We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury as expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Mark Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Mark Prague
Ranked #38 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury as expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at Kempinski Prague for 2 nights from Friday till Sunday, we have booked a Standard room and got an upgrade to a nice Duplex room where we had our bedroom and bathroom on a second floor and living room on the first floor. Room is nicely furnitured, have huge windows and nice garden view. Concierge team (and Reception outside concierge working hours) was extremly helpful with making reservations for us and sometimes changing booking time when we requested. I want to pass my sincere thank to Libor who suggested great place for outing and dinner. I had a birthday during my stay and got a lovely cake, once again thanks for your attention!!!
A couple of drawbacks:
-when making a booking I emailed hotel first and asked if any travel industry rate were available as I am working in the travel industry and got a reply that they were "fully booked" and was offered a crazy rate of 539 Euro per room per night, than I just searched on-line and booked a room via 3rd party for 300 Euro for 2 nights!...which is 150 euro a night including breakfast....so just don't waste your time making direct bookingand do your wise search
-breakfast is being served in quite a small restaurant and is very busy in "rush hours"...on my birthday we were waiting more than 20 minutes to be seated... however I understand they are aware and do a small juice station in lobby for those who are waiting to be sitted which is nice touch
Overall I have had a positive experience except of reservation procedure where they reject direct booking and force you to book via 3rd parties.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to our Grand Deluxe room, which has made your stay more enjoyable.

Your positive comments about our staff, have been passed onto them and will help in motivating them to continue with the great service they are providing.

In regards to your comments to travel agent rates. As we are a small property and have quite hight occupancy all year round, we do offer special rates such as travel agent rates during some periods only.

As the dates, you have been interested in, fell into a full occupancy period, the travel agent rates were unavailable and you have been offered our best available rate at that time.
These rates change daily based on occupancy level, whilst travel agent rates and 3rd party webistes are less flexible with rate change, given the rate structure.

Whilst it might have been cheaper on this occasion to book with 3rd party website, we do not intend to discourage guests from booking with us directly.

Thank you for your understanding,
Sincerely

Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    146
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
181
537
32
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kempinski for our honeymoon in November 2012 and it was everything we could have hoped for. The staff are all super-professional, from the doormen who always race to open any door you approach to the personable concierge and restaurant staff.
The décor and facilities are high quality without having that slightly cold and overly fancy feel you sometimes get in high-end establishments. Our room was spacious and luxurious with everything we could possibly have wanted, including a view of the castle from the balcony over the rooftops of neighbouring buildings. The bed itself (probably the most important aspect of a hotel room) was incredible - my wife and I agreed it was like sleeping on a cloud, it was that good! The bathroom was very nicely fitted out, the bath itself deep and luxurious.
Location-wise the Hotel is ideal. Just round the corner from the Metro at Namesti-Republiky (and a large shopping centre if that floats your boat) and only a 5-10 minute walk to both Wenceslas Square and the Old Town Square (Astronomical Clock etc...).
We were made to feel really special while staying at Kempinski Prague; we had flower petals spread in a heart shape on our bed when we arrived and a complimentary cake delivered later that evening. Lovely touches.
The hotel restaurant, Le Grill is well worth a visit, we had two meals there and both were exceptional. And again, when the restaurant staff discovered it was our honeymoon, they were quick to congratulate us and give us a complimentary sweet to share, complete with a personalised message in chocolate sauce! Amazing. Can't recommend the restaurant highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwallace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers around the world.

It is our utmost pleasure to read that our staff along with our beautiful rooms have made your stay very pleasant.

It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

My partner and I arrived two days before our land tour with Insight Vacations started. Instead of staying at the designated hotel, we decided to book the first two nights at the Kempinski. It was a decision that we never regreted.

We arrived at the hotel in the late morning after a 18-hour flight. Despite asking for a early check-in request when we booked the room, we were not able to check in because of the full occupany. Nevertheless, the staff were very apologetic and told us to come back 2 hours later.

Time passed very fast in a beautiful city such as Prague, Before we know, two hours had passed. It was my partner's birthday and we were upgraded to suite (being a GHA member helps too).

We were so impressed with the room and started posting pictures on our Facebook pages, The feedback was quick too... "The suite is gorgeous", "So huge" were just some of the comments. The service was just as fast as well. Even before the porter could finish briefing us on the room, another staff came with a birthday cake and some Czech Republic beer and snacks. We could not help but to write favourable comments on our Facebook.

1. The room is huge!
There is a living area, a powder room, a coat closet, a small little kitchenette (with a nespresso coffee machine), a dining table, a huge bathroom , a walk-in closet and a resaonably big bedroom! But it's the details that impressed us. The bathroom floor is heated!!!! I've stayed in many European hotels (some luxury chains as well) but none has heated bathroom floor! Buut the surprise is they placed an adlut toy in one of the bathroom drawers! We find it rather funny though.

2. The food at Le Grill is EXCELLENT!
We had our first dinner in Prague in the hotel restaurant, Le Grill. The food was great and the prices were reasonable. And the restaurant staff remembered my partner's birthday and made him a birthday cake our from small bite-sized chocolates.

3. The breakfast spread is soooooooooo GOOD.
Basically, it's a a-la-carte buffet breakfast. They will serve you the main course of your choice (eggs, bacon, etc) and you help yourself to the wide selection of cold cuts, pastries, yogurt, juices, and greens. The only drawback is that breakfast is served at the Le Grill restaurant and when the hotel is at full occupany, you may have to wait for a table.

4. The staff are very friendly.
Till date, we are still talking about our driver/ porter, Thomas. And also, the front desk manager, Thea. They provided us with useful information of where to eat and what to do. They are always going out of their way to provide assistance. Well done.

The only regret was that we couldn't stay longer as we had to transfer to another hotel to join our tour. We will definitely stay at this hotel when we return to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QCInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such positive review about our property being it compliments about the suite, our breakfast or our staff.

We are very happy to read that you had a very memorable stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit inour hotel.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

The entrance to the Kempinski Hotel in Prague is not that impressive, but the smile on the welcoming bellman and the staff behind the front desk is quite impressive. And so was our entire stay from beginning to end. The restaurant proved to be as fine as any five-star restaurant, and the concierge staff was excellent. They were more than patient and helpful, willingly answering our myriads of questions.
As I mentioned, the lobby was small and unimpressive, and so when we entered our assigned room (which turned out to be a suite), I was literally "blown away". Beautifully designed and quite spacious with simple elegance, it felt like a home away from home.
The Kempinski Hotel is truly the perfect hotel experience and a wonderful place to stay while visiting a beautiful and historic city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBS630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that our welcoming staff has highly contributed to your perfect stay with us.
Our Le Grill restaurant is rated among the best restaurants in Prague and we are glad to hear that your experience can only confirm this.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is an absolutely beautifully accommodated hotel. The rooms are amazingly comfortable and big! The bathrooms come with heated floors, beautiful bath and shower as well as heated towel racks that are large enough to hang multiple bath towels.

The service is excellent and it appears the staff want to ensure your stay is memorable. The location couldn't be better in terms of shopping, sightseeing, and walking around the old town. The St. Charles is very close and just a short walk up to the Cathedral, etc.

Would highly recommend this grand hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in an Executive Suite and it was equipped with mini kitchen (stove, microwave and refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hi2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your complimeting review entered here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations and our staff made you feel most welcome. We are glad to read that you had the pleasure to stay at one of our beautiful Executive Suites.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in. I've travelled a fair bit and stayed in a lot of luxury hotels along the way. This hotel is beautifully decorated, well located and the staff were more than helpful. Nothing was too much hassle and staying at this hotel really made our break.

Absolutely stunning hotel and can't wait to return again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your complimenting entry here at tripadvisor about our hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations and you rank us among the best hotels you ever personally stayed. I took the liberty of sharing your news with my team and rest assured they are all very pleased about your words mentioned.

As you might be planning to come back to Prague, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, so I can assist you with future bookings. Until your return, a time when we may meet in person, I remain,

with best personal regards

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague is a top-notch hotel, quiet in a very convenient location close to the Municipal House Hall. Kempinski management is absolute discrete, efficient and friendly. Can also recommend the Francouzska Restaurace at Namesti Republiky 5 for a special dining experience just around the corner from the Kempinski.

Room Tip: Request deluxe room it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarbmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest

thank you very much for your entry of your experience at our hotel here on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of the minimal extra cost to upgrade your visit to a Grand Deluxe Room. You are right in saying that it substantially adds to the value of your stay with just a minimal cost.

Our proximity to most of the touristic sights of Stare Mesto are for sure an added value at no extra cost and makes your time in Prague even more enjoyable and efficient at the same time.

We hope that we will see you one day in the future back again at our hotel. Please let me know personally if I can be of any assistance than. Until we see you again back here at the Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague, I remain,

with best personal regards

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mark Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mark Prague

Property: The Grand Mark Prague
Address: Hybernska 1002/12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Mark Luxury Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#34 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#34 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mark Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mark Hotel is situated within a stunning Neo-Classical building, just a few minutes' walk from the Old Town Square. With its 75 large and beautifully appointed rooms, many of them suites, the hotel offers timeless elegance with tasteful contemporary features, furnishings and fittings. To complete the feeling of luxury, the majority of the guestrooms feature a separate bedroom and spacious living area including fitted kitchenette. The Le Grill Restaurant, Two Steps Bar and the hotel's unique private garden with its baroque fountain, offer central Prague's best possible setting for you to relax, enjoy great food and celebrate your special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Mark Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hybernska Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing