We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent five star hotel near Municipal House Hall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Mark Prague
Ranked #40 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague is a top-notch hotel, quiet in a very convenient location close to the Municipal House Hall. Kempinski management is absolute discrete, efficient and friendly. Can also recommend the Francouzska Restaurace at Namesti Republiky 5 for a special dining experience just around the corner from the Kempinski.

Room Tip: Request deluxe room it is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhubarbmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest

thank you very much for your entry of your experience at our hotel here on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of the minimal extra cost to upgrade your visit to a Grand Deluxe Room. You are right in saying that it substantially adds to the value of your stay with just a minimal cost.

Our proximity to most of the touristic sights of Stare Mesto are for sure an added value at no extra cost and makes your time in Prague even more enjoyable and efficient at the same time.

We hope that we will see you one day in the future back again at our hotel. Please let me know personally if I can be of any assistance than. Until we see you again back here at the Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague, I remain,

with best personal regards

Peter Knoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Mark Prague
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were favorably disposed when upgraded to a suite. Plenty of room, a separate lounge and a separate bathroom as expected. Good quality furnishings, modern restaurant, good breakfast and a great outdoor BBQ. Great location two minutes walk from the city square. The problem was with the plumbing. Often the toilet cistern would not turn off. But more annoyingly I had to tie the shower head spray up with a towel to hold it in position, and to start the shower I needed a bottle opener (supplied with the mini bar) to pry the lever up to transfer the water from the bath to shower head. The fix-it man also had problems and suggested we continue to use the bottle opener. Similar problems getting the TV to transfer to english language stations-not simple. At breakfast we were subject to trainees many of whom did not understand english let alone speak it. Not so at the evening meal

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest,

we appreciate very much that you took the effort to enter a review here on tripadvisor on your most recent stay with us.

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed the extra space which we provided with the upgrade of your room, which allows for plenty of extra space in the separate living room area with small kitchen corner.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you had problems with the shower, which our engineering department is reviewing to make sure that all of the faucets are in good working order again.

Also the fact that the trainees did not speak enough English we regret very much, but we are trying to give some possibilities for them to experience whilst studying, but we do understand that they are not as affluent than our regular staff, on which you have commented favorably.

Very happy that you did enjoy your stay overall and it would be my pleasure to assist you with any future bookings you may have. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, so I can ensure that the best room allocation and attention will be given to your reservation.

In the hope to hear from you one day in the future, I remain,

with best personal regards

Peter Knoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Kempinski during our first visit to Prague, and it was certainly a treat. We found the hotel though one of those flash-sale luxury travel sites, and were not disappointed. We booked a Grand Deluxe room, and I thought we had been upgraded to a suite, as it was huge with entryway and coat closet, bar area, living area, bedroom with step-in closet, and an expansive luxury bath. But apparently that was the Grand Deluxe, and a suite is just somewhat larger but just as plush. The hotel was obviously only recently built (2-3 years ago?), as the room looked almost new, with all the true luxury touches (heated bathroom floor, lighted mirror, rainshower, big tub, stylish furniture and light fixtures). Breakfast was included in our booking, which was a rather extensive cold bar (meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, many types of breads, yogurt, fruit, granola/cereals) plus made-to-order egg dishes and waffles. Other pluses included free internet (as it should be) and water bottles at turndown service.
As for location, it was just a block from Powder Tower (a convenient landmark) at the border between New and Old Towns, and basically a block or so from multiple handy places: the big Palladium mall with 200 stores (which can be handy), at least 2 supermarkets for food items, a daily market in the square, the train station, a handy Subway sandwich shop (if you're tiring of the heavier Czech fare), and one of the Kolkovna pub/restaurants if you do want to try the hearty Czech fare.
Maybe the only minor minuses were that the shower soap holder had been damaged and pulled out of the shower wall a bit (needing repair), some annoying knocking/dripping noises when (I think) the bathroom vent fan and A/C fan were both on (eventually went away), and trainees in the restaurant who did not get orders correct (likely a language issue, but could have been caught by clearly repeating the orders back to make sure they got them right).
But overall, it was a wonderful hotel with a truly luxurious room ("suite") in a very good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you first of all for your detailed review of your stay in our hotel, which is highly appreciated.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that the students were not up to standard when you were coming to breakfast, as we just had the new semester starting in early September and due to this, most of them still had their training being done.

Very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay overall and that we could contribute to the success with an upgrade to one of our Grand Deluxe Rooms. We always try to accommodate guest in this category when the house status allows and we glad that on your stay it did work out.

If you ever plan to visit back to Prague, please feel free to contact me, so I can assist you with your future bookings personally. In anticipation of hearing from you one day in the future, I remain,

with best personal regards

Peter Knoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I just got back from prague where i took my wife to a surprise coldplay concert. she was over the moon. i knew kempinsky and i stayed at their abu dhabi gigantic emirates palace. let me give you a list of my grievances:
1) the size of the room i have booked, a superior room, was shockingly tiny. now, nobody forced me but being two we truly had troubles moving around;

2) mid afternoon saturday we took two showers and all hell broke loose. we totally flooded the bathroom and i had to call the concierge to save us from drowning (!!). a czeck staff handy man came and sorted the problem rather quickly.;

3) prices of minibar are nuts;

4)breakfast was ok but when asked to seat wherever i wanted i chose a table and straight away been told 'no, not that one. it's set for lunch'. i mean...daaaa. i now know that breakfast tables are set on efor bf and one for lunch. if you don't have an MIT degree you might not get it!

5) the night of the concert, sunday night, asked the concierge to call us a taxi. got told 'not a chance due to extra demand'. a bellboy helped us outside trying to hail one but to no avail. then we realised there is a train station next to the hotel and two taxis where parked there. usually, in any 5 stars in the world, the bellboy would have done a quick run and went to fetch it. no, not in prague . we had to run ourselves. thank you very much;

5) czech behaviour. i don't know what it is but rarely i have seen grumpier people. it could possibly be a language/cultural barrier but smiling is not in their dna. staff at breakfats where extremely brisk and borderline rude, even if i have to admit they made things happen rather well. lots of trainees which is never a good thing I(guess they have to be trained though somehow). taxi drivers, waiters, passer-by, they all looked at us like we were from mars. now, my wife is black and she Hates that...

positive points:

1) free wifi, to be renewed daily. not the best speed but ok;

2) very helpful bellboy at arrival. took care of suitcase and shown us room very nicely. bravo;

3) pretty outside patio where we relaxed drinking orange juices;

4) very quiet room. something we always ask and here we got it;

5) extremely well located for central sight-seeing;

6) cleaning staff very nice and polite.

all in all a positive stay. i honestly have to admit i am terribly bored with old europe and dying to see more of the world. will i go back? no. i don't think so.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to rooms above superior if more than two. we were in 311, third floor. very quiet but...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your entry here at tripadvisor, which is highly appreciated.

Your comments about the service, especially the shortcomings on some of the staff, have been seriously discussed with the department heads to improve the situation for the future and I would like to apologize for this inconvenience caused. The taxi issue has been addressed as well, whilst it is not possible to have a taxi rank in front of the hotel, we do have a hot-line for the service and it is understandable why you were not assisted properly when you inquired about one car.

About the shower, we are aware of this problem and have found a solution which we are installing in the next few weeks, so this should resolve the overall situation with our deign-glass-doors.

Unfortunately I have to agree with you that for a longer stay our superior rooms are rather small, but the good news is that we only have a total of 12 of those rooms and whenever we have the possibility, we try to upgrade couples which are staying longer into our next category, the Grand Deluxe Room, which is equivalent of a Junior Suite. As a matter of fact, the best way for the future is to book this category in advance, as the difference is minimal to the superior room and will give you almost double the space.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back one day in the future, so that we can show you some of the other rooms of our hotel. If you do plan to travel back to Prague, do not hesitate to contact me personally, I would be more than happy to assist you with your booking. As I noticed from your comments, you do not plan to visit the 'Old Europe', however, if you ever do change your mind, we are here to make your next stay more comfortable.

In the hope to meet with you one day in the future, I remain,

with best personal regards.

Peter Knoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We've stayed in the hotel for a weekend visit in Prague and we were amazed by the quality of the service and the beauty of the rooms. Overall it was above our expectations. The hotel is at the beginning of the old town, near the powder tower, and so all the major historical places and attractions are at walking distance.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Giannimargutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your time taken to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to read your compliments about the quality or service and comfort of our rooms, which are one of the best ones in Prague.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel has a restaurant in its garden called: Le Grill. The ambience is superb at night with the trees and lights. The service is out of this world and nothing is too much trouble. The food, though delicious is a little on the small portion size. prices above average for Prague but normal for London. Strongly recommended for a romantic dinner in superb settings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WTaylorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your great experience with us. Our Garden Restaurant is truly a jewel with delicious meals offered.

Our superb location close to all main attractions is an added value for sure.

Thank you for your stay and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a central location (easy walking distance to all the main sites) with first class service. We stayed in a deluxe double room - it was a good size, modern and contained everything you need. There is a beautiful garden and great bar for relaxation after a long day.
Free wi-fi throughout the whole hotel with very friendly, excellent service by all staff. And to top it off, one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your time to enter your review of our services at the Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read about your lovely stay with us and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,144 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mark Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mark Prague

Address: Hybernska 1002/12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Mark Luxury Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#34 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#37 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £179 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mark Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mark Hotel is situated within a stunning Neo-Classical building, just a few minutes' walk from the Old Town Square. With its 75 large and beautifully appointed rooms, many of them suites, the hotel offers timeless elegance with tasteful contemporary features, furnishings and fittings. To complete the feeling of luxury, the majority of the guestrooms feature a separate bedroom and spacious living area including fitted kitchenette. The Le Grill Restaurant, Two Steps Bar and the hotel's unique private garden with its baroque fountain, offer central Prague's best possible setting for you to relax, enjoy great food and celebrate your special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Mark Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hybernska Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing