We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Ranked #28 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Newly renovated. Great location. Pricey but not my problem since my company was paying for it. Cool basement bar. The food was outrageously priced... nearly killed my per diem expense. Helpful front desk staff. All in all, it's top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goatsgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    63
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
117
274
30
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is not in the heart of Prague, but it is better where it is because it is close in off without the crowds.
The hotel was a Monastery in it origins, so it keeps the old building with the modern and luxury of todays!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write your views and reviews on The Augustine.
I notice that you travelled all the way from Mexico to stay with us. It is therefore very important to read and evaluate your feedback which is very much appreciated. You gave us full scores on everything except "value" and this concerns me. My email address is tsmit@theaugustine.com and I will be pleased if you could send me your contact details so that we can discuss this matter. Warren Buffet is quoted as saying "the price is what you pay and the value is what you get". We pride ourselves on our values and hope we will have the opportunity to demonstrate this to you in some other way. Mejores deseos. Tom Smit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I just returned from a long weekend in Prague and the best part of my trip was the Augustine Hotel! By far, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and there are too many to count. The hotel is beautiful and newly renovated. The rooms are clean and spacious. The attention to detail is what I noticed immediately. From the way the rooms are turned down at night to the heated floors in the bathroom, no detail was forgotten. The entire staff is so unbelievably friendly and will do anything to make sure that you are 100% satisfied at all times. The concierge, Jan, and his lovely counterpart were most helpful in selecting restaurants, making reservations and connecting us with a tour guide. All of their recommendations were perfect. I've lived in NYC for over 12 years and am very picky when it comes to hotels and service. I like only the best and if you stay at the Augustine Hotel, that is what you'll get! Guaranteed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior (not on the street) to ensure a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
How to reply to your amazing and just compliments? I am so pleased you like the fresh and clean look and attention to detail.
We have a wonderful and gracious team and the care as much about The Augustine as we do and even more about our guests, all of whom are special.
Jan is a great character and when caught unguarded, has a wicked sense of humor. The most amazing thing is this; the Czech people consider themselves as very reserved and not great at service but at The Augustine the impossible happens every day and we make dreams come true.
I hope your dreams come true in The Big Apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have stayed here twice now along with many other hotels in Prague.

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. The food is excellent. The rooms are warm and comfortable. The staff really did everything they could to keep us happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CzechDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Augustine as Best Hotel in Prague. You are a guest with fine taste because Travel & Leisure magazine readers voted The Augustine as top 100 best hotels in the world and to crown it all, placed us in 5th position as Best Luxury Hotel in Europe amongs "Large" hotels....
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular, that you felt well treated and hopefully pampered by our team.
We would welcome any suggestion on the little things we can change to make The Augustine one of the most special places on earth!
Warm regards from all at The Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Do not at all share the enthusiasm of the other reviews. The atmosphere of the antique building and the beautiful city of Prague has been lost in a design which more resembles a motel. My room was supposedly a suite but it was small, low-ceilinged and dark. The staff was not very competent. In all, not worth the money. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elangbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear dissatisfied guest, we did expect your review to be negative and slanderous but we do get disgruntled guests that, no matter how much we try to please, we are never quite able. These are very rare. Your views, to which you are perfectly entitled are in direct contrast with the excellent guest experiences from our distinguished guests who also share their views (and values) openly with us.
However and in spite of all our efforts to please you, you were determined to humiliate our staff, treat them with contempt and find fault with each and every aspect of one the world's most awarded luxury hotels....and Tripadviser is not our only benchmark.
We are of course disappointed that you did not have a great time with us but I did offer you cheaper accommodation elsewhere which you declined. This suggests that The Augustine must have ticked some boxes.
At The Augustine, we have 4 basic values: trust, respect, integrity and honesty. We trust one another, respect one another and serve with honesty and dignity... this is our firm foundation; we build everlasting friendship with or guests and clients and regret that on this occasion, we will not be able.
Please feel free to contact me direct on +420604299881 or alternatively, please send me your contact details and I would be delighted to learn more. Kindest regards from myself, Tom Smit and our world class team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Augustine is the newest luxury property in Prague, and if you’re a design connoisseur or architecture aficionado, this is where you will want to stay, as it’s easy to see that an incredible amount of thoughtfulness and care went into the design of this property – even the hallways are exceptionally beautiful! As for service, although I would not describe it as being on the same level as the Four Seasons or the Mandarin Oriental, I would still call it gracious. The rooms are beautifully appointed with parquet floors, to-die for hand-embroidered curtains, Czech Cubist ceramics, as well as a thoughtful selection of books and prints – all of which give the feeling of spending the night in a very stylish home rather than a hotel. The bathrooms, with polished marble, heated floors, plasma screen TVs, and my favorite terrycloth bathrobe in town, are large and breathtakingly refined – they completely fulfill the fantasy of what you dream of having at home. The Augustine’s spa also happens to be among the best in Prague. Need I say more?

ALSO WORTH NOTING
Slippers are available only by request, which is a bit odd as the rooms feature wood floors and you will definitely want slippers. Once requested, they arrive promptly.

FUN & FABULOUS FEATURE
There are currently five monks-in-residence living at the property, so don’t be surprised when you see them walking by in their handsome brown robes! Be sure to request a tour – given by one of the monks – of the monastery’s library, which is filled with lots of old medical books. The tour is 500 CZK per person, and booking must be made at least three weeks in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtelStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Augustine is a very tasteful conversion of a monastery, it is serene yet still within walking distance / easy access to the many lovely sights of Prague. The staff were all helpful and polite, our room was comfortable and stylish without looking like a typical luxury hotel room, for instance it had a warm natural wood floor and a reading chaise, and the bathroom which was well appointed had a window looking out across a courtyard framed by the lovely architecture of a church dome. They will send a comfortable car (Audi A8L) to fetch you from the airport for a nominal charge. The restaurant was excellent--there is indoor and outdoor seating, and there is more relaxed dining in an annex closer to the bar which is in a barrel vaulted room where you can drink a beer still made by the monks. Overall The Augustine is a great base from which to explore Prague or to seek refuge from a long day of business. We stayed for four nights would certainly return there on a future trip. The concierge Brigita Brejchová and her colleague Jan were both efficient and knowledgeable which made our stay even more enjoyable. The entry to the hotel through a narrow arch leading into a cobblestone courtyard with modern sculptures and the elegant and generously proportioned naturally lit lobby make for a great welcome when you arrive. We looked at the Four Seasons and the Mandarin Oriental hotels which are grand luxe too but The Augustine makes you feel like you are in Prague and not just in a generic luxury hotel. Thomas Smit who I understand is the owner has put together a great team and made an imaginative hotel in this extraordinary city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I wonder what tandk7 stands for but you are clearly a well-travelled guest. When we started the project in 2003, our aim was to built and reconstruct one of Prague's most historical national monuments which carries UNESCO protection into one of the world's greatest hotels. Your very kind and generous comment is so encouraging and we so much appreciate your appreciation of fine hospitality.
At The Augustine, it's not only an honour to serve our distinguished guests but our teams do it with delight and sincerity. It's so wonderful to sneak around the back of the house sometimes and hear laughter and see happy faces in the staff canteen or on the laundry.
The attitude of our team then translates into what you experience when staying with us.....genuine hospitality.
Thank you once again and warm wishes from all at The Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague

Property: Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Address: Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Prague
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#13 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague. A Zen like repose. Welcoming,with fine restaurant, calm and alluringly minimalist, beautifully set, in juxtoposition to Prague's surrounding wealth of baroque, and rococo history. A wondrously converted monastery, The Augustine's five stars, deserves a sixth - which is the one that takes you into a new realm of luxury hotel experience, a journey into the only place where time stands still... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte The Augustine Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing