We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel - from the staff to the decor - warm and inviting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Ranked #29 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel - from the staff to the decor - warm and inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went to Prague for a long weekend and stayed 4 nights. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful - couldn't do enough for you.

At check in we were offered a mulled wine and were informed we had been upgraded which was a lovely gesture and start to our break. We enjoyed the hotel facilities we used the bar, restaurant and spa all of which were 1st class.

The housekeeping were amazing as it felt like everytime we left the room we came back there were fresh towels and tolietries. Non intrusive. Perfect.

Great location and an easy walk to the old town.

Definately Recommended - 5 Star all the way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    63
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
117
274
30
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Warm friendly engaged attentive service....Surroundings and room sublime...sounds of bells ringing...fragrant passage ways...old world charm...quiet...peaceful...totally enjoyed our stay
Room service delicious...and accommodating...as we are both vegetarians (vegan) and they adjusted their menu for us...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in June. We arrived from train station by taxi and since I didn't have Czech money on me my husband asked the driver if he would take $10. The bell man (didn't know that I understand the language) in Czech said to the driver he should ask for more and told us it is 15 euros. So when I called him on it he defended that the exchange rate is different when it comes to small bills. It wasn't nice. I went to the front desk and changed dollars giving exact taxi fare to the driver. The front desk receptionist was cold. They have allocated us a suite already. Since the hotel is an old monastery our suite had a weird lay out. Bathroom at the entry door, hallway to the living room then a loop left, step down another hallway to the bedroom. There was no doors and a step up, so in the middle of the night it wasn't easy to find a way to the bathroom and remember the step. We asked if they can give us another suite but they wanted to charge us a substantial amount of few hundred euros per night for an upgrade. So we passed. We had complimentary water flat and sparkling in our room and our child got a nice plate of sweets. Breakfast was divine and my favorite on this trip. The dining room was beautifully designed, elegant with outside dining patio and in the dining room there was a dress code which I liked (no sneakers). A wide selection of goodies displayed plus choices on the menu. The stuff was nice and wifi was free there. My favorite was the concierge blond lady. She was super friendly and made her best effort to get us reservations. The hotel was in a heart of the old town by the bridge. Be alert and watch out for the suspicious people on the bridge. We were targeted and followed by two guys when coming back from dinner around midnight. My husband and I spoiled their plan getting large umbrella, heavy camera ready in positions. They quit but this incident scared our 10 year old girl who later woke up with nightmares.
We had three days of rain so we enjoyed time in relaxation room/spa area. Also tried their very dark beer 200 years old recipe. We loved Prague and enjoyed Augustine hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank savvygirlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A lovely hotel with more of trainees at the front desk who at times miss the key guest service touches. We moved from one hotel with a high level of guest engagement and we were shocked with the FO team at Augustine. We were checked in initially in a wrong suite, imagine this was our wedding day which was turning sour and it was a sad moment for my wife and me. We had to ask for a manager and a room move to the correct signature suite was done. A spectacular 360 view of Prague and one side facing the Prague castle, we fell in love with it.

Our wedding dinner at St Thomas Brewery turned the whole experience from moments of misery to moments of magic. The lighting was inviting and of course the table layout was immaculate. All our 35 guests were happy and amazed with the level of detail placed on each table. We did the Czech traditional plate breaking, it was a wonderful experience. Beverage service was smooth and at no time will you ask for a refill, the waiters were on top of it. The food quality & taste were mouthwatering and the presentation was breathtaking. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Book the signature suite. It will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinashe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've been fortunate to stay in some wonderful hotels around the world. A number of these have been part of the Rocco forte group, and all of which have been excellent. The Augustine has recently changed hands but maintains the excellence that the RF group had initiated. The service is exemplary , I was always addressed by name and greeted with warmth and professionalism . Tomas in the bar makes fantastic cocktails, we ate in the restaurant and had not only the best food but best value meal we ate in our four day stay. It was my wife's birthday and complimentary champagne and cake was delivered to our room. Jamie, the new hotel butler was fantastic. If you can afford it stay in the tower suite - I couldn't but did see it - probably the best suite in the world with panoramic views of the city. Spa was great and the location is quiet and central .
One gripe - don't charge for the internet - it seems petty when everything else is so great - it is 2013.
Well done to a great team at the hotel , and trip-advisor punters -forget the mandarin oriental and the four seasons - book here - you will not be disappointed .

Room Tip: We chose a fourth floor room 437 . It was lovely - one step up from the basic room but absolutely gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so very much for your kind and honest review of The Augustine. What I appreciate most is your recognition of our wonderful team, all young, spirited, and with oodles of energy and enthusiasm to please our guests.
We would love to have you back and am sure, your friends will stay nowhere else. If there is a tiny bit that we can do better or improve on or do differently, please let us know. My direct mobile number is +420604299881
Warmest regards from our whole team.
Tom Smit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Augustine in mid October and enjoyed every bit of our hotel stay, and our Prague visit as well.

The service at the hotel was impeccable, from the pre-tip concierge email reminders and airport transfer arrangements, to checking-out. The hotel is an old monastery with views of the castle that has been modernized in a very tasteful manner.

The room we had was on the fourth floor and was very comfortable with plenty of room and all the amenities of a first class hotel. Contrary to another review we enjoyed the wood floors and didn't find them noisy or cold, but very charming.

What makes The Augustine special though is the staff of young professionals who go out of their way to make you feel welcome each time they see you. We were welcomed by name each morning for breakfast in the dining room and made to feel at home.

We had a number of interactions with Lucia, one of the three concierges, and were amazed how how quickly we go to know one another. She made restaurant and sight seeing recommendations and arrangements that were well, just perfect. She is fun, bright and very personable like everyone associated with this special, high-end independent property.

We left The Augustine feeling as if we had spent a long weekend in the home of a close and yes, well-healed friend, not a hotel. We even joked about having our daughters wedding there. It isn't in the cards, but it would be fun, gorgeous and very memorable for any bride who chooses too, especially with the absolutly gorgeous chapel that is part of the old monastery too. Amazing.

Room Tip: We loved the room we had on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WALKMAN2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Friends, thank you, thank you. The Augustine is a discovery at the end of a long journey. It is your future home whenever you are in Prague and Lucia, is......well, just Lucia, with her genuine smile and positive energy......every day!
She has only been in this position for a few months but her heart and soul is in pleasing our guests, just like so many other members of our excellent team.
What I appreciate most, is that you appreciate the cultural values and integrity of our staff, that you have clearly shown them respect and they returned that respect with sincerity.
We very much look forward to welcoming yup home soon.
Kindest regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We are staying in another hotel in Prague and my wife had an excellent day at the Augustine Hotel spa (at London prices!) thoroughly enjoying not seeing another client in the five hours she was there. On deciding to eat in the hotel bar I am afraid to say that the kitchen appeared to be unable to deliver a hamburger without the roll being burnt and the burger overcooked - even after the first one was returned and I explained exactly how I wanted it. Strangely, the waitress tried to tell me how I wanted it was wrong. I then enquired about a room for a couple of nights and, even though the hotel was almost empty, I was told the 'politics' meant that they were unable to offer anything but the rack rate. To be honest I left disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Day Guest,
I am very disappointed to learn about the issue regarding the hamburger you ordered in the Bar.
The hostess has since been interviewed and due to her poor English, she has been taken off the floor for further training.
I am sorry that this experience did not leave a good impression as The Augustine is a far greater experience than a hamburger, but you are right in complaining about it.
On the subject of rates, can you please let me know your thoughts why Prague should be cheaper than London or Paris. We pay extremely good salaries with benefits to our staff, our other operating costs are equally matched in the rest of Europe and I am sure the spa ingredients, which come from England were to your liking.
The team and I would be delighted if you were to come and stay at The Augustine, which will give you and your wife an opportunity to understand that the price is what you pay and the values what you receive.
Sincere best wishes for a happy festive season.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague

Property: Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Address: Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Prague
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#13 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague. A Zen like repose. Welcoming,with fine restaurant, calm and alluringly minimalist, beautifully set, in juxtoposition to Prague's surrounding wealth of baroque, and rococo history. A wondrously converted monastery, The Augustine's five stars, deserves a sixth - which is the one that takes you into a new realm of luxury hotel experience, a journey into the only place where time stands still... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte The Augustine Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing