We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”
Review of Prague Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Square
Ranked #97 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Venice
2 reviews
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location is a no-brainer, you will NOT find a better location. The hostel is nice, not the most modern or luxurious, but for that price it is not bad at all. Although it was my first time staying in a hostel, I can say the staff was very friendly and helpful (the receptionist changed everyday, and they all were very nice) and the people there are young, from all over the world, and want to have fun. It is a really good place to stay in Prague. I don't think I could have found a better place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    87
    50
    13
    15
See reviews for
1
14
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hostel was good for what we were looking for.
The rooms are VERY small, with 10 beds squeezed together. There wasn't room for moving around. There also wasnt a locker for every bed, which made me nervous. However, the kitchen and bathrooms were good sizes and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hostel is extremely well located, very close to the main square and the astronomical clock. The view from the breakfast room is beautiful if you have the chance to see it as the place is full in the morning. The rooms are basic but clean. They are lockers in the room for which you have to leave a small deposit. Downstairs there is a convenience store charging exorbitant prices, so get what you need before heading to the hostel :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittynam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This hostel was super great, and made my stay in Prague amazing! Everything was nice and clean, the staff was really nice, the free breakfast and free wifi were great perks. Whenever I had a question, the reception was there 24 hours to answer it. However, the best part about this hostel was how easy it was to meet other travelers. It wasn't too small, but the common areas were designed so that it was easy to sit with the other guests and talk. I went on the pub crawl at night - the pub crawl guide actually came to the hostel to pick every one up and bring them to the bar - which was an awesome way to meet people in the hostel and in the surrounding hostels. I definitely recommend the pub crawl - great value for the price and lots of fun!
All in all, I had heard horror stories about Prague hostels before I arrived, but I was really really impressed with the Prague Square Hostel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor, but there was an elevator to the other floors, so I'm sure any floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryveronicaIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in a quad room which was very clean but a bit crowded when all four of us were in the room. The window in our room could not be opened so we asked for help from the reception. Thankfully, they were quite prompt although not very friendly. The room was quite stuffy so we had to have the windows opened.
The shared bathroom was clean but u may need to queue for bath during 'peak' hours. The kitchen was clean too. There were only 3 computers in the computer room and with the amount of ppl staying there, you need to have some patience to wait for your turn to use the comp.
The location is good as it is very near to the metro stop (Mustek if i'm not mistaken). There's a morning market down the street where you can find fresh veg, fruits, local food and plenty of souvenirs too.
We paid our booking deposit in euros but the hostel only accepts Czech koruna when we paid the remaining amount.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatPLAYloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Take advantage of the free earplugs as this place is NOISEY!! The location is fantastic where hotels would charge a premium for the privilege. Location from the Central Train Station is good and walkable. The rooms are tiny and there wasn't much space in my 5 bed dorm. The free breakfast with cereal and a sandwich (meat or vegetarian) is ok if you have a hangover. The common room is fantastic with a huge selection of movies in-demand. The staff were average and didn't seem interested in helping travellers as they only seemed keen to get on the grog when it was time for the pub crawl. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntraVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very clean and excellent location ten seconds away from Staromeska Namesti.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#79 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#27 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#22 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Historic Centre Apartments I
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Equity Point Hostel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#42 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Square

Property: Prague Square
Address: Melantrichova 471/10 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly in the HISTORICAL CENTER of Prague. JUST 150 STEPS from the famous the OLD TOWN SQUARE (Staromestske namesti) with famous Astronomical clock and 1 min walk from Wenceslaus Sq. The area of bars, clubs, shops and historical sights. No tram, metro or taxi needed!! THERE ARE NOT MANY HOSTELS so centrally located in Prague! Our great location SAVES YOU MONEY which you would spend for public transport and taxi if staying out of Prague historical center!!!PAY ONLY FOR A BED...FREE- internet access + WiFi, FREE- breakfast, FREE- bedlinen, FREE - towels, FREE- baggage room and safety deposit boxes, FREE- lockers in the room, FREE - map of Prague, iron, hair drier, FREE - hot showers 24h, NO SMOKING hostel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing