We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Garden Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Garden Apartments
Ranked #156 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 5 nights here. The 2 bedroom was really nice and spacious but the noise coming from the street was outrageous!! It sounded like we were sleeping right on the road even though all the windows were closed. It was terribly noisy!!!! The other smaller issue we had was that the shower head wasn't mounted to the wall, so you had to hold it in your hand the entire shower. The location of the apartment however, was very good.

Room Tip: Request an apartment that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Manager at Franciscan Garden Apartments, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our apartment. We apologize about the noise which you encountered in the apartment which is due to the fact that the apartment is located in the city center and its windows face the street. Please notice that all the other apartments in the Franciscan Garden Residence face the quiet garden and as a result are much more quiet.

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihálik
Prague-Stay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed in rooms A5 and A7. Four nights. 7 people. Self catering. Room A7 was good. It was clean and well furnished. Room A5 was not so good. The apartment smelled of mould and it was obvious that the apartment is not regularly aired. A friend we met in Prague did say that it was some of the better accommodation he has seen for the price and that was certainly true for A7 but not A5. Be careful when arranging transport through the agents that rent the apartments. Ours did not arrive the morning we had to go to the airport resulting in a bit of a run around to find a taxi to get to the airport. Just across the road from the apartments' entrance is a passage way leading to the Radisson Blue hotel. Found that the taxi drivers there were really helpful and got us to the airport in good time for Kc600.

Room Tip: Avoid A5. Go for A7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmprague, Manager at Franciscan Garden Apartments, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments and services. We are glad you were happy with one of the apartments and would like to apologize about the smell issue in the second one of the apartments as well as about the airport-transfer problem and any inconvenience which these might have caused you. Hope to see you back in Prague some time soon.

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The apartment is spacious, warm, modern and well equipped. Beds are comfortable. Location is central with easy access to public transport. Reception were fine - gave us keys and internet access code. The people who run the aprtments speak english and were available on mobile and email. So far, so good. I think the apartments are great - but the one we had was terribly noisy. If you book here, the apartments are great but just check out the location - facing the street or the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our family of three stayed in the rooftop apartment for four nights, including New Years Eve. It suited us wonderfully. A large common area/main bedroom which is surrounded by floor to ceiling glass for great views over the rooftops of Prague. The New Years Eve fireworks viewed from the apartment were amazing. A well stocked kitchen and another bedroom. The bathroom was adequate and included a clothes washing/drying machine.
After traveling for 3 weeks it was good to be able to eat in and do some shopping in the supermarket, which is only five minutes walk away. The apartment is in a convenient position, close to all the attractions of the old town and also the shops along Wenceslas Square.
The only downsides were that the lady in the reception spoke absolutely no english, which made it difficult for us to explain who we were and which apartment we had booked. Also the WiFi did not work. We rung the telephone number we were given for any assistance and left a message, however, over our four day stay there was no response.
We would certainly recommend this apartmen if you're looking for comfortable accommodation, with great views and with easy access to all that Prague has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martiypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing rooftop apartment very well located in the old town of Prague near the center square. The apartment has an amazing view, is big, clean, it offers free wireless, it has a very nice kitchen and it is all surrounded by glass.
It offers great value for money and it is a great place which i kindly recomend when you go in Prague.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calinburta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I recently booked one of these apartments with four friends - for a weekend away in Prague.

The apartment itself was stunning for the price - clean, spacious, great outlook, right in the centre of the city, well furnished and peaceful too.

My one reason for giving the Franciscan Garden a 4-star review, was the complete hassle we had checking in. The address itself was easy to find, however there is no sign on the locked door (we arrived in the evening) that says 'Franciscan Garden' anywhere, I guess because the apartments are in a residential block. We rung the doorbell and a security guard let us in. We asked him if we were in the correct place, he shrugged his shoulders and mumbled 'no/I don't know'. I pulled out a printed copy of our reservation to show him, and again had the same response. It wasn't until someone else from the building was passing through that they were able to:
a) tell us we were in the correct place, and
b) ask the security guard to give us the keys.
The owners of the apartment were not there to greet us.

If you do decide to rent one of these apartments I would recommend arriving during the day when there are more people around to get you settled.

Other than the rocky start, fabulous accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The location of this loft appartment was fantastic! In the centre though very quiet and next to the Franciscaner park which features a great playground fro children. The appartement was truly self catering and had every equipement you could think of. We stayed in a 6 pers appartement with 3 adults and two children of which one was sleeping in a babybed. If 6 adults one couple would to sleep on the couch in the living room
Which is maybe less convenient, although even a loft you could split of the kitchen from the living room if you wanted so. We loved it so much we even extended our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Danaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Langhans Apartments
Langhans Apartments
#393 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Crown Hotel
#56 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#15 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#164 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Garden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Garden Apartments

Property: Franciscan Garden Apartments
Address: Jungmannova 28, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan Garden Apartments are situated in two buildings that line the Franciscan Garden; the green rose-covered garden guarantees tranquility in the heart of the city and is located mere steps from Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square and is within comfortable walking distance of the Vltava River and the Charles Bridge. The glass Teta Building boasts modern, fully air-conditioned luxury apartments (one apartment per floor), with cool decor and comfortable fittings throughout, around the clock security service, free Wi-Fi, automated blinds and cable TV. The award-winning Langhans Building, with the other five apartments boasts 24-hour reception and security and offers spacious Prague accommodation with attractive decor and design furnishings, free Wi-Fi, and much more. The majority of these apartments have terraces or balconies that overlook the gorgeous skyline of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Garden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing