We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prague Apartments U Kapra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prague Apartments U Kapra
Ranked #36 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in the Deluxe apartment on the top floor. Enormous & value for money. Ljupco & Tomas were great, & we are demanding clients. Lots of hot water, good wifi, good heating/aircon. Kitchen well-equipped enough to have friends to a roast dinner. The sofabed needs an update, but that's a minor quibble for such a great location. There is one small flight of precipitous stairs, so the Deluxe isn't really suitable for the frail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tortoise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    31
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Since we travel with small children throughout Europe we often stay in apart-hotels near the city centre. Out of all the ones we stayed, this one was our least favorite.The website we booked through stated that there was air conditioning in the building, but apparently not all rooms, and ours was one without, not stated on the room description either way. The room was hot, so we slept with the windows open and the fans on, this meant that we were awakened overnight and in the morning by loud talking or noises in the courtyard. The 24 hour building attendants spoke very little English and are not affiliated with the rental agency, so they provided no value added service beyond handing us the keys and buzzing us in. We arrived around 8 pm and were unable to order a basket for breakfast for the next morning because it was too late; we would have been happy to preorder before our trip if information had been provided.The apartment itself was a good size and well equipped. The location is fantastic. Perhaps this is petty, but it would have been nice to have some soap in the shower upon arrival so we could have a proper shower before heading out to find a shop for supplies....

Room Tip: If travelling in the summer - be sure your room STATES air conditioning in the description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your review. We always really appreciate any sort of feedback from our clients. We are delighted to hear that you liked the location of the apartment and are indeed sorry that your stay with us did not go fully to your expectations. When it comes to the air conditioning issue, in order to avoid any confusion or disappointment, each of our apartment descriptions clearly states whether or not there is an air conditioning unit, i.e. the fact that it says nothing about air conditioning in the description means that there is none. For these apartments we provide air fans to lower the hot temperature and make the client's stay more comfortable.
When it comes to the 24-hour building reception, the receptionists, as you correctly state, do not speak any English. However, as all our clients are informed in advance, their Prague-Stay accommodation agent is available to them on the phone 24 hours a day and is ready to provide any help or advice if needed. What's more, if the clients don't have an international SIM card or don't want to use their own mobile phone, they can at any time of the day call their Prague-Stay agent from the building reception (the building receptionists are instructed to help them do so).
As to the breakfast delivery, we do indeed offer this service to our clients but it is not on site and we must always arrange the delivery to the specific apartment. Therefore, we need at least 24 hours for logistics. We indeed make sure that all our clients are informed about these possibilities well in advance.

Finally, please accept our sincere apologies if your stay in Prague didn't go as you imagined it would.

Kind regards

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were in apartment "i" for three nights as a group of 2 adults and 2 children. The apartment was big, clean and extremely well located for sightseeing. Air conditioned with wi fi and all kitchen necessities, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. 2 negatives: firstly the pre arranged taxi did not arrive and so we wasted about half an hour looking for it on arrival after a long flight and on arrival at the apartment there was no toilet paper (needless to say there were absolutely no provisions at all in the kitchen-not even salt and pepper). The Prague-stay rep was very apologetic on both fronts but it started our stay badly. However, to reiterate, human error aside, the apartment itself was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Townriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Right in the centre of old town square, walk into the hustle and bustle within one minute, and back to quiet rooftops upon your return. Very clean, everything a young family needs, washing machine, iron, etc. Beautiful apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cv376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

50 yards from Old Town Square. Step out the front door and you are in the action. On its own beautiful square next to Astronomical Clock. 4 people in loft apt. Not the loft apt. pictured on their site though. That one was much larger. This was smaller, but fine. Steep, steep steps up to loft bedroom. Small kitchen with most everything. Would have liked laundry. Good A/C. Very, very secure, 24 hour front desk attendant. Can't beat the location. Price is very affordable! Bathroom small for apt. but nice. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our apartment! We are delighted that you liked the apartment and its location. The loft apartment does not have a washing machine, however, there is a laundry room for our clients to use on the same floor. It is possible that your agent forgot to mention the washing machine, and if so we sincerely apologize; agents are available to call during your stay, so please know that next time should you have any questions you can always call your agent, or have the building receptionist phone should you not have an international sim card. Thank you for your review and we're really glad that you are considering staying at the apartment again!

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were a group of 4 friends staying in the 'sunlit apartment' - absolutely no complaints on the apartment, facilities, location & staff! It's a fantastic location - a minutes walk from the old town square and the apartment has all facilties you could require on a 3 night stay.
We found and booked this lil gem through booking.com but later realised we could have booked directly through praguestay.com (booking.com directed us to praguestay.com for further correspondence on the apartment).
The apartment has a large living room, fully equipped kitchen and a washroom (toilet & wash basin only) on the ground floor and a staircase leading up to the first floor which has a bedroom with an attached bath and a small sit out balcony. The living room has a double sofa bed and we had requested for an additional fold out bed. Only thing to keep in mind is that there is only one bath on the first floor (slows the getting dressed process if ur a group and plan to rush out somewhere early morn!) Both buildings - karlova 25 & 48 are great locations to stay and u can pick an apartment here basis your group size and budget! Highly recommended !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamadelizmom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is our 4th family trip to Europe in recent years. The location of this apartment is EXCELLENT! The apartment was very clean however 2 things happened during our stay to have me give this place a not so great review. We had no hot water in our apartment the first day and it was fixed but since we were only there 2 days, half the time no hot water. The second this is really bad. We asked the front desk staff for late check out. Could we please check out at noon instead of 10 am? We were not leaving Prague until 23:00 and wanted to let our 3 children sleep if possible. The very nice gentleman at the front desk said fine. No problem. I was thinking this sort of made up for the no hot water. However at 10:40, a VERY ANGRY cleaning lady rang our bell and said we had to leave now. She would be back in 5 minutes. We started to scramble, woke our 3 children up and tried to hurry and finish packing. She came back again 5 minutes later and started screaming at us. Not really what we want on vacation. We told her we had approval to stay until 12 and she did not care. She kept yelling at us to get out. We were finally out by 11:05 but it really changed my opinion of our Prague experience. We were yelled at, glared at and screamed at by a maid. This has never happened to us before. So, if you would like to spend a little extra money to stay in Old Town Square and don't care that much about service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Public Relations Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to better our services. We apologize for the lack of hot water in your apartment; these things do happen from time to time unexpectedly as the buildings are centuries old. We always do our best to fix things asap for our clients, which is why our agents provide their phone numbers and are available for you. As for the checkout time, it clearly states on our website that the check time is 10 a.m., the man at the front desk was not aware of this apparently as he is not from Prague-Stay. If you had wanted to schedule a late check out this was to be done through your agent, not the building receptionist. We do apologize for the inconvenience and confusion, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to return to Prague – we wish to change your opinion of our services, which we pride ourselves on.

Thank you.

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Karlova 25 Apartments
Karlova 25 Apartments
#48 of 661 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
7 Tales Suites
7 Tales Suites
#18 of 661 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Apartments U Kapra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Apartments U Kapra

Property: Prague Apartments U Kapra
Address: Male namesti 456/14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Residence U Kapra)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors who make this flagship address, mere steps from Old Town Square, their temporary home will enjoy the finest living in Prague. This building is protected by UNESCO, and has been comprehensively restored. Partly overlooking the charming Male Namesti square, adjacent to Old Town Square on one side and Karlova street on the other, the property is convenient to the city center. The building has a lift and an around the clock reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prague Apartments U Kapra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing