We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, uncomfortable, and inconvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jilska Residence Apartments
Ranked #388 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed overnight here on a day that was about 95 degrees F/35 degrees C and it was AWFUL! We were in a top floor apartment and there was no air conditioning, no windows that opened, and no fans! It was considered a 1 bedroom apartment but was more like a 2 bedroom (1 bedroom with a door and a separate open loft area) that would comfortably sleep 2 couples as long as you don't worry about a lot of privacy.

The bedroom was at the top of the building with lofted ceiling and no windows! There were dormer windows on the ceiling but I couldn't reach them and they were covered with ugly, ripped shades and worst of all they didn't open which meant we got to sleep in a room that was at least 100 degrees all night without a fan. It was probably one of the worst nights of sleep I have had in a long time. My in-laws stayed in the loft which had a tiny window that opened but unfortunately to a restaurant courtyard that served until the small hours of the morning so it was quite loud.

The bathroom was dingy and in need of repairs and refinishing. We didn't stay long enough to use the kitchen but it looked decent.

Check in was at a hotel that is outside of Old Town which is very inconvenient whether traveling by plane, train, or automobile. The front desk staff was friendly but not very helpful. When booking, they claimed to have parking "on-site" which really meant you parked at the location you checked in and then had to take a tram into Old Town and then walk to the hotel. I feel like this was very misleading. Also, it completely took away from the convenience of staying in Old Town because we had to move our car by 10 AM the following morning because we had to go back out of town, move the car, and then go back into town. Might as well have paid less and stayed farther out of the Old Town. We agreed to pay a little more to make the travel easier on our parents which turned out to be a huge mistake because it was not easier at all.

Lastly, the printed out instructions they gave us to get to the hotel were horrible and we ended up wandering the streets of Old Town with our luggage until someone was able to point us in the right direction. The sign for the apartments was printed out on a sheet of printer paper and posted underneath the restaurants menu. Also, the apartment number they gave us was incorrect so we stood at the door trying to key in for 5 minutes before I just happened to try the room next door which they keys actually opened.

Overall, we had a very bad experience. These apartments may be okay for a group of young guys or gals who are looking to roam the streets of Prague to party but I would not suggest for a family. Also, I would not suggest anyone stay here in the summer unless you don't mind sleeping in 100 degree heat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eringirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent 5 nights in the studio apartment just off the central courtyard and really enjoyed it.

Cleanliness was average (surfaces and bedding were spotless but don't look under the bed). Amenities were fine (standard bathroom with good shower and small reasonably-well-equipped kitchen). Caretaker was very pleasant and willing to help although not always reachable. Being on the inner courtyard it was extremely quiet and secure.

But the big attraction here is the location. Being only 5 minutes from both the Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square (and tourist info centre), we walked everywhere. Dining options nearby are plentiful and the Tescos grocery store a few blocks away is well stocked and inexpensive.

All in all a good apartment in a wonderful city. If we have the good fortune to go back we'll gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11trav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed in these apartments dec 2011. perfect situation for the Old Town Square - less than 5 mins walk away. Stayed in old town exclusive apartment which was spacious, warm and well-equipped. Had a problem with the heating going off one day which was repaired immediately when we telephoned the office, so no complaint there! we expected to be staying in apartment B41, but there was a problem with the lift door on that floor, and as we specified the need of a lift we were put into the old town exclusive which we were quite happy about. The transfers to and from the airport went well and the company rep greeted us and was very helpful. This is the second time we have used Apartments Apart (Krakow 2010) and both times we have been impressed. This apartment has lovely views over the city rooftops. There is a couple of restaurants right next door - particularly handy for the first night if you have not had time to explore further. would recommend these apartments and definitely stay there next time we visit Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatbeat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights. There was plenty of room and the apartment was clean. We had a two bedroom apartment with 1.5 bathrooms, living room, full kitchen and large entrance. We only slept there and it was relatively inexpensive for the amount space we had for all five of us. It was a little less than a 1/4 mile from the Old Town Square where we met our tour guide in front of a Starbucks. This was perfect for us because we didn't drive a car and i wouldn't suggest driving one here as the streets are narrow and parking is limited. It was so close to the main sites that we took two tours and then walked around  later to enjoy a little of the night life. Only concern was that check-in was not located where the rooms are, so when you book this hotel make sure you read all the information sent to you by email to avoid wasting time and money. Other than that it was a very comfortable stay and just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We should have stayed in Jilska 4 Apartments nr. C21 for four nights, but we left very disappointed already after one night. It is suggested that this apartment has 3 bedrooms, but this is not the case. The apartement is stacked with beds, we counted 10, but there are only 2 bedrooms, one directly situated on a very busy street with a lot of noise from people walking buy until after 2 a.m. and the other bedroom is situated above the terrace of a restaurant that stayed open outside until midnight. The next morning they started working at 7 a.m. on the road and we were shaking in our beds due to the drilling. The organisation (Apartmentsapart.com/Old Town Apartments) from which we rented this apartment knew this on forehand, but they did not inform us about this. The noise was terrible. There is a bed in the kitchen (?!), there are beds on the corridor, there are beds in a attic room without windows. There is no living room, only a couch - and a bed - in the kitchen. The place was not clean. We had to do the dishes before we could use them. This apartment is suitable for a larger group of young people who want to party and enjoy the cheap beer in one of the busiest and most touristic parts of Prague. We found it absolutely not suitable for a family that is looking for a nice spot to enjoy the cultural sights of Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Apartment is very well situated - about a 3 minute walk from the old town square/astronomical clock. Apartment is roomy, clean and the kitchen appears to be well equipped, though we did not cook. Pictures are better than the apartment we had. Only problem is noise. Apartments are situated above a karaoke bar which goes from 8pm - 2am. Windows are not noise proof and our son sleeping in the living room bed required earplugs. We used the car service to and from the train station and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#99 of 646 in Prague
3,362 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 702 in Prague
799 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#147 of 646 in Prague
5,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#177 of 646 in Prague
503 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#22 of 702 in Prague
911 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#119 of 646 in Prague
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jilska Residence Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jilska Residence Apartments

Address: Jilska 353/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £30 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jilska Residence Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Jilska Residence Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jilska Residence Apartments Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing