We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overbooked and under serviced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Ranked #202 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overbooked and under serviced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We arrived after a 5 hour train ride and a taxi ride we arrived at the hotel to be advised that there were no vacancies. We booked over a month prior. Rather than send us to another best western we were sent to a five star hotel. Whilst you might wonder why this would be an inconvenience we picked the original hotel for its location and amenities that fitted with our requirements. The we hotel was in a more touristy area in another part of the city. We had to wait over an hour for another cab to pick us up and take us to the new hotel.while we were waiting we were not offered any refreshments. To top it off our pre payment authorisation could not be lifted and we have to wait for it to lapse as well as ay for the new hotel. Not very appy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review from your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
On behalf of our entire hotel team we truly apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused upon your arrival. Unfortunatley we had to move you to another hotel due to an error in the system. We tried to relocate you to a hotel of the same category, star rating and Best Western Standards and we are sorry to hear that the location did not fit your amenities.

Again we apologize and we hope to see you again on your next visit to prague by which we are positive that all your expectations will be met.

Warm regards,
Lucie Podrabska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    138
    60
    31
    26
See reviews for
70
269
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

First impression was great, hotel very small and pretty. Room was clean first day only. Stayed for five days total and room was never cleaned properly after that. Daughter spilled chocolate milk on sheets and bed was just remade with same sheets. Called housekeeping when I discovered this and told they were gone for day but bellman will bring up some clean sheets for me to make bed myself. Definately not 5 star treatment!!!! Placed my dirty clothing in plastic bag in closet maid washed without my permission and charged me 60 euros. Complained to front desk and after huge debate and suggesting I tried to get service for free, charged was removed from bill. Will never stay there again!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a comment from your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. On behalf of our entire hotel team we truly apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay including the situation with the dirty laundry.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to prague and we are positive that all your expectations will be met.

Warm regards,
Lucie Podrabska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel claims to be 5 star, but by whose standards?- certainly not British ones.
Room was clean & adequate and staff were friendly, but very limited facilities

Conveniently located to walk the city, but rooms with the best views are very noisy at might and air con is essential.

Prague is beautiful, but the natives see tourists as suckers waiting to be ripped off (by paying the equivalent of over £3 for a bit of bread to go with a bowl of soup and a 6% surcharge for using a credit card).
My advice is if you want a great city break, look at the pictures on the internet and spend your money in Barcelona or Budapest

Room Tip: make sue it has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your recent experience at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
We are very sorry to read that you didnt enjoyed your stay and found prague too expensive. We truly hope that in next time visit we can prove that prague is not only such rip-off place but also one of the most beutifull city.
We truly hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Prague.
Sincerely yours,
Lenka Freias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It is just down the hill (albeit a very steep hill) from the castle. We were able to walk to all the major sights. The hotel itself is lovely, with good size rooms and nice appointments. The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms above the second floor are much preferable -- you avoid the trolley noise and get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regnadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much for chosing to stay with us and we appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We were pleased to read that you had a pleasent time here with us and that you were satisfied with our services including the staff, your room size and the hotels location.
On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, I thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Prague!

Sincerely yours,
Lucie Podrabská
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

On the plus side, it is located close to the Prague Castle and within easy walking distance to the pedestrian Charles Bridge. However, not quick walking distance from the old town touristy part of Prague, and somewhat awkward location with entrance on a cobble-stone and tram-lined street, 10 minute walk from a subway station, facing the steep wall of the Prague Castle complex.
Our room faced a tranquil inner garden (though we had requested an unavailable Castle view). Charming "old Europe" style decor and furnishings. Room was quite small though, definitely on the claustrophobic side for a "luxury" level hotel room. Several areas of the walls and the ceiling had dirty smudges and signs of corrosion damage as well. Most surprising of all, the blanket was worn and shredded, almost torn in one section.
The free breakfast buffet was adequate but not particularly tasty or well-done, especially for a so-called 5 star hotel. The sole waitress seemed overwhelmed and had difficulty keeping up with the stream of guests sometimes. Also no added amenities typical of 5 star rated hotels, like pool, spa, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the Prague Castle view (but don't count on getting it if you paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjahng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

We are very grateful for your comments as it enables us to further improve our services and we thank you for your support. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the hotels decor, furnishing and the peacefull garden view. We apologize for any inconveniences that may have been caused during your stay with us and we are positive that your expectations will be met by your next visit.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Lucie Podrabská
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Probably due to the floods and cancellations, got upgraded to a senior suite. Very very nice furniture, beds and fittings. Although the room i got the view didn't face the prague castle, it was nice enough. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast area is nice and posh. Very comfortable place to spend the night, top top location close to restaurants, a hop and a skip to prague castle, some shopping and morning walks across charles bridge to get to the other side.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaijinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
thank you for your stay and your kind comments about our hotel! We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you vere satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, breakfast and hotel´s location.
On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Prague!
Sincerely yours,
Lenka Freitas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Excellent value for money. Breakfast excellent. Rooms were a bit small but very clean and quiet.
The staff were friendly and the location was excellent. The receptionists were very helpful and the wifi in the room worked well. There was free tea and coffee facilities and overall this was a good choice we made.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 2 but will recommend that you try selecting a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and your kind words about The Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you vere satisfied with the services offered, your room and the hotel´s location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the near future, on your next visit to Prague.

Yours sincerely,
Lucie Podrabská
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#41 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#144 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#179 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace

Property: Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Address: Letenska 594/11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Royal Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing