We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Road
Ranked #86 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Best location but rooms are very poor..double bed are too small for two people.bathroom is renoveted as also the room but it is very basic,no tv,no mirror!location is perfect to see the town.you can find all you can find and need just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graziola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    59
    23
    4
    12
See reviews for
40
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Among it's advantages are it's location, and the friendlines of stuff! The room was quite big and it's kitchen fully equiped.
But there are so many disadvantages!
Acces to your room: A different buinding than the main one in Karlova 20, but very close to it. There is the appartment that they call their "best" one.
You need to unlock four doors so as to get to your room. There is complete absence of light in the halls leading to your room. (You have to unlock three of the doors in the dark and climb up two sets of stairs in the dark).
No aircondition, not sufficient covering of the room's windows by the curtains, no telephone in there and of course no toiletries (soap and stuff) in the bathroom. Lack of sufficient towels, which weren't even changed during our whole staying! Not enough hot water, bad smell in the bathroom, insufficient lighting of the room. Too much noise from the restaurants downstairs (they were chaining their chairs). The elevator leading to the tiny breakfast room was almost always occupied by the cleaning lady. Breakfast was also dissapointing, not a big variety and if they were busy they would n't refresh it frequently.
I payed way to much to stay in that lame buinding!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this nice hotel. Main advantage of this place is it's excellent location, in between the old town square and the Charles bridge. Though this also means that there is street noice. However we stayed at the upper floor of the hotel and with windows closed there was almost no noice anymore. The room is very big, we had one seperate two bed, bedroom and the third person had to sleep on the couch, but it was very comfortable. Breakfast is moderate with choice of bread, fruit, cereals, juices, yoghurt, fresh fruit and cake. We left early on our departure date and they brought us the breakfast the evening cause breakfast only starts at 08.30-09.00.Staff is also very friendly but couldn't answer to all our questions.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay it and would come here again a next time!

Room Tip: We had flat 6E, nice room on the highest floor with nice view on the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s0169005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were four and we had two rooms. They were very clean, new and big. Too big! Bedroom and sitting room with kitchen will be perfect for four people.
Location can not be better.
We had just one problem. Our flight was at midnight and we asked to leave our luggages after check-out. We came around 22 and there was nobody in reception. We called few times and after 20 minutes somebody came but we were already very stressed .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aagaa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed at the Royal Road Residence whilst on my stag do with some friends in June 2012. After reading some reviews we were all a little concerned but after checking in and being shown to our apartment (through a gift shop) we were all very pleased. Our apartment consisted of three bedrooms - one private double room, an attic room with two singles, and two double sofa beds in the living room. The apartment also had a fully equipped kitchen, dining table and a modern bathroom. The apartment was very clean inside and all bedding and towels were provided - outside however was not as clean as there were builders working on the adjacent flat. This didn't impact our group too much but may bother others. The main building offered breakfast and Wi-Fi but we did not try either.

Karlova is a great place to stay as there is plenty pubs, restaurant, takeaways and shops to visit and the advantage of the apartment being behind the tourist shop is that there is very little noise. All in all this was the perfect accommodation for our trip, although I would be reluctant to recommend it for families with young children as gaining access was sometimes difficult due to poorly lit walkways, stairwells and courtyards. We also thought there was very little information given to us at check in - like how to get in after the gift shop was closed! - But again, it didn’t detract from the overall experience.

You get what you pay for and we were all more than happy to stay here and if we return on another stag trip to Prague we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Apartment 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glamond87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We found bedbugs the first night of our stay at the Royal Road Residence. We saw the bugs and received bites. We were able to trap a couple of the bugs, and brought them to the staff as soon as they arrived in the morning. The staff was very understanding, and did not charge us for the night and refunded our deposit. They seemed surprised by the bugs, but their presence is undeniable, so be aware.

Room Tip: Choose another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sah415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was somewhat worried about staying here, in part because of some of the reviews, and in part because I was traveling with three daughters (and one of their boyfriends), and our apartment only had one bathroom. I was worried about a logjam at shower time. In the end, it all worked out fine. The space was generous, with two bedrooms and a huge living room and nice sized kitchen area. We could really "set up base" here for our 4 days in Prague--leaving our stuff on the tables, charging our electronics, storing our food and beverages, etc. The location was simply outstanding, a short walk from old town square, the Jewish quarter, and the Charles Bridge. It meant we didn't have to take cabs or public transport to most of our destinations. The breakfasts were modest, entirely repetitive, and somewhat lacking in variety, so that wasn't great, but it was a good way to get some food in our systems before lunch time. The view out our windows on the fourth floor was very impressive, and it was nice keeping our windows open day and night (until a heat wave warmed things up a bit too much--the place is not air conditioned, so in the heat of the summer, that could be a big problem when compared with traditional hotels). The elevator is small, so only a few can travel together on it, particularly if anyone has luggage. But for value and location, it's an excellent choice.

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views of Prague roof lines, and more distance from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#187 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#96 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#286 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Karlova
Pension Karlova
#62 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Road

Property: Royal Road
Address: Kaprova 20/3, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Road 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you can enjoy fantastic view to the hundred towers and spires of Prague, specially from one side Old Town Square view and Prague Castle view from the other side. Each of the apartments includes equipped living room, which is furnished in very modern and pure style. Part of the living room is a fully equipped kitchenette with stove, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, electric pot, dishes. All the apartments are supplied with satellite TV, air-condition and free WiFi. Each from the five comfortable apartments has its private bathroom with tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Royal Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Road Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing