We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hostel in a Great Location”
Review of Prague Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Square
Ranked #138 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hostel is a little hard to find because it's actually above a restaurant but other than that it's in a great location- right around the corner from Old Town Square. Everything you want to see in Prague is a walkable distance from here.
I stayed here with a friend and we were met by Emma, the super friendly front-desk attendant. She checked us in without any problems and gave us some great recommendations of what to do- We did the bridge bungee jumping trip she suggested and it was awesome!!!
Prague Square Hostel was clean and affordable and I would recommend it to any friends who plan on visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurai313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Pluses
• Great location
• Helpful staff

Minuses
• Charged me a bit more because i did the booking via email.
• 5cm-thick uncomfortable sponge matresses.
• Only 3 outlets in an 8 bedded room. It's smartphone age people!
• No hairdryers in the rooms. You have to request one from reception and wait for hours only to hear "no one has returned one yet"

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank arslang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was in Prague last year and when asked to go again I had no doubt in telling the rest of our group to book this hostel for the second time. It's location is fantastic, a stones throw away from the square. The rooms are cute and old fashioned, although very clean. The communal toilets and showers are also spotless, which you would not usually expect for somewhere so busy and cheap to stay. Should I go to Prague a third time, I'd choose here again. Patrick, our night shift receptionist was super fun and friendly, he had lots of good tips for night life and helped us with the tricky Czech language! He was one of the main reasons our stay was so enjoyable. (Earplugs were supplied which helped as we had the loudest snorer in our room!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeninburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Good hostel overall, in a great area with a friendly vibe and great staff, especially Patrick on nightshift, very friendly and helpful. As an experienced traveller across many hostels, this is one of the better ones, would definatly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and a friend only stay 2 nights But it was great and the receptionist patrick was a huge help and quite friendly, amazing place to stay... It's centrally located in the best part of town, I love Prague and this hostel and the help we got at it

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gethin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A friend and I were staying at in town hostel but it was terrible, a friend told us about Prague square hostel. We stayed there for our last night in Prague and it was brilliant. Full of friendly people, great kitchen and shower facilities and customer survive was excellent, especially from Patrick who made out stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not only is the hostel the best priced centrally located hostel in Prague, it pretty much has the best staff of any hostel I've ever been. They are not paid to be our travel guides, ticket bookers, translators, money exchangers, embassy locators, computer program finders, or food police. However, Patrick, Alonzo, and Charlane did ALL of these things and they were more than happy to do it. My friends and I had a lot of things to do while we here, not only visit the sites, and we couldn't have finished them without this awesome staff! Patrick, spent a lot of time returning tickets online while translating from Czech to English along with answering every annoying question we had as soon as we arrived. Trust me... we had a lot. Alonzo literally walked my friend to the embassy to make sure she found it and advised her with his personal contacts about visa questions. Charlane found the perfect late night computer place thus saving my grant. And this is only the tip of the iceberg. I can't express how grateful I am that they didn't make us feel like the neediest people in Prague (even though I'm sure we were), and they made us feel at home and that it was no problem for them to help us. You can't find this kind of service just anywhere.

As for the hostel itself, it's pretty great. I stayed here with a friend and her mom in a 8 bed room. It's fantastically located next to the square, walking distance to everything, they provide free earplugs if you need them, the beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, the breakfast was tasty, and hostel was very clean. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
Safestay Prague Hostel
Safestay Prague Hostel
#15 of 704 in Prague
608 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Hradčany & Letná
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#39 of 704 in Prague
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#22 of 704 in Prague
209 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#150 of 646 in Prague
5,200 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#97 of 646 in Prague
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Square

Address: Melantrichova 471/10 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly in the HISTORICAL CENTER of Prague. JUST 150 STEPS from the famous the OLD TOWN SQUARE (Staromestske namesti) with famous Astronomical clock and 1 min walk from Wenceslaus Sq. The area of bars, clubs, shops and historical sights. No tram, metro or taxi needed!! THERE ARE NOT MANY HOSTELS so centrally located in Prague! Our great location SAVES YOU MONEY which you would spend for public transport and taxi if staying out of Prague historical center!!!PAY ONLY FOR A BED...FREE- internet access + WiFi, FREE- breakfast, FREE- bedlinen, FREE - towels, FREE- baggage room and safety deposit boxes, FREE- lockers in the room, FREE - map of Prague, iron, hair drier, FREE - hot showers 24h, NO SMOKING hostel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing