We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Partner Hotel Gloria
Ranked #380 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

pros: Less than 10' away from city center by bus (bus station right across the street). Shiny and spacy corner double room. Helpful reception. Comfortable mattresses. Very cheap.

cons: Mediocre breakfast (good variety but low quality). Curtains and carpet need immediate replacement (cannot be cleaned).

Having always in mind the low room price, we had a pleasant stay in a cosy hotel. Don't worry about the distance from city center: using buses in Prague is like using tram network (high frequency, comfortable, no traffic at all).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you like in hotel pictures. Choose a hotel near a bus or tram stop and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manažer at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Nikos, thank you for your review. We find out your comment very helpful. As for breakfast, we are just 3-star hotel, but we have standard breakfasts with buffet with cold and hot meals with wide in Prague. Thank you so much for visiting our hotel. Best regards, Iveta Fojtikova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    169
    99
    34
    27
See reviews for
45
215
35
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have just got back from a four night stay at this hotel booked through British Airways. Hotel located a good 20 minute walk from the centre. We purchased a 3 day ticket which allowed us to travel on the trams, buses & metro systems. We ate in the centre & local to the hotel. The ones local to the hotel were alot cheaper. We also ventured out of Prague using the railway which was enjoyable. Some of the trains are like the old British Rail carriages! Bus stop is right outside hotel. However we opted for the tram. The nearest stop can be found by turning left outside the hotel & taking the 3rd street on the right. If you walk up the hill you will come to the main road. The 3 day passes for the transport system may be bought at the hotel reception.
The hotel now. The rooms are clean. The bathroom was modern. However like earlier posts on here the carpets are badly stained. A shame as they really do need replacing!! There is a safe in the room. However our safe was not secured to the wardrobe interior. Therefore anyone could simply pick the safe up & remove it from the room. So not really secure! Room 51 if the hotel owners are reading!!!
We booked a taxi back to the airport via reception.
Our stay at this hotel was really soured by our departure. On checking out the lady in reception told us we owed them for a small bottle of water that we had taken from the mini bar in the room. On arrival in the room we noted the mini bar & on checking the prices in the booklet which is left in the room decided not to use any items from the mini bar. In addition opposite the hotel there is a small supermarket which is very cheap for water, alcohol etc.
When i told the lady at reception i had not taken a bottle of water her tone became very aggressive. Another lady appeared from housekeeping. She said that she personally handed me the bottle of water! Again the lady told me i owed them for the water. At this point i was made to feel like a thief. There were now three members of staff stood at the reception. I was very frustrated at being asked to pay for something i had not had. I thought their attitude & manner was very poor. I would of happily paid the quid or whatever it was if i had actually taken the water.
Eventually after much discussions amongst themselves the lady apologised for the misunderstanding!!!
If this had not happened i would of give 5 stars for value.
If you do use this hotel & do not inend to use the mini bar check what stock is there on arrival & check on your departure. In effect a stock check!!
Such a shame as this really ruined our stay hereat this hotel by a poor & aggressive attitude by the staff. When you pay a lot of money to stay somewhere you do not expect to be treated like a thief. Especially over a small bottle of water. Hotel Gloria you really need to treat guests who are paying your wages like guests not criminals!!!

Room Tip: Check your mini bar on arrival & departure to avoid being made to feel like a thief by staff!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manažer at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Peter , we are really sorry for the misunderstanding concerning the payment of water from the minibar. It was a mistake of our room service. We are sorry that this situation will spoil the impression of our hotel. Thank you very much for your visit. Best regards , Iveta Fojtikova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've just visited Gloria so I would like to respond to the review given by Catherine from Liverpool. In my opinion, Tatiana is very kind, friendly, and helpful. I can honestly say she is an excellent receptionist. I cannot fault her in any way.
Catherine also says that there are better hotels to choose from. Well, I've stayed at the following hotels in Zizkov : Amadeus, Victor, Ehrlich, Three Crowns, Golden City, Victoria.... and probably a few more that I can't remember. I've also stayed in hotels in Prague 1, 2, 4, 5....so I know what I'm talking about. Breakfast in Gloria is as good as you will find anywhere for a three star hotel in Prague - FACT. Rooms are very clean, comfy beds with big pillows and nice bedding. Staff are all first class, from the manager to the maids.
I always feel very safe, comfortable and relaxed when I stay at Gloria, and this is mainly down to the kind hearted people who work there. I really don't think the review given by Catherine is a fair one, because I would not return year after year if that was the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is situated on a busy corner in the student/artsy district of Praque about 2.5km from the city centre. There were a few things missing, rather than actual massive problems. Breakfast, though quite adequate, was the only meal served. No lunch or dinner available, and I suspect no room service. There is no bar or lounge to relax in in the evening if you wish to. There are small refrigerators in each room containing a good variety of drinks. There is no air conditioning, and as the temperature (mid July) was high compared to the UK, the only way of keeping vaguely cool was to open all the windows, which let in all the street noise below - which is noticable and disturbs sleep massively. The hotel does NOT accept any credit cards either. The desk staff were all friendly and polite, and helpful. The rooms were modern and spotless, and so were the bathrooms. In the reception area was a Tripadvisor plaque in brushed steel and black awarding the hotel a Hotel of the Year award for 2013. It was not on the wall straight. Gloria was - ok - but I shall not return as a holiday location. If you need somewhere to lay your head at night and serve breakfast the next morning ONLY then this is fine - except for the lack of air con. and the street noise at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manažer at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Andrew , thank you for your review. We would like to briefly comment on your review :
Yes, our hotel has no restaurant , breakfast room is just for breakfast, but near the hotel, we have a lot of restaurants where you can enjoy lunch or diner and the reception staff always advise you where you can go. As for payments by credit card , our hotel accepts credit cards ( at the entrance to the hotel on the door you can see what kind of credit card we are accept ). Air conditioning in the hotel we have only on the 4 and 5 floor.
Thank you so much for visiting our hotel. Best regards , Fojtíková Iveta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in The Hotel Gloria February 2014 for 3 nights. We are regular visitors to Prague as my son lives there and we visit him 2-3 times a year. As he recently moved to an apartment in Zizkov we stayed at The Hotel Gloria for convenieance. We decided on this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor but never again! Compared to the 12 or more hotels we've stayed in over the past 5 years (sometimes staying in the same hotel twice) this one is not the best value for money or service. The bed was confortable and linen clean, the housekeeping was good, the breakfast was poor, one morning the hot food was mini hotdogs and overcooked pasta twists, very bland! The staff we met were very sullen and one inparticular "Tatyanna" the Receptionist, she was the rudest out of all the hotel staff we've ever met. They state breakfast is served from 7.30 am to 10.00 am. We got down to breakfast at 9.40 am and as we were finishing our coffee dead on 10.00 am, the receptionist came into the dining room room looked directly at us at one end of the room and everyone else was at the other end and bawled angrily in English and tapping her watch "BREAKFAST HAS FINISHED, IT IS NOW 10 O'CLOCK!! She turned and walked out. She didn't address the other guests who had come in much later than us. We turned out to be the only English speaking diners in the room because I made a point of asking them do they speak English, they didn't. I spoke to her after breakfast objecting to her loudness and bad manners, she was once again very sharp and nasty. So with that incident, the filthy carpets in our room and the bland pathetic breakfasts, this is enough to warrant swerving this hotel. My advice is to go to one of the hundreds of other hotels in Prague which offer a much better service, were staff are polite and well mannered, and offer a better quality of food. After all, you can do without this sort of aggravation when you're on holiday. Don't forget, you're paying for it, it's not free!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manager at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Catherine,
We are sorry about your experience. Your review its quite surprising for us, because Tatiana is one of our best receptionist and we have never received complaint about her. I think, that it was just some misunderstanding.
Thank you for your stay.
Best regards Fojtíková Iveta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
swansea
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Gloria Hotel and there was nothing to complain about ,the rooms and the Hotel itself where nice and clean the breakfast was good and the staff where great.Location of the Hotel his not exactly In the center and we did use public transport to get from A to B. Regards to all the staff who where so nice to us ,and would have no hesitation staying In this Hotel on my next visit to Praha.

Room Tip: 207 Tram or Bus will take you into the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morgangeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manager at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Morgan,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are really glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel .We apreciate your compliment about our satff it is the reason for us to make our work better and better. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Fojtíková Iveta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is not very close to the city, but you can take a bus in front of it, so reaching town in a few minutes is not a problem. Staff is very kind and helpful; rooms are spacious, clean and new. BF was very delicious, with a number of options. We had a really great stay there, and I will certainly stay at Gloria Hotel again if I have the chance. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FC-IDEAL-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria-Manager, Manager at City Partner Hotel Gloria, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you positive helpful feedback, it is very satisfying to read a feedback like yours.
We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Gloria.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Fojtíková Iveta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#385 of 649 in Prague
371 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#358 of 649 in Prague
116 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#450 of 649 in Prague
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#177 of 649 in Prague
1,093 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#300 of 649 in Prague
243 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#237 of 649 in Prague
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Partner Hotel Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Hotel Gloria

Property: City Partner Hotel Gloria
Address: Prokopova 118/20 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Partner Hotel Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Partner Hotel Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing