We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kempinski Hotel, Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Mark Prague
Ranked #40 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A wonderfully appointed Hotel where an abundance of space, attentive staff and superb food and drink, combine to provide a super holiday location. Perfectly located for the historic centre of Prague, the Kempinski provides an ideal location for the discerning traveller. One not to be missed by people who appreciate the finer things in life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. It is with our utmost pleasure to read that you have trully enjoyed our beautiful property as well as our caring staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel was fantastic in terms of service and the rooms were lovely however I was left disappointed as halfway through our stay breakfast was changed.

I had booked a room with a breakfast buffet which was great; lots of choice however after a few mornings the hotel changed the menu meaning for some egg dishes you had to pay an extra charge of up to £6. In my eyes this was unacceptable when taking into account the price of the room compared with other 5 star hotels in the area. This just left me disappointed as there was no mention off this and believed this was wrong when I had booked a room with a breakfast buffet,

Room Tip: go to the restaurant which is located next to the hotel on the right; cant remember the name but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review at Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear your compliments about the product as well as the service.

Referring to your comments about the breakfast charge. This change to our charging policy was implemented to make us compliant with Kempinski policy (which was changed as of 2012).

Whilst it was agreed that such a minor change did not merit a complete closure of operations, we understand that it could have been more effectively communicated to our residents.

If it is the case that you were subject to this extra charge we would be happy to discuss this with You further.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Quite well situated hotel of Kempinski group, very friendly staff, generous rooms (Grand Deluxe Room with separated living room / bedroom, huge bathroom and many amenities) and high quality buffet breakfast. Casual luxury with highest service level, as expected from Kempinski. Absolute recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YHaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that you have been able to enjoy our spacious Grand Deluxe room as well as the lavish breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have stayed in the beautiful Kempinski Hybernska only for one night in December 2012. We were upgraded to a Grand Deluxe Room, with separate bedroom/living area. The Room ist very well appointed and features amongst others a fully equipped kitchenette, a dining table and two tv sets. Everything is perfectly clean and beautiful. The electronic devices are state of the art. The bathroom has a heated floor system, and a rainfall shower. The view from our room was nothing spectacular, facing the inner courtyard. Breakfast is served at the Le Grill Restaurant. There plenty things to choose from. The quality of the breakfast is oustanding. You can order omelette, boiled eggs, and those stuff directly at your table. They have lots of different types of bread, even organic ones. Also they have a wide selection of cheese to choose from. We ate so much that we couldn't even go for lunch at the le Grill, what we have intented to do.

The Kempisnki Hybernska is located just few steps away from the metro station Namesti Republiky and the train station Masarykovo nadrazi. The old town square and the Vaclavske namesti are in vicinity. Just across the street you'll find the bar/restaurant Hybernia were you can draft your own beer directly at your table.

The only thing we didn't like so much about the Kempinski is that, there is no one to greet you at the entrance, no one to take your luggage.. you just have to let yourself in and find the way to the reception which is by the way on your right hand side when you enter. For a five star hotel I can't understand why they don't employ a porter..

So if you are looking for a contemporary luxury hotel with excellent breakfast, centrally located in a quiet side street, and perfect value for your money, the Kempinski is the hotel you should keep in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank infinitypoollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Not only our beautiful and spacious Grand Deluxe room, lavish breakfast as well as our location.

In regards to your comments about a missing porter. We do indeed employ porters as any other luxury hotels. There is minimum of one porter/doorman on shift, but usually there are two of them.
It sounds like in your case, he must have been assisting another guest with rooming at the time of your arrival, which is very unfortunate, but can not be avoided when more guests arrive at the same time.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

May be we had a bad luck with the staff but if you read some previous review I don't think so. An unpleasant lady at the reception, frown staff at breakfast. No more this house. It is not enough to have a good equipment and a brand! After all neither the room nor the breakfast are nothing to memorize.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments.
Please accept our sincere apologies that our lavish breakfast, our beautiful rooms and last not least our staff did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have stayed 5 nights in this hotel during the summer of 2012 for à citytrip.
We booked a suite , a very nice accomodation. Lovely terras in the garden. Location is superb.
The staff parks your car if wanted. Everything is nearby to visit.

Room Tip: It is also possible the book à suite for smokers, but they are limited, at floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfoncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

It is our utmost pleasure to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed at the Kempinski Hybernska for about six weeks in November and December 2012 before moving to my flat. Hence, I had a pretty extended period of time to check out the hotel´s facilities.

Location: It is very conveniently located, very central and yet just a few steps away from the beaten tourist tracks, it is about 2 minutes walking from the Powder Tower or the Republic Square.

Hotel´s public spaces: the entrance is sort of unassuming, the same applies to the reception and lobby area; in particular the entrance door even looks a bit tacky. Here one certainly could have done a better job. I have to admit I have never liked the overall interior design concept of Kempinski hotels, they try to be special but never produce something really classy and tasteful, that also applies to the Adlon in Berlin and the Kempinski in Budapest or Kuh´damm. Their style is miles away from the likes of Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental or the Rocco Forte Collection.
However, what was really nicely done are the staircase and the corridors on the room floors. High ceilings, thick wall to wall carpets, contemporary art displayed on the walls, good lighting concept.

Rooms: During my entire stay I was lucky to have stayed in three different room categories. All rooms are very well appointed, boast all amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The bathrooms are very large, there is a bath tub and a shower cabin.

Rooms are large, clearly above average of this hotel category. There is no noise coming through the window even if you have a room facing the street.

Rooms are very clean, daily turn down service is provided as well, the larger room categories even had small kitchenettes including an oven and a Nespresso machine.

During the last week of my stay I had a duplex room facing the garden which was particularly nice and quite. The space was big enough to call it an apartment and there was a moment when I thought why not staying here rather than renting an apartment.

Restaurant: breakfast was a delight, there is a buffet style breakfast plus an extensive a la carte choice of eggs. Everything was fresh and nicely presented. Really good.

I also had dinner numerous times. I almost tried the entire menu during the six weeks period and I have to state that all dishes were excellent which is not always the case in hotel restaurants. My favourite was the tomato soup and the beef tartare for starters and as a main course the beef filet. Really delicious. Staff was very helpful, warm and friendly. I would like to highlight James, I think he is the head waiter who was particularly friendly.

Internet: there is free wifi throughout the hotel. This was actually the only point where I was not fully satisfied. For e mailing and browsing the internet wifi worked well but for downloading movies or watching online movies it did not really work. There is a cable internet connection as well which works well but it is at an extra charge.

Summary: Great location, great service, wonderful and spacious rooms. The few critical comments about design in the public areas and the rather slow wifi do not prevent me to rate this hotel with 5 stars. I do certainly recommend it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the price go for the larger rooms facing the garden, either the duplex or those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our staff as well as the hotel has provided you with a comfortable home away from home.

Regarding the internet in the hotel. We do provide wifi free of charge to our guests, which is not a high speed, therefore can not serve for downloading of movies etc. For this purpose we provide high speed cable internet for a charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 648 in Prague
2,043 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mark Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mark Prague

Address: Hybernska 1002/12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Mark Luxury Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#34 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Family Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £147 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mark Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mark Hotel is situated within a stunning Neo-Classical building, just a few minutes' walk from the Old Town Square. With its 75 large and beautifully appointed rooms, many of them suites, the hotel offers timeless elegance with tasteful contemporary features, furnishings and fittings. To complete the feeling of luxury, the majority of the guestrooms feature a separate bedroom and spacious living area including fitted kitchenette. The Le Grill Restaurant, Two Steps Bar and the hotel's unique private garden with its baroque fountain, offer central Prague's best possible setting for you to relax, enjoy great food and celebrate your special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mark Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hybernska Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing