We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher amount to be paid than the bill said, poor breakfast and no slepp but nice staff and clean”
Review of Prague Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Square
Ranked #98 of 675 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I booked the hostel on the internet after I had read quite nice reviews.
Sadly, directly upon our arrival I noticed somewhat angrily, that I had to pay the bill which I got per mail in Euro, in Czech Crowns and not only that, but the amount was significantly higher than it originally said on the bill. The original amount should have been 89,64 Euros, what I really paid was 2300 Czech Crowns. With the actual exchange rate being 24 Crowns= 1 Euro that's almost 6 Euros more. For a poor student like me that's actually a lot of money, but I didn't object, since they for sure would have told me some weird reason for them charging more, maybe something like an alternate exchange rate in this case. Anyways,
I got even angrier, when I had to go exchange my Euros into Czech Crowns and tried to do so at the foreign exchange office right next to the hostel. They actually charged me almost 18% commission, which is a lot, namely almost 20 Euros, in case you exchange 100 Euros.
Well, this of course ruined my first day in Prague for good, since no one at the reception had warned me about that.

Other than that it should be noted, that the hostel was quite clean, nicely decorated and the staff was very nice and spoke very good English, but the breakfast was a single, rather small sandwhich you could pick up at the reception and then you could help yourself to some orange juice out of a (in my case) quite dirty jug (some dirt was actually floating in my juice) and cereal in the kitchen.

And of course, it should be noted as well, that if you are looking for a central place to stay specifically because you want to visit all the sites, you should not count on much sleep if you are staying at this hostel, because most visitors are only there to party, preferably in their rooms with open doors.

But you know .. it's cheap (or supposed to be), so one shouldn't complain too much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Prague Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Staff were extremely helpful. It was clean, and in an amazing location (once we finally managed to find it). Only negatives, there wasn't much choices for breakfast, or much space to sit and eat it. Noise was a problem a few times, but not a regular occurrence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The cleanest hostel i saw so far!!!! The bathroom facilities are top! The staff is very friendly and has an open ear for all your questions! This hostel has a great location, right in the old town center of prag! You don´t need any transport tickets to go around the city! So you can reach the most sights by foot! We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy87_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed at the Prague Square Hostel in October of 2011. It was a nice hostel I enjoyed it very much. The staff were excellent and the rooms were adequate. It was kind of loud there and some younger inconsiderate kids that stay there make it hard to get sleep but it is over all a very nice hostel. It is decently clean not as clean as other places but better then some. It has a friendly lounge area that makes it easy to meet other travelers. The kitchen is well stocked with supplies and there is a free breakfast every morning. The location couldn't be any better it is just around the corner from the Tyn church and the famous clock. The metro is very close also. You can walk from the train station too. Don't pay the crazy cab fair from the train station to the hostel they soaked me a very experienced traveler for $50 when it is only a 20 min walk. Prague is packed with tourists more then I ever expected so be prepared for it. It isn't that cheep of a place either except for the beer. It is one of the most beautiful European cities but also one of the most touristed you will not meet local Czech people or see real culture in this city so don't be disappointed like I was. Over I would recommend the Prague Square hostel mostly because of it's location but don't expect to get much sleep. Every Night there is a pub crawl so that is fun and a okay deal. If you are American and want to watch American football go to the Drunken Monkey. I think the best part of Prague was the small narrow streets behind the so called castle (doesn't feel like a castle at all) it took me many days to finally find this area of Prague there were no tourists and very picturesque pretty streets.

Room Tip: Get the least amount of beds in a room you can beacause rude drunken colege kids will wake you up!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rvsalesking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I can't believe how central this place is - and really easy to navigate to from the airport, don't be daunted to jump on the metro, I know the instructions are fiddly, but it is so easy to find.

I want to be really fair about this place, so although the location is super central - it is noisy, we were up on the 4th floor and were kept awake a few times...but the staff were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was a nice touch.

As 2 girls staying here, it was man heavy - as you'd probably expect from Prague, but the location being so central meant we felt really safe and able to brave the pubs and bars....also full of men!

All in all, a great time and I would recommend this place to like minded people...which is you're in Prague to have a great time, and location is key....then this is a top place to crash and recover between sightseeing and the pubs!

Room Tip: Request 4th floor (top floor) to make sure you're away from the noise of the kitchen/reception
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazMoz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location is a no-brainer, you will NOT find a better location. The hostel is nice, not the most modern or luxurious, but for that price it is not bad at all. Although it was my first time staying in a hostel, I can say the staff was very friendly and helpful (the receptionist changed everyday, and they all were very nice) and the people there are young, from all over the world, and want to have fun. It is a really good place to stay in Prague. I don't think I could have found a better place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hostel was good for what we were looking for.
The rooms are VERY small, with 10 beds squeezed together. There wasn't room for moving around. There also wasnt a locker for every bed, which made me nervous. However, the kitchen and bathrooms were good sizes and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#282 of 647 in Prague
202 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#81 of 675 in Prague
179 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#30 of 675 in Prague
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Equity Point Hostel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ritchie's Hostel
Ritchie's Hostel
#175 of 675 in Prague
237 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#24 of 675 in Prague
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Square

Address: Melantrichova 471/10 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 675 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £19 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly in the HISTORICAL CENTER of Prague. JUST 150 STEPS from the famous the OLD TOWN SQUARE (Staromestske namesti) with famous Astronomical clock and 1 min walk from Wenceslaus Sq. The area of bars, clubs, shops and historical sights. No tram, metro or taxi needed!! THERE ARE NOT MANY HOSTELS so centrally located in Prague! Our great location SAVES YOU MONEY which you would spend for public transport and taxi if staying out of Prague historical center!!!PAY ONLY FOR A BED...FREE- internet access + WiFi, FREE- breakfast, FREE- bedlinen, FREE - towels, FREE- baggage room and safety deposit boxes, FREE- lockers in the room, FREE - map of Prague, iron, hair drier, FREE - hot showers 24h, NO SMOKING hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Prague Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing