We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit expensive for lack of services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Apartments U Kapra
Ranked #54 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is our 4th family trip to Europe in recent years. The location of this apartment is EXCELLENT! The apartment was very clean however 2 things happened during our stay to have me give this place a not so great review. We had no hot water in our apartment the first day and it was fixed but since we were only there 2 days, half the time no hot water. The second this is really bad. We asked the front desk staff for late check out. Could we please check out at noon instead of 10 am? We were not leaving Prague until 23:00 and wanted to let our 3 children sleep if possible. The very nice gentleman at the front desk said fine. No problem. I was thinking this sort of made up for the no hot water. However at 10:40, a VERY ANGRY cleaning lady rang our bell and said we had to leave now. She would be back in 5 minutes. We started to scramble, woke our 3 children up and tried to hurry and finish packing. She came back again 5 minutes later and started screaming at us. Not really what we want on vacation. We told her we had approval to stay until 12 and she did not care. She kept yelling at us to get out. We were finally out by 11:05 but it really changed my opinion of our Prague experience. We were yelled at, glared at and screamed at by a maid. This has never happened to us before. So, if you would like to spend a little extra money to stay in Old Town Square and don't care that much about service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Public Relations Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to better our services. We apologize for the lack of hot water in your apartment; these things do happen from time to time unexpectedly as the buildings are centuries old. We always do our best to fix things asap for our clients, which is why our agents provide their phone numbers and are available for you. As for the checkout time, it clearly states on our website that the check time is 10 a.m., the man at the front desk was not aware of this apparently as he is not from Prague-Stay. If you had wanted to schedule a late check out this was to be done through your agent, not the building receptionist. We do apologize for the inconvenience and confusion, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to return to Prague – we wish to change your opinion of our services, which we pride ourselves on.

Thank you.

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Crowds of people and you turn a corner and enter a huge teak studded door to absolute tranquility. Leaving felt like Harry Potter going through the wall in the station scene!

You cannot be in a better location!

We has 'sunlit deluxe apartment' Very quiet, well equipped with dishwasher and washing machine with additives provided

You can walk everywhere from here.

Try the Jazz Boat. Really worthwhile

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The apartment is in a great location in the old town area. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment which had lots of space and all the facilities we required, particularly the washing machine which we needed at that time.
It could be difficult to find but if you get yourself to the old clock area & just ask the locals, they are all very helpful.
You can hear a bit of noise from the street below at night but there is a city policy of no noise after 10.30pm in this area so it is not a major problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location is really great - u are a minute away from old town square, lady of Tyn church and the clock. Lots of eating options around you. The area is buzzing and very safe.

The apartment was big and clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly. The reception was always manned, so that kind of presented a very safe atmosphere. There was no street noise, considering we were in the heart of the tourist area. Bathroom was big and nice.. We got an early check- in without any hassle or begging. The wi-fi was smooth.

The only drawback I can think of is that the apartment had big windows and the blinds were not really of any help, at 5 am the apartment would be lit with sunlight and we couldn't sleep beyond 6am on any of the days... But I guess that sunlight may not bother you much.

I will surely recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The U Kapra apartments are literary a few meters from the Staromestske square - the location can not be better if you are a tourist. The only drawback is parking - the closest places to leave your car are either Rudolfinum garage or Palladium shopping center - both are about 5-10 minus walk away. The nice thing about these apartments is that they have a reception, so you dont have to coordinate with anybody regarding the keys.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miroslav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just got back from a fantastic long weekend in Prague.

The apartment was faultless, absolutely perfect and in a great location in the city. Literally 2 mins walk from the old town square and loads of restaurants, bars and city landmarks.

Very modern inside and well decorated with all you could ask for in a self catering environment. Loved this place a lot and it definitely exceeded my expectations.

10/10 loved it

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was a very, very good choice. Perfectly located in the old town - walking distance to everything. We were two adults with two teenagers staying for four days in the vault appartment. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms (heated floors), all beautiful decorated and we had everything we needed. This was a quiet spot in a hustling, bustling city. The staff in the reception were friendly, but it was very difficult to understand them due to language difficulties - they did not speak any english. We were very happy with everything and can recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Langhans Apartments
Langhans Apartments
#455 of 647 in Prague
11 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 647 in Prague
1,574 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
7 Tales Suites
7 Tales Suites
#22 of 691 in Prague
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rybna 9 Apartments
Rybna 9 Apartments
#28 of 691 in Prague
112 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Karlova 25 Apartments
Karlova 25 Apartments
#51 of 691 in Prague
65 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Franciscan Garden Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Apartments U Kapra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Apartments U Kapra

Address: Male namesti 456/14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Residence U Kapra)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £82 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors who make this flagship address, mere steps from Old Town Square, their temporary home will enjoy the finest living in Prague. This building is protected by UNESCO, and has been comprehensively restored. Partly overlooking the charming Male Namesti square, adjacent to Old Town Square on one side and Karlova street on the other, the property is convenient to the city center. The building has a lift and an around the clock reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prague Apartments U Kapra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing