.

We are sure that our customers or future customers will understand that his case is unique and above all the problem is due solely to you and that we helped with our availability in our proposals and alternative solutions (rejected roughly)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The appartments are very modern, clean, and spacious. There is a tram stop just a 5 minute walk from the appartment, and from there it's a 10 minute journey in to the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and overall we had a brilliant holiday. Would recommend to everyone, and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#113 of 646 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#151 of 646 in Prague
3,114 reviews
Praha 7
Comfortable Prague Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Royal Prague City Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague House
Old Prague House
#36 of 702 in Prague
139 reviews
Praha 2
Royal Court Apartments
Royal Court Apartments
#6 of 702 in Prague
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vlkova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vlkova Palace

Address: Vlkova 602/25, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vlkova Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 800-1000 metres from Prague's Republic Square (400m from Prague 1), Vlkova Residence offers bright, colourful apartments with dining areas, satellite TV and bathrooms. Sheets, towels, toiletries and a coffee machine for espresso, cappuccino and tea are provided among other amenities.Vlkova Residence is within easy walking distance to Namesti Republiky (Republic Square). There are numerous restaurants and bars in the vicinity. International cuisine as well as Czech specialities can be sampled there.Airport shuttle and car rentals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vlkova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vlkova Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing