We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Ranked #334 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved my stay at At The Golden Horseshoe! I had a wonderful little studio apartment, just a short walk from the Charles Bridge. The Golden Horseshoe restaurant was just downstairs, and I had several excellent meals there. The breakfast, which came with my room, was copious, and the staff were very attentive and helpful. I was only up one flight of stairs, but I appreciated that they offered to carry my bag. They also arranged to meet me at the airport, and ordered a taxi for me when it was time for me to leave for the train station. The neighborhood at the bottom of the Castle hill is lovely, and I found the location better than being amongst the crowds in old town square. I do recommend At The Golden Horseshoe for anyone who likes having an apartment, as opposed to just an hotel room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Manažer komunikace s hosty at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Maggie,

thank you. We are delighted you liked our hotel. We hope to see you again soon ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    57
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This traditional Prague hotel is located on Nerudova in Mala Strana (the historic Little Quarter)
Minutes away is Prague castle with amazing city views. Charles Bridge is less than 1km from this hotel and along the route are several lovely bars and restaurants. The Old Town square is just a short walk further.
Our accommodation was huge, enough for 2 Adults, 2 Children and a baby, with living room and spacious bathroom.
The management were always very friendly and helpful and even helped us ensure that we got the best price available to the airport.
For a friendly, budget experience with quiet spacious accomodation close the key attractions, I highly recommend U Zlate Podkovy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Manažer komunikace s hosty at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear CGOT,

thank you very much for your review. We are glad you were satisfied. We hope to see you soon! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The only thing we liked about this place was the location- five minute walk to the Castle. The hotel itself was a bit of a dissapointment. The all the heaters in our room didn't work, the water sometimes didn't run, no wife in the room, only 2 towels despite the fact that there was the four of us. The staff was unhelpful and the breakfast wasn't great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaaaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The good:
- Super cheap: less than 30 euros a night for a double room with a modernly equipped bathroom.
- Super quiet: hard to find in Prague.
- Perfectly located: in the heart of Prague's most beautiful district, the Castle
- Convenience stores 30 meters away open until midnight
- The room fully equipped: free wifi, kitchen corner with microwave oven, electric kettle to prepare coffee/tea, dishes & cutlery
- The boss: super nice and always ready to help to guests

The bad:
- no elevator, but then again it's a only a 2 floor building
- the tasteless food, just go somewhere else to eat, or prepare your own food in the room

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dam0n7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Dam0m7,

thank you very much for your review and opinion ;) We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent charming 3 days in a spacious apartment. The best parts of our stay were absolutely perfect houskeeper, delicious cuisine, the bathroom with a bath and a great help during check-out (a safe, monitored, room to keep our bags in for a few hours, so we could have a walk).
We really appreciated also the short time needed to warm up our apartment.
Even though some things were not working/broken, it was obious, that owners of the aparthouse do their best to keep it in a good shape.

Cons:
need to improve cleaning service for apartments

Pros:
awesome housekeeper
spacious rooms
warm in the apartment during winter
delicous cuisine
strong and fast wi/fi (even on the 2nd floor)

Room Tip: Our room B5 had a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Martin,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Perfect location to get around Prague. Comfortable and clean. Excellent value for money. Apartment sleeps 4 comfortably. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel. You need to go to the jewelry store next door to check in.

Room Tip: There is no lift. We were on the first floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavintsmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Mr. Gavin,

thank you very much for your review. We are really happy you were satisfied.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

A charming hotel very conveniently located for a short sightseeing visit. The staff were very helpful after a wallet theft. Our only sampling of the food was lunch on the first day, which was excellent and breakfast thereafter, which was adequate, if unexceptional. However, for the location, the big rooms, the excellent price and, above all, the kindness of the staff, it deserves the highest rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukasKM, Public Relations Manager at At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much. We are happy that you felt good here regardless issues you had faced :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#140 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#323 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#48 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy

Property: At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Address: Nerudova 220/34, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Castle Apartmets - U Zlate podkovy is nestled in Nerudova street in the very historical center of Prauge. The most famous sites such as Prague Castle, Malostranske namesti, Charles bridge, Petrin, are just few minutes walking from the hotel and our attic apartment has a beautiful view to the Castle. You should not forget to see all these spectacular sites when staying in Prague. Nerudova street used to be a part of Royal Route and it prides itself with charming Renaissance and Baroque houses with cafés, galleries, restaurants, pubs and shops where you will experience atmosphere of old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing