We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Mark Prague
Ranked #43 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Kempinski hotel is second to none. Excellent reception service, fantastic bedrooms, comfy beds and a pillow menu for those in need of different pillows. Breakfast was delicious with excellent service too. Would certainly recommend and stay there again. Only wish that the toiletries in the bedrooms were Molton Brown as is in the lobby powder room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptrcmrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

On checking in to this hotel we had to change rooms. The room smelled strange. After we moved rooms to another room which did not smell as bad it was discovered that the housekeeping spray a smell reducer like fabreeze. If you suffer from allergies this may not be the hotel for you. What happened to good old fashioned airing? The entrance to the hotel is small. Several times we could not get in to the hotel as large parties were arriving and were being organised on the pavement. There is a large garden at the back and I consider this bad management that these parties aren't dealt with by a welcoming drink there instead of in the front. The hotel is sumptuous enough, rooms are modern bathrooms are good I'm surprised this hotel has a 5 star considering there is no pool or spa. Common areas such as corridors, lifts are not air conditioned. The problem with this hotel is the staff. Some are great, the young chap at breakfast. Both porters and the concierge. However others seem to be working to a script. At breakfast we asked for a plain omelette with mushrooms on the side. I got 1 mushroom finely chopped. My husband asked for soft boiled eggs they were hard boiled. When we complained on both occasions we were told that was the way the hotel do it. Silly us we thought we were staying in a 5 star hotel??? However they did replace the eggs but asked us how long we wanted them cooked. It actually said on the breakfast menu hard or soft boiled eggs but we were made to feel as if there was something wrong with us. I recently wrote a review that said the Volcan in Lanzarote had a breakfast as good as a Kempinski. What I meant was it had a breakfast as good as the Kempinski in Istanbul. This hotel is no where near that hotel or others in the chain. Today ( we haven't left yet) we asked for a late check out as we thought we had it included in our package. No not available which leaves us asking why it was advertised as such in the first place? The management of this hotel need to train their people to be more flexible. If you come to Prague and want 5 star,I would try the Four seasons or the Mandarin Oriental. This hotel severely let's the brand down. After this experience here I would probably not stay in another Kempinski.

Room Tip: Ring in advance so your room is not over perfumed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patentattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Prague, General Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, let me apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay in our hotel, and thank you for making time to inform us about your experience. Based on our guests’ comments we are able to evaluate our services and plan our future trainings, or make changes as per guests’ suggestions.

Unfortunately the hotel’s building is under Heritage Protection, which means that we have limited opportunities for changing the physical construction of the house, but having said that, please note that the complete hotel is air-conditioned.

Otherwise, please rest assured that we will focus on your observations regarding our staff and take the necessary steps to avoid our guests having similar experiences in the future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Somlyai
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is, by far, the most beautiful hotel we've ever been in. The room, the ambience, the closets. Each room is a suite. The bath room I'm packing up and taking home. It's just fabulous. Staff very polite, courteous and just nice. Friendly too. Helpful. It rained and they lent us umbrellas! You will just love it here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yayaof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved this hotel - close to our business needs, quiet, understated customer service - met our needs in every way. Close to Old Town, safe, clean, spacious room. Stayed in a junior suite - loved the Nespessro coffee in the morning. I don't normally drink coffee but needed this amenity to overcome a little bit of jet leg and to stay awake for meetings.Would highly recommend if location fits yoru needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysoapbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for investing your time and sharing such a positive review regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Praguel, Prague with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to hear that you have spent such a wonderful time at our hotel, especially I was pleased to find out that the equipment of the rooms and the warm service of our team totally satisfied and convinced you.

Your kind and enthusiastic comments are our best reward - rest assured that your compliments have been shared with the rest of the team.

I would once again like to thank you for your time and effort, and sincerely hope to welcome you back to our hotel, Prague soon.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I would have given this hotel a higher rating except for a few problems: 1. The concierge recommended Best Tours for a tour of Terezin (Theresienstadt). The tour guide was relatively uninformed, the stops on the tour were too brief ( 30-40 minutes in the Ghetto Museum is insufficient ) and we were not taken back to the hotel after the tour was over. 2. The reception clerk refused to change a 50 Euro note for two 20's and a 10, "because the Kroner is the national currency of the Czech Republic". However, when we paid Euros in restaurants and stores, we were given our change back in Euros. 3 At breakfast on one day, there were not enough servers on board to clear the tables, so we were seated at a table for 8, with 6 others from a tour group. We complained, and then were seated at a table for the two of us. Positives: the hotel is in a good location and one can walk to the various important sites in Prague; the maid service is excellent; the rooms are quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a detailed review and comments following your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to hear that the guided tour did not meet your expectations. Although our concierge suggests primarily private guided tours as oppose to group bus tours, the Best Tour company is our main partner and we have not had a negative experience with them, so your feedback was concerning for us and has been passed onto their management to take necessary measures. Your feedback will definitely help to improve their service to their future customers.

Regarding your request for breaking down EUR currency, there was a misunderstanding.
Our reception does not posess foreign currency cashier, but only CZK cashier due to Czech Crown being an official currency at the Czech Republic. Whilst some restaurants or shops in the city may have a different set up and are able to return foreign currency, our hotel staff unfortunately does not.

Thank you very much for your understanding and i hope these two minor issues will not refrain you from returning to our beautiful hotel in the future.

Sincerely
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After having visited several premium hotels in Prague, the Kempinski can definetely be considered as the best!

I highly appreciate the superior treatment by the employees as well as the comfortable rooms. The breakfast includes local organic Czech products and a great choice of cereals! Only the choice of fresh juices could be increaded.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrikMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for investing your time and sharing such a positive review about your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, in particular as you pointed out the great service provided, comfort of our rooms and our breakfast selection.

I am sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, as our main goal is to always satisfy our guests and make their stay memorable.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On arrival we were lucky to be upgraded to a suite with a great view. The room, service and staff were impeccable and the location of the hotel was excellent for exploring the fine city of Prague. I'd definitely return to the Kempinski when I go back to Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pyknicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheaPalmer, Front Office Manager at The Grand Mark Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Gueset,

Thank you for your detailed review and positive comments following your stay at Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague.

I am happy to read that the room equipment as well as the services provided by our staff have met and even exceeded your expectations. Your compliments mean a lot to us. Our main goal is to always satisfy our customers and make them feel home away from home.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kempinski Hotel Hybernska Prague.

With my warmest regards,
Thea Palmer
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 646 in Prague
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Staré Město (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,290 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mark Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mark Prague

Address: Hybernska 1002/12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly The Mark Luxury Hotel)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#40 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £140 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mark Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mark Hotel is situated within a stunning Neo-Classical building, just a few minutes' walk from the Old Town Square. With its 75 large and beautifully appointed rooms, many of them suites, the hotel offers timeless elegance with tasteful contemporary features, furnishings and fittings. To complete the feeling of luxury, the majority of the guestrooms feature a separate bedroom and spacious living area including fitted kitchenette. The Le Grill Restaurant, Two Steps Bar and the hotel's unique private garden with its baroque fountain, offer central Prague's best possible setting for you to relax, enjoy great food and celebrate your special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Mark Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hybernska Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing