We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cafe”
Review of Absinthe Time

Absinthe Time
Ranked #753 of 5,543 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good cafe”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Working long time after 12pm. Very good absinthe and other drinks. Nice place for seat cold autumn evenings. )))

Helpful?
Thank Shtorman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    47
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chill lounge, great for first time absinthe drinkers”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a great place to try absinthe for the first time! It's a very relaxed atmosphere with an extremely helpful staff who are willing to talk you through the different kinds of absinthe and the different ways to enjoy it. We did the typical French style where they drip water over a sugar cube into the absinthe to cut down on the natural bitterness. These drinks are STRONG, but if you like licorice, you'll be quite happy. I'm not the biggest fan of that flavor, so the waitress recommended a few varieties that were a bit lighter on the licorice flavor (still too much for my taste but palatable). While we didn't feel any of the effects of the thujone, it was a great place to sit, have a few drinks and chat. Four drinks ended up costing us about 750kc which is about $35, so I'd say expensive for Prague, but relatively on par with what you'd find in the U.S. getting shots of 151.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Just One Drink ... Or Else”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Made from wormwood that eventually produces a 60-70% alcohol content, I think you have to already have hair on your chest if you are going to take a liking to "Absinthe".

One cool place to sample it is at The Absinthe Shop. However, I think if you have more than one drink you will end up like one previous customer, all sticks and bones.

Not afraid to try about any beer especially when it is less than about US$2, I order up the beer special and look forward to my first taste.

Had I not known any better, I would have sworn that someone just gave me “Maximum Strength NyQuil” with a large shot of Jagermeister thrown in.

However, my son ordered the “Red Bull” cocktail and liked it. Since I am now not a fan of either one, I past even trying another taste of wormwood even if Red Bull just gave it some “Wings”.

For sure, this is an acquired taste that has been enjoyed by some brilliant people like Van Gogh, Oscar Wilde and Hemingway.

I guess I will just never be that brilliant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, various forms of Absinthe”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Nice layout, many niches with tables, the typical Absinthe interior with prints and accessories. Helpful staff, helps do choose from the big selection of drinks/styles and prepares the drink at the table. Reasonable prices, low key music. A charming place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spusella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely an experience!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you're interested in knowing more about absinthe an how to choose the right one for your tastes than this is the place to go.

The server was very knowledgable and recommended ones he thought we would like. My partner and I chose to have shots served hot aka set on fire, it was fantastic. Like other people have said, it's good for a drink or two but it isn't overly cheap (because its good quality)so I wouldn't plan on spending your whole night there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeseyPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absinthe Time also viewed

 

Been to Absinthe Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing