We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Prague Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Mark Prague
Ranked #43 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I am with a tour group that booked rooms at the Kempinski instead of the Hilton Hotel that I have enjoyed staying at in the past. The tour guide raved about the accommodations and location. The carpets are stained and smelly in the hallway. Our "suite" is a room with a spiral staircase to an upstairs bedroom. You would think the reception clerk would be observant enough to realize a 75 year old couple would have difficulty navigating the stairs much less getting a suitcase up and down them. That is not the most horrible part of this hotel experience. Our room is over 90 F with the air conditioning on for a couple of hours. They just brought us a small fan after telling us there were no other rooms in the hotel where we can move. Don't ruin your stay in Prague by staying at the Kempinski with lousy AC, no view and a deadly spiral staircase or if you must ask to see the room before you check-in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs S.

thank you for your review and once again our apologies for the fact that we could not find a solution for you on the first night.

Due to the heat wave in Prague over those days we were unable to cool down the duplex suits, of which you were staying in, to a more comfortable level and since we were fully booked that night, we were unable to change the room right away.

However, we hope that the alternative room that we have provided for you the following morning was of more comfort to you, as it did not have the spiral staircase and also a nicer few of the city.

As pointed out, we have few of the rooms with spiral staircase, which are usually very popular due to the fact that they make best use of the high ceilings of the 'Belle Etage' they are located on, but it is fully understandable that it was not suitable for you given the comments you raised.

Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope to have the chance again to have you back in the future. Rest assured, we took note that you do not like the rooms with the inside staircase.

With best personal regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at the Kempinski in Prague for four nights in June. We had a wonderful experience. The suite was extremely comfortable, and the restaurant was great. All the service was prompt, and satisfying. I even got ill, and the concierge found me a great doctor.

The service continued after we returned home. We misplaced the doctor bill, which we needed for our insurance. One email to the concierge, and we had a copy a few hours later. That's service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that we were able to manage to fullfil your expectations and even more, that our concierge team was able to assist you after your departure with the misplaced doctor's bill.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on day in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance to you.

With best personal regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

All of the accommodations are suites, some with balconies and/or two bathrooms. Modern decor and clean efficiencies. The only thing missing was the chocolate on the pillow at turndown. Staff is helpful, respectful, and courteous. The included breakfast buffet is fabulous and you can even add to it with an optional menu.

Room Tip: You can ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on TripAdvisor about our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the comfort of our room, especially since it had a small balcony.

We do have indeed on two floors rooms with balconies and this is a nice added feature during the summer month. But all other suites are equally nice appointed and what they are missing in space of the balcony, they make up with extra living room space usually.

I was sorry to hear that you did not get our good night chocolate, which we do provide on a nightly basis. On following up with our housekeeper I found out that the delivery (we provide exclusive mints from England - http://www.bendicks.co.uk/ ) was delayed and hence we had a shortage during your stay. They arrived one day after your departure and are now back in stock again.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

With best personal regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at this great hotel last week for 4 nights. Locations is excellent - 5-10 min easy walk to the old town squarre and other central destinations. There are several good restaurants around the hotel, one just across -Hybernia. Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. They have a nice bar area with 'happy hour" , breakfest restaurant is very nice as well. Rooms are great quality and well decorated. Definitelly will be back when in Prague to this 5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room not facing the lobby atrium area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANNAPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments you have posted here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have been enjoying your stay with us and that our team was able to assist you in every way possible.

Our hotel is truly well located within walking distance to all major sights as well as shopping and dining, which is adding further value to the stay.

We hope that we will be of service again during your next stay in Prague and if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With best personal regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with Mrs.C as part of my 40th birthday celebrations. It was truly excellent in terms of service, quality of furnishings, food and overall experience. Nicky, the hotel's driver gave us a great tour of some key sites on the way from the airport. The rest of the concierge and front desk team we consistently polite and helpful. Simon in the bar was a star - he looked after us well every evening and virtually all of one rainy Sunday afternoon! Great location too - we'll go back again as soon as we can!

Room Tip: No need to trade up - all the rooms are larger than average and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review that you have posted here on Tripadvisor

It is very nice to read that you had a truly memorable stay and that we succeeded in making your birthday celebrations a bit more special.

Very happy to hear that not only the team at front office and the concierge managed to take care of you in a good way, but moreover, that you pointed out Niki who has been able to give you a great start when arriving with the limousine service we provide.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back on day to the Kempinski Hotel Hybernska and if I can be of any personal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With best regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I took my wife away on a pre Christmas treat and the Kempinski Hotel was the perfect place to stay. It is very centrally located and close to the beautiful Art Noveau Concert Hall. We had a small suite with a good size lounge, bedroom and a well furnished bathroom. The breakfast was of the highest quality and we tried many of the specially cooked options on offer. The main lounge and bar were comfortable and smartly furnished and the art on display in the surrounding areas was stunning. I particularly recommend the evening cocktails that the very friendly staff took delight in preparing. Overall we were both delighted with the hotel and prague and we will go back there again soon.

Room Tip: The suites are definetely worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKnoll, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear guest

thank you for leaving a review about our hotel here on Tripadvisor

it is a pleasure to read that you had overall a very nice stay with us and that we were able to make your memories of Prague some good ones.

Our Two Steps Bar is truly a unique space to start your evening or end the night. We now have added also a live piano music every Thursday and Friday to enhance the spirit of the bar and we were just voted into the Top 10 of the bars of Prague by EURO magazine.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back one day in the future and will be able to make your trip a memorable one again.

If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

With best regards

Peter Knoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Kempinski Hybernska hotel deserves the best compliments and I would highly recommend chossing this great hotel for any guests to Prague. The hotel has a quiet location, excellent room design, rich breakfast, and moreover, the hotel staff is being so polite and friendly that you feel this pure luxury touch in every moment of staying there. The pictures of hotel on the web are absolutely true in reality.

Special thanks are going to the Chef of Kempinski Hybernska hotel restaurant! We have tasted an excellent and delicious "9 course degustation menu" dinner and it was finger-licking good!!!! Top quality! Top notch!

The hotel does not have an inside swimming pool or gym, but who cares once you are in Prague?! If you really need those, you can simply jump into sports facilities of a neighbouring hotel (partners), no problem at all!
Overall, Prague is a definite spot to re-visit, and sure we will come back in future and stay in this fantastic hotel again!

Room Tip: We have had a suite which deserved every cent we paid: spacious, great bathtub, great mini-kichenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olgetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Prague and for sharing such a generous review with the Trip Advisor community.

We were honoured to welcome you in our hotel and most importantly that we have made your stay memorable. I am also happy to read that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel, our spacious rooms as well as the delightful moments in our Le Grill restaurant. Your kind feedback is a wonderful encouragement for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 646 in Prague
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,271 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#99 of 646 in Prague
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mark Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mark Prague

Address: Hybernska 1002/12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Mark Luxury Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#40 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £131 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mark Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mark Hotel is situated within a stunning Neo-Classical building, just a few minutes' walk from the Old Town Square. With its 75 large and beautifully appointed rooms, many of them suites, the hotel offers timeless elegance with tasteful contemporary features, furnishings and fittings. To complete the feeling of luxury, the majority of the guestrooms feature a separate bedroom and spacious living area including fitted kitchenette. The Le Grill Restaurant, Two Steps Bar and the hotel's unique private garden with its baroque fountain, offer central Prague's best possible setting for you to relax, enjoy great food and celebrate your special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mark Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hybernska Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing