We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Mala Strana, Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Ranked #317 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The room we rented was nice and clean with a great view of Nerudova street. In my opinion Mala Strana is the best place to stay in Prague; it is close to the Old Town but quieter. Our room was spacious and fully renovated. There was also a kitchenette which was useful. A restaurant is located downstairs, here is where breakfast is served in the morning. Please take into account that Aparthouse U Zlate Podkovy is on a hill and there is no elevator up to the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittynam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Great hotel! Nice cozy rooms with very high ceilings, kitchen, and good service.
It has authentic ancient spirit and quite comfortable on the other hand.
Location is just perfect.

Room Tip: We've chosen double+extra bed which resulted in two rooms apart which was just great. Room #3a...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zavrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Good value, breakfast plentiful and away from the noisy hoards but just a matter of minutes walking distance to Charles Bridge. Clean and tidy and bedroom (resembling Ikea furniture). Suits most age groups but not the disabled - steep steps .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

There was nothing terrible about our stay here, but it wasn't fantastic either.
The bad first: The toilet didn't work one night (wouldn't stop filling) and we had to do some repair work ourselves because it was the middle of the night, and there is no hotel reception, just a bar.
The shower was a challenge: It just needed some work on the head - we couldn't move it up or down for some reason and it meant it was too low. And we found it hard to regulate the temperature of the water (too hot or cold) but that could have been because we werent familiar with that style of gas water heating.
Noise: One night there were about 5 men drinking outside the bar (which means they were in the courtyard the building is built around) and we were only one floor up. It was so noisy they may as well have been at the foot of my bed. They were silenced at midnight so rationally I can see this isnt really too bad but I was exhausted from a long day of sightseeing and REALLY unhappy about the noise at the time, given we were paying for a place to sleep.
And you many not want to choose this place in winter if you arent steady on your feet - I imagine the cobbles on the hill get pretty slippery.
The good: Breakfast - there was lots of selection and it was all tasty.
Character - the building is many centuries old and has the character that comes with this.
Facilities - Our room had a fridge and cooker (2 rings), and a kettle, although no microwave whichwould have been useful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Hotel is conveniently located about half way between the Prague Castle and Charles Bridge. Just a short 10 -15 minute walk (up a little hill) to the Old Town Square.
Staff was friendly and we were given a key to the outside door, which closes at 2200, as well as the apartment room.
The apartments (A4 and A5) were large with two single beds pushed together and a couch and a baby crib. Bathroom was good and clean with fresh towels each day. The rooms had a kitchenette however we only used the fridge - still very handy.
Free Wifi - good connection.
We parked about 1 km away (20 minute walk) from the hotel and for two days it cost 600 CZK (24 Euro).
Breakfast is basic but hits the spot - sausage, fried egg, sandwich fixings, bread, buns, cereal, coffee, water, and juice.
Price was very good for this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed in U Zlate Podkovy for 3 nights last August and had a lovely time. Can't quite remember the exact room we had (think it might have been B4) but have included photos in the review. Our room was onto the street and with no air conditioning we had to have the windows open onto the street which can be noisy, however wasnt a problem for us and we enjoyed people watching! If you are a light sleeper then perhaps request a courtyard view room.
The room was large, clean and functional. There was a large wardrobe on entrance, a small kitchen corner with fridge and basic equipment, 2 single beds, couch, tv and ensuite bathroom. The beds were very comfotable and linen was clean. The bathroom was clean, fresh and well maintained.

Breakfast was included in the excellent price and was varied and tasty. A good set up for a days walking. And walking you will do. Nerudova street is beautiful and right in the heart of Mala Strana. We enjoyed walks to the caslte, petrin park, Strahov monastery and dwn to the old town via the bridge, all a comfortable distance from the apartment.
If you are arriving late at night then make arrangements for your keys to be kept at The Golden Wheel, just a few doors downhill. There is also a minimart across the road which was useful for groceires and sold really cheap beer in bottles which were great for pinching pennies!

We would come back to stay at U Zlate Podkovy in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsiebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This hotel is wonderful for anyone who wants to see Prague by foot. It is within walking distance of all of the city's attractions. The rooms are huge (our double room would have easily slept 5 people) and the prices are very affordable. A continental breakfast is included, and the staff is always willing to help. The black-haired gentleman behind the bar was very helpful in storing our luggage for the day after we had checked out.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitYahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#131 of 647 in Prague
247 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#303 of 647 in Prague
87 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#38 of 647 in Prague
321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#118 of 647 in Prague
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy

Address: Nerudova 220/34, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £45 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Castle Apartmets - U Zlate podkovy is nestled in Nerudova street in the very historical center of Prauge. The most famous sites such as Prague Castle, Malostranske namesti, Charles bridge, Petrin, are just few minutes walking from the hotel and our attic apartment has a beautiful view to the Castle. You should not forget to see all these spectacular sites when staying in Prague. Nerudova street used to be a part of Royal Route and it prides itself with charming Renaissance and Baroque houses with cafés, galleries, restaurants, pubs and shops where you will experience atmosphere of old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing